Air transportation

Air transportation occurrences in 2018

The number of aviation accidents (201) reported to the TSB in 2018 was substantially lower than the 5-year average of 249. A strong drop in flight-training accidents following a 2017 peak has brought commercial operator accidents to a total of 66 in 2018, compared to 97 last year and to the 5-year average of 80.

In 2018, 863 aviation incidents were reported to the TSB. This number represents a substantial decrease compared to the previous year (939) but is still higher than the 5-year average of 798. The TSB is reviewing the reported Risk of Collision and Loss of Separation incident data to uncover factors that could help explain why the number of these incidents remains persistently high.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada investigates civil aviation occurrences that take place in or over Canada and any place that is under Canadian air traffic control. It also investigates occurrences anywhere in the world that involved an aircraft in respect of which or that was operated by a person to whom a Canadian aviation document had been issued under Part I of the Aeronautics Act.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada's air investigators are certified as pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers, air traffic controllers, and airworthiness engineers. They all have varied and extensive experience in the aviation industry. As well as conducting investigations, they participate in national and international government and industry groups to monitor safety trends and communicate safety issues to change agents.

Date modified :

Transport aérien

Événements de transport aérien en 2018

Le nombre d’accidents aéronautiques (201) signalés au BST en 2018 était considérablement inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 249. Chez les exploitants commerciaux, les 66 accidents en 2018 représentent une forte baisse comparativement au nombre record en 2017 (97) et à la moyenne quinquennale (80), due à une nette diminution des accidents en formation au pilotage.

Au total, 863 incidents aéronautiques ont été signalés au BST en 2018. Ce nombre représente une forte baisse comparativement à l’année précédente (939), mais demeure supérieur à la moyenne quinquennale (798). Le BST examine les renseignements sur les risques de collision et pertes d’espacement signalés pour découvrir les facteurs qui permettraient d’expliquer pourquoi le nombre de tels incidents demeure toujours élevé.

Le BST mène des enquêtes sur les événements d'aviation civile qui se produisent sur le territoire et dans l'espace aérien canadiens, et à tout endroit sous contrôle de circulation aérienne canadien. Il fait également des enquêtes sur tous les événements à l'étranger qui mettent en cause un appareil pour lequel des documents ont été émis en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, ou une personne qui a reçu un document canadien d'aviation en vertu de la même loi.

Les enquêteurs en aviation du BST possèdent diverses qualifications, et sont certifiés en tant que pilotes, mécaniciens d'entretien d'aéronefs, contrôleurs aériens ou ingénieurs en navigabilité. Ils ont tous une grande expérience de l'industrie aéronautique. En plus d'effectuer des enquêtes, ils prennent part aux activités de groupes gouvernementaux et industriels, au pays et ailleurs, pour suivre les tendances en sécurité et communiquer les problèmes de sécurité aux agents de changement.

Date de modification :