International collaboration

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is recognized as a leader in the field of transportation safety. The TSB shares knowledge, expertise, and experience with the international transportation community in order to advance and promote worldwide transportation safety.

Investigations

In addition to investigating transportation occurrences in Canada, the TSB also participates in foreign investigations to represent Canadian interests.

When there is an occurrence outside Canada that involves Canadian citizens or operators, or a Canadian-certified product, the TSB can appoint an accredited representative to coordinate the exchange of technical and safety information regarding the Canadian elements.

The TSB can also invite the investigation organizations of other countries involved in an occurrence in Canada to participate in its investigation.

Investigation services

Even when Canadians are not involved in an occurrence, the TSB is often asked to participate in foreign investigations where the responsible agency does not have its own laboratory or specific expertise.

The TSB's experts can provide a broad range of services including download and analysis of flight recorder data, mechanical and metallurgical testing, site surveying, photogrammetry, and human factors analysis.

Occasionally, the TSB has been delegated to carry out full investigations abroad when the responsible party cannot carry out its own investigation for such reasons as technical capacity or resource restrictions, or if the responsible agency is in conflict of interest.

Information sharing and training

The TSB shares information with its foreign counterparts on an ongoing basis. Tools, policies, and procedures are frequently exchanged. TSB investigators participate in conferences and workshops to share best practices and lessons learned. The agency regularly hosts delegations from other countries coming to Canada to learn about our legislation, organizational structure, and investigation methodologies.

The TSB also regularly shares its knowledge and expertise by providing specialized investigator training courses to foreign investigation organizations.

Investigators are invited to come to Canada for TSB training sessions or TSB personnel travel to other countries to provide training to groups of foreign investigators.

International activities

  • 2019   – 
    The TSB is hosting the annual meeting of the International Transportation Safety Association (ITSA) in Québec City. For more information, please see the news release.

Joint projects and studies

The TSB represents Canadian interests in various working groups and task forces of the International Civil Aviation Organization, the International Maritime Organization, and the International Railway Safety Council. The TSB also participates in joint projects and studies.

Date de modification :

Collaboration internationale

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est reconnu comme un chef de file dans le domaine de la sécurité des transports. Il fait profiter la communauté internationale de la sécurité des transports de ses connaissances, de son expertise et de son expérience afin de rendre les transports plus sûrs dans le monde entier.

Enquêtes

En plus de mener des enquêtes sur des accidents de transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire et de transport par pipeline au Canada, le BST participe à des enquêtes à l'étranger pour représenter les intérêts canadiens.

Lorsqu'un événement se produit à l'étranger et met en cause des citoyens ou un exploitant canadiens ou bien un produit certifié au Canada, le BST peut nommer un représentant attitré pour coordonner l'échange d'information technique et de sécurité à propos des éléments canadiens.

Le BST peut également inviter des organismes d'enquête étrangers touchés par un événement survenu au Canada à participer à son enquête.

Services d'enquête

Même si aucun ressortissant canadien n'est impliqué, il arrive souvent qu'on demande au BST de prendre part à une enquête à l'étranger lorsque l'agence responsable ne dispose pas des installations de laboratoire ou de l'expertise voulues.

Les experts du BST peuvent offrir une vaste gamme de services, par exemple le téléchargement et l'analyse du contenu des enregistreurs de données de vol, les essais mécaniques et métallurgiques, les relevés de terrain, la photogrammétrie et l'analyse des facteurs humains.

À l'occasion, on demande au BST de mener une enquête complète à l'étranger lorsque l'État responsable n'est pas en mesure de le faire lui-même en raison, par exemple, de contraintes en matière de ressources ou de capacité technique, ou encore d'un conflit d'intérêts.

Échange de renseignements et formation

Le BST échange régulièrement de l'information avec ses homologues étrangers. Les outils, les politiques et les procédures font l'objet d'échanges fréquents. Les enquêteurs du BST participent à des conférences et à des ateliers pour partager les pratiques exemplaires et les leçons apprises. Le BST reçoit en outre régulièrement des délégations étrangères qui viennent au Canada pour étudier notre législation, notre structure organisationnelle et nos méthodes d'enquête.

Le BST fait également profiter des organismes d'enquête étrangers de ses connaissances et de son expertise en donnant des formations spécialisées aux enquêteurs.

À cette fin, des enquêteurs étrangers peuvent être invités à assister à des séances de formation du BST au Canada, ou encore des membres du personnel du BST peuvent se rendre dans d'autres pays pour former des groupes d'enquêteurs étrangers.

Acitivités internationale

  • 2019   – 
    Le BST accueille la conférence annuelle de l’International Transportation Safety Association (ITSA) à Québec. Pour plus d’information veuillez consulter le communiqué.

Études et projets conjoints

Le BST représente les intérêts canadiens en participant à divers groupes de travail ou groupes d'étude de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale, de l'Organisation maritime internationale et de l'International Railway Safety Council. Le BST participe aussi à des projets conjoints ou à des études conjointes.

Date de modification :