A career with the TSB

Job opportunities

  • There are no job opportunities at this time.

What we do

The TSB is an independent agency, created in 1990 by an Act of Parliament. Its mandate is to conduct investigations into air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation incidents and accidents in order to advance transportation safety in Canada (see About us).

The TSB also works internationally in partnership with other countries and organizations dedicated to transportation safety (see International collaboration).

Where we work

The TSB's head office is in Gatineau, Quebec, but most of its investigators work from field offices across the country so that they can respond quickly to transportation occurrences anywhere in Canada.

It's the TSB's unique mandate within the federal government. TSB employees have a high degree of job satisfaction because they know that the work they do is crucial to the safety of transportation in Canada and abroad.

Watch a video about the TSB and its work.

TSB investigators

Highly skilled investigators are deployed to the sites of transportation occurrences (indidents or accidents) to collect information; they do research and analysis to identify the causes of the occurrence and identify risks, and finally prepare detailed reports for publication. Find out more about the investigation process.

TSB investigators come from a variety of professional backgrounds: they are human factor specialists, air traffic controllers, airplane pilots, helicopter pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers, marine chief engineers, master mariners, naval architects, rail equipment and infrastructure specialists, locomotive engineers, and certified engineering pipeline specialists.

Investigators are in the occupational groups listed below, all of which have their own qualification standards.

  • Human Factors (EC)
  • Air Traffic Control (AI-NOP)
  • Civil Aviation Inspection (AO-CAI)
  • Technical Inspection (TI)
  • Engineering (EN-ENG)

The TSB team

A wide range of skilled professionals is needed to support the work of the TSB:  engineers, scientists, statisticians, administrators, finance experts, human resource personnel, and information technology and management specialists, as well as communications and publishing professionals. If you are in any of these fields, and are looking for a rewarding career, check out our job board—and join us!

Date de modification :

Ce que nous faisons

Le BST est un organisme indépendant créé en 1990 par une loi du Parlement. Il a pour mission de mener des enquêtes sur des incidents et accidents de transport aériens, ferroviaires, maritimes et pipeliniers afin de promouvoir la sécurité des transports au Canada (voir également À propos du BST).

Le BST travaille également sur la scène internationale, en partenariat avec d'autres pays et organismes voués à la sécurité des transports.

Où nous travaillons

L'administration centrale du BST se trouve à Gatineau (Québec), mais la plupart de ses enquêteurs travaillent à partir des bureaux régionaux disséminés dans tout le pays de façon à pouvoir se rendre rapidement sur les lieux d'un événement de transport n'importe où au Canada.

Ce qui rend le BST unique

C'est la mission du BST qui est unique au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Les employés du BST sont très satisfaits de leur travail parce qu'ils savent que c'est essentiel à la sécurité des transports au Canada et à l'étranger.

Voir une vidéo sur le BST et son travail.

Les enquêteurs du BST

Des enquêteurs chevronnés sont dépêchés sur les lieux d'événements de transport (incidents ou accidents) afin de recueillir des renseignements. Puis ils effectuent des recherches et des analyses pour cerner les causes de l'accident et les risques connexes. Enfin, ils préparent des rapports détaillés aux fins de publication. Apprenez-en davantage sur le processus d'enquête.

Les enquêteurs du BST ont divers antécédents professionnels : spécialiste des facteurs humains, contrôleur aérien, pilote d'avion ou d'hélicoptère, technicien d'entretien d'aéronef, capitaine, architecte naval, chef mécanicien de navire, mécanicien de locomotive ou spécialiste des infrastructures et de l'équipement ferroviaires, ou titulaire d'une certification en ingénierie pour les pipelines.

Les enquêteurs font partie des groupes professionnels suivants, qui ont tous leurs propres normes de qualification.

  • Facteurs humains (EC)
  • Contrôle de la circulation aérienne (AI-NOP)
  • Inspection de l'aviation civile (AO-CAI)
  • Inspection technique (TI)
  • Génie (EN-ENG)

L'équipe du BST

Une grande variété de professionnels compétents est nécessaire pour appuyer le travail du BST : ingénieurs, scientifiques, statisticiens, administrateurs, experts en finances, personnel des ressources humaines et spécialistes en technologie et en gestion de l'information, de même que des professionnels du secteur des communications et de la publication. Si vous travaillez dans l'un ou l'autre de ces domaines et cherchez une carrière valorisante, consultez notre site d'emploi et joignez-vous à notre équipe!

Date de modification :