Aviation safety information A11H0002-D2-L1

12 April 2012

Mr. Martin Eley
Director General, Civil Aviation
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street, Place de Ville
Tower C, 5th Floor, Area A
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N8

Re: AVIATION SAFETY INFORMATION A11H0002-D2-L1 Inadequate Guidance for FDR Maintenance


Dear Mr. Eley,

On 20 August 2011, a First Air Boeing 737-210C combi aircraft (registration C-GNWN, serial number 21067) was being flown as charter flight, First Air 6560 (FAB6560) from Yellowknife, North West Territories, to Resolute Bay, Nunavut. At 1142 Central Daylight Time, during the approach to Runway 35T, FAB6560 collided with a hill about 1 nautical mile east of Resolute Bay Airport Runway 35T. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and an ensuing post-crash fire. Eight passengers and the 4 crew members suffered fatal injuries. Three passengers suffered serious injuries and were rescued by Canadian Forces personnel who were in Resolute Bay as part of Operation Nanook 11. The investigation (A11H0002) is ongoing.

The flight data recorder (FDR) contained invalid data for the first 29 minutes of the occurrence flight. Had the accident occurred during this period, data vital to the investigation would be missing. Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR), Standard 625, Appendix C, Out of Phase Tasks and Equipment Maintenance Requirements, paragraph 17 – Flight Data Recorders, requires a data correlation check to be completed. Paragraph 17 also refers the reader to EUROCAE 1 ED-55 2 for guidance on FDR maintenance, including correlation checks.

The purpose of the FDR correlation check is to ensure all required parameters are being recorded and are of an acceptable quality. ED-55 requires maintenance personnel to replay at least 15 minutes of flight data. Reviewing 15 minutes of the required 25-hour FDR data recording is insufficient to ensure all parameters are being recorded with acceptable quality throughout the entire recording.

First Air was conducting their FDR correlation checks in accordance with Appendix C of CAR Standard 625. The Transportation Safety Board (TSB) reviewed previous data downloads that First Air had collected for past correlation checks. These downloads showed the data recording problem found on the accident FDR had existed since at least March 2008, but remained undetected due to the limited data review required by ED-55 (15 min).

As identified in this occurrence, the ED-55 guidance for FDR maintenance was insufficient to ensure detection of the FDR unserviceability. It is probable that there are other unserviceable FDR systems installed on operating transport aircraft.

In June 2007, the TSB provided a briefing regarding, "Problems experienced with Flight Recorders," to the Transport Canada (TC) Avionics Standardization Workshop. The briefing included issues related to FDR correlation checks and maintenance. TC included an article entitled, "Issues with FDR and CVR Data Identified as a Result of TSB Reviews", in TP185E - Aviation Safety Letter, Issue 3/2008. The purpose of the article was to prompt operators and maintainers to revisit their last flight recorder checks.

Despite these efforts, the TSB continues to uncover problems with FDR data, some of which should have been identified and rectified during the annual correlation checks (see Appendix A). This could be due, in part, to the outdated content of the CAR Standard 625, Appendix C. It is likely that there are aircraft conducting operations with an unserviceable FDR installed.

EUROCAE specifications are recognized internationally and are referenced in ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices 3. In 2003, ED-55 was superseded by ED-112 4. ED 112 was published to update flight recorder specifications. ED-112 provides enhanced guidance for FDR maintenance. The guidance for the data correlation check was also enhanced and requires the data sample to include a whole flight, from start-up to shut down. Further amendment of ED-112 is ongoing to reflect the most current technical information.

Transport Canada's FDR maintenance guidance (CAR Standard 625, Appendix C) does not refer to the current EUROCAE flight recorder specification, and therefore provides insufficient guidance to ensure the serviceability of flight data recorders.

The foregoing is provided for whatever follow-up action is deemed appropriate.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Clitsome
Director, Air Investigations Branch

Appendix A – Sample of previous occurrences involving FDR data problems

Occurrence number Summary

On 16 July 2011, a Boeing 727-200 (registration C-GKFJ), operated by Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter as KFA288, from Moncton International Airport, New Brunswick (CYQM), to St. John's International Airport, Newfoundland and Labrador (CYYT), landed on Runway 11 and overran the end of the runway by approximately 400 feet. It was raining at the time. There were no injuries to the three crew members. Both runways at CYYT were closed for about one hour. Runway 11 remained closed until the aircraft was removed the following day.

Data problem - A number of mandatory parameters were invalid. Annual correlation checks were not being completed by the operator.


On 16 June 2010, an Embraer 145, (registration N847HK), operated by Trans States Airlines as United Express Flight 8050 from Washington Dulles International Airport landed on Runway 07 at the Ottawa MacDonald-Cartier International Airport (CYOW) and overran the runway. There were 33 passengers and 3 crewmembers aboard. Two flight crew and one passenger suffered minor injuries.

Data problem - During the occurrence flight, control position parameters recorded spurious data. Similar problem existed on all recorded flights and the previous maintenance download. Problem was not identified or rectified.


On 19 June 2009, a Boeing 767-300 (registration SP-LPA), operated by Polish Airlines as LOT2, departed Chicago, O'Hare (KORD) destined for Warsaw, Poland. In the vicinity of North Bay, Ontario, while cruising at FL330 the aircraft experienced a sudden and un-commanded overspeed condition, stick shaker and illumination of left and right electronic engine control (EEC) caution lights. The aircraft descended to FL280 before the situation was resolved. The aircraft diverted to Toronto/LBPIA and landed without further incident.

Data problem - A number of parameters were recording invalid data and problem was not identified during previous maintenance download.


On 12 December 2007, a Bombardier BD-700-1A11 (Global 5000), registered as N50DS and operated by First Southeast Aviation, departed V.C. Bird International Airport, St. Johns Antigua, West Indies, on a flight to Vance Winkworth Amory International Airport, Nevis, Netherland Antilles. During the landing in Nevis, the aircraft struck the airport perimeter fence, touched down on a shallow slope of grass approximately 30 feet prior to Runway 10 and struck the last center approach light. The aft trailing edges of the wing and the right main landing gear were damaged; there were no reported injuries to the three persons on board.

Data problem - Master Warning was cycling on and off throughout 27 hours of flight data. It was determined the parameter source was incorrect.


On 17 June 2007, a Shorts SD3-60 (registration S7-PAL), operated by Air Seychelle was on short final for Runway 13 at Seychelles International Airport, Seychelles, when the left engine (PWC PT6A-67R, serial number 106112) failed. Smoke and fire were seen coming from the engine as the aircraft was landing and as it came to a stop midway along the runway. The crew carried out the engine fire drill and the fire was extinguished. Passengers were evacuated from the right side exits and no injuries were reported.

Data problem - Heading was not recorded. The problem was present but not identified during the previous maintenance download.


On 08 December 2006, the de Havilland DHC-8-100 (registration C-GAIS), operated as CRQ501, took off from Kuujjuaq, Quebec (CYVP) for Val d'Or (CYVO), at 1428 local time. Upon gear retraction, the crew heard a strange noise and noted the loss of hydraulic fluid quantity in no.2 hydraulic system. The crew requested to return to CYVP. The crew completed the applicable procedure but the nose gear would not extend nor would it secure in the UP position. An emergency was declared at 1444. The aircraft circled the airport to burn off fuel while the crew remained in contact with the manufacturer and company maintenance. The flight attendant and passengers were briefed for an emergency landing. The aircraft landed safely with nose gear up at 1850 local time. The aircraft sustained minor damage. There were no injuries to passengers or crew.

Data problem - Only 21 hours of data could be recovered; minimum required is 25 hrs. One complete track and one partial track recorded no data.


On 20 January 2005, the Jetsgo DC-9-83 C-FRYH, serial number 53520, was operating as JGO191 on a flight from Toronto / Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario, to Calgary International Airport, Alberta. The runway visual range passed to the crew with the landing clearance for Runway 34 was 1400 feet, with a runway light setting of five. JGO191 conducted the instrument landing system (ILS) approach and touched down on the runway, left of the centreline at 1956 mountain standard time (MST). The aircraft departed the left side of the runway surface and travelled 1600 feet before climbing out on a missed approach procedure. A hold short sign was struck and destroyed while the aircraft was on the ground. JGO191 was vectored back to Runway 34 for a second ILS approach and landed at 2010 MST. There was minor damage to the aircraft, and there were no injuries to the 78 passengers and 6 crew members.

Data problem - Some mandatory parameters were recording out of range values and the problem was present during the maintenance correlation check. The data problems were ignored and FDR was signed out serviceable.


On 22 May 2005, a Boeing 767-300 (registration C-GLMC), operated by Skyservice Airlines, was landing at Punta Cana, Dominican Republic after a flight from Toronto / Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario. On landing, the nose landing gear came down hard causing the nosewheel to bounce several times. The aircraft came to a full stop on the runway and then taxied to the gate. Upon inspection at the gate by the flight crew, extensive circumferential wrinkling of the fuselage skin just forward of the L2 passenger door and behind the forward baggage compartment was noted.

Data problem - Approximately 35 minutes of the accident flight data was lost. The beginning and end of each track had no data.


On 15 August 2004, a Boeing 737-200 (registration C-FACP), operated by Air Canada Zip as WZP6204, had just departed Vancouver, British Columbia, when the pilots heard a loud bang from the right engine (Pratt & Whitney JT8D-17A SN 709399). The engine was shut down and the fire bottles discharged. An emergency was declared and the aircraft returned to Vancouver without further incident.

Data problem - The acceleration parameters data was unusable. The operator was not checking these mandatory parameters.

  1. European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment. 
  2. Minimum Operational Performance Specification for Flight Data Recorder Systems.
  3. ICAO Annex 6 - Parts 1, 2 and 3.
  4. Minimum Operational Performance Specification for Crash Protected Airborne Recorder Systems.

Information sur la sécurité aérienne A11H0002-D2-L1

Le 12 avril 2012

M. Martin Eley
Directeur général, Aviation civile
Transports Canada
330, rue Sparks, Place de Ville
Tour C, 5e étage, Zone A
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N8

Objet : Information sur la sécurité aérienne A11H0002-D2-L1
Directives insuffisantes en matière d'entretien des FDR

 

Monsieur Eley,

Le 20 août 2011, un aéronef mixte Boeing 737-210C de First Air (immatriculation C-GNWN, numéro de série 21067) effectue un vol d'affrètement, 6560 de First Air (FAB6560), entre Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) et Resolute Bay (Nunavut). À 11 h 42, heure avancée du Centre, pendant l'approche vers la piste 35T, l'aéronef FAB6560 percute une colline à environ 1 mille marin à l'est de la piste 35T de l'aéroport de Resolute Bay. L'aéronef est détruit sous la force de l'impact et pendant l'incendie qui s'ensuit. Huit passagers et les quatre membres d'équipage perdent la vie. Trois passagers sont grièvement blessés et sont secourus par du personnel des Forces canadiennes qui se trouve à Resolute Bay dans le cadre de l'Opération Nanook 11. L'enquête (A11H0002) est en cours.

L'enregistreur de données de vol (FDR) contenait des données invalides pour les 29 premières minutes du vol de l'accident. Si l'accident s'était produit au cours de cette période, il manquerait des données essentielles à l'enquête. Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), Norme 625, Appendice C, Tâches hors calendrier et exigences relatives à la maintenance de l'équipement, paragraphe 17 – Enregistreurs de données de vol, exige une vérification de la corrélation des données. Le paragraphe 17 renvoie également le lecteur au document de l'EUROCAE1 ED-552 pour des directives sur l'entretien des FDR, y compris les vérifications de la corrélation.

L'objectif de la vérification de la corrélation des FDR est de s'assurer que l'ensemble des paramètres requis est enregistré et de qualité acceptable. Le document ED-55 demande à ce que le personnel d'entretien rejoue au moins quinze minutes de données de vol. Examiner quinze minutes de l'enregistrement requis de données des FDR de 25 heures ne suffit pas à s'assurer que tous les paramètres sont enregistrés en qualité acceptable pour l'ensemble de l'enregistrement.

First Air procédait à ses propres vérifications de la corrélation des FDR conformément à l'Appendice C de la Norme 625 du RAC. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a examiné les téléchargements de données antérieurs effectués par First Air à partir de vérifications de la corrélation antérieures. Ces téléchargements indiquaient que le problème d'enregistrement de données avec le FDR en cause existait depuis au moins le mois de mars 2008, mais n'a pas été détecté en raison de l'examen restreint des données exigé par le document ED-55 (15 minutes).

Comme l'indique cet événement, les directives du document ED-55 en ce qui a trait à l'entretien des FDR ne suffisaient pas à détecter l'indisponibilité des FDR. Il existe probablement d'autres systèmes de FDR inutilisables installés sur des aéronefs de transport.

En juin 2007, le BST a organisé une séance d'information sur les problèmes relatifs aux enregistreurs de bord lors de l'atelier d'avionique de Transports Canada (TC). La séance d'information comprenait des enjeux associés aux vérifications de la corrélation et à l'entretien des FDR. TC a publié un article intitulé « Problèmes de données FDR et CVR découverts pendant des enquêtes du BST » dans TP185E - Sécurité aérienne - Nouvelles, numéro 3/2008. Le but de cet article était d'inciter les exploitants et personnes responsables de l'entretien à réexaminer leurs dernières vérifications des enregistreurs de bord.

Malgré ces efforts, le BST continue de découvrir des problèmes avec les données des FDR, dont certains auraient dû être décelés et résolus lors des vérifications de la corrélation annuelles (voir l'Annexe A). Cette situation pourrait s'expliquer en partie par le contenu désuet de la Norme 625, Appendice C du RAC. Il y a probablement des aéronefs exploités avec un FDR inutilisable.

Les spécifications de l'EUROCAE sont reconnues à l'échelle internationale et on y fait référence dans les normes et pratiques recommandées de l'OACI3. En 2003, le document ED-55 a été remplacé par ED-1124. Le document ED 112 a été publié pour mettre à jour les spécifications relatives aux enregistreurs de bord. Il fournit des directives améliorées pour l'entretien des FDR. Les directives pour la vérification de la corrélation des données ont également été améliorées et exigent que l'échantillon de données comprenne un vol complet, soit du démarrage à l'arrêt moteur. D'autres modifications au document ED-112 sont en cours dans le but de refléter l'information technique la plus actuelle.

Les directives d'entretien des FDR de Transports Canada (Norme 625, Appendice C du RAC) ne font pas référence à la spécification actuelle de l'EUROCAE concernant les enregistreurs de bord et, par conséquent, elles ne suffisent pas à assurer l'aptitude au service des enregistreurs de données de vol.

L'information qui précède est fournie pour que les mesures de suivi jugées appropriées soient adoptées.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur Eley, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Mark Clitsome
Directeur, Direction des enquêtes (Air)

Annexe A – Échantillon d'événements antérieurs concernant des problèmes au chapitre des données des FDR

Numéro d'événement Résumé
A11A0035

Le 16 juillet 2011, un appareil Boeing 727-200 (immatriculation C-GKFJ), exploité par Kelowna Flightcraft Air Charter (KFA288), partant de l'aéroport international du Grand Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick (CYQM) vers l'aéroport international de St. John's, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (CYYT), se pose sur la piste 11 et sort en bout de piste d'environ 400 pi (122 m). Il pleut à ce moment. Les trois membres d'équipage ne sont pas blessés. On ferme les deux pistes à CYYT pendant environ une heure. La piste 11 reste fermée jusqu'à ce que l'aéronef soit retiré le jour suivant.

Problème relatif aux données - Plusieurs paramètres obligatoires étaient invalides. L'exploitant n'a pas effectué les vérifications de la corrélation annuelles.

A10H0004

Le 16 juin 2010, un appareil Embraer 145 (immatriculation N847HK), exploité par Trans States Airlines (vol 8050 de United Express) en provenance de l'aéroport international Washington Dulles se pose sur la piste 07 de l'aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier d'Ottawa (CYOW) et sort en bout de piste. Il y a 33 passagers et 3 membres d'équipage à bord. Deux membres d'équipage et un passager subissent des blessures légères.

Problème relatif aux données - Lors du vol de l'accident, les paramètres de position de commande ont enregistré des données fausses. Un problème semblable existait sur l'ensemble des vols enregistrés et le téléchargement d'entretien précédent. Le problème n'a pas été décelé ou résolu.

A09O0117

Le 19 juin 2009, un appareil Boeing 767-300 (immatriculation SP-LPA) exploité par Polish Airlines (LOT2) part de Chicago, O'Hare (KORD) à destination de Varsovie, en Pologne. Dans les environs de North Bay, en Ontario, alors qu'il volait au niveau 330, l'aéronef se met à accélérer, le vibreur de manche s'active et les voyants d'avertissement gauche et droit de la commande moteur électronique (EEC) s'allument, le tout de façon soudaine et involontaire. L'aéronef descend au niveau 280 avant que la situation ne revienne à la normale. L'aéronef est dérouté vers l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson et se pose sans autre incident.

Problème relatif aux données - Plusieurs paramètres ont enregistré des données invalides et le problème n'a pas été décelé lors du téléchargement d'entretien précédent.

A07F0210

Le 12 décembre 2007, un appareil Bombardier BD-700-1A11 (Global 5000), immatriculé N50DS et exploité par First Southeast Aviation part de l'aéroport international V.C. Bird à St. Johns, Antigua, Antilles, vers l'aéroport international Vance Winkworth Amory à Nevis, aux Antilles néerlandaises. Lors de l'atterrissage à Nevis, l'aéronef entre en collision avec la clôture d'enceinte de l'aéroport, pose ses roues sur une légère pente de gazon d'environ 30 pi (9 m) avant la piste 10 et heurte le dernier feu d'approche central. Les bords de fuite arrière de l'aile et le train principal droit sont endommagés; les trois personnes à bord ne sont pas blessées.

Problème relatif aux données - L'alarme principale fonctionnait par intermittence pendant 27 heures de données de vol. On a déterminé que la source du paramètre était erronée.

A07F0090

Le 17 juin 2007, un appareil Shorts SD3-60 (immatriculation S7-PAL) exploité par Air Seychelles est en courte finale de la piste 13 à l'aéroport international des Seychelles, aux Seychelles, lorsque le moteur de gauche (PWC PT6A-67R, numéro de série 106112) connaît une défaillance. On voit de la fumée et du feu sortir du moteur alors que l'aéronef se pose et lorsqu'il s'arrête à mi-piste. L'équipage suit la procédure d'urgence en cas d'incendie moteur et réussit à éteindre l'incendie. Les passagers sont évacués par les sorties du côté droit et personne n'est blessé.

Problème relatif aux données - Le cap n'a pas été enregistré. Le problème existait, mais n'a pas été décelé lors du téléchargement d'entretien précédent.

A06Q0200

Le 8 décembre 2006, l'appareil de Havilland DHC-8-100 (immatriculation C-GAIS) exploité sous le numéro de vol CRQ501, décolle de Kuujjuaq, au Québec (CYVP) à destination de Val-d'Or (CYVO), à 14 h 28 heure locale. Lors de la rentrée du train, l'équipage entend un bruit étrange et remarque une perte de fluide hydraulique dans le système hydraulique no 2. L'équipage demande de retourner à l'aéroport CYVP. L'équipage effectue la procédure applicable, mais le train avant refuse de sortir et de se fixer en position rentrée. Une urgence est déclarée à 14 h 44. L'aéronef décrit des cercles autour de l'aéroport pour brûler du carburant pendant que l'équipage reste en communication avec le fabricant et le service d'entretien de la société. L'agent de bord et les passagers sont informés qu'il y aura un atterrissage d'urgence. L'aéronef se pose de façon sécuritaire avec le train avant rentré à 18 h 50 heure locale. L'aéronef subit des dommages mineurs. Les passagers et l'équipage ne sont pas blessés.

Problème relatif aux données - On a réussi à récupérer uniquement 21 heures de données; le minimum requis est de 25 heures. Une piste complète et une piste partielle n'ont pas enregistré de données.

A05W0010

Le 20 janvier 2005, l'appareil Jetsgo DC-9-83 C-FRYH, numéro de série 53520, est exploité sous le numéro de vol JGO191 lors d'un vol de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson, en Ontario, à destination de l'aéroport international de Calgary, en Alberta. La portée visuelle de piste indiquée à l'équipage avec l'autorisation d'atterrir sur la piste 34 était de 1400 pi (427 m), avec un balisage lumineux réglé à l'intensité 5. Le vol JGO191 effectue une approche à l'aide du système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) et pose ses roues sur la piste, à gauche de l'axe de piste à 19 h 56 heure normale des Rocheuses (HNR). L'aéronef quitte le côté gauche de l'axe de piste et se déplace de 1600 pi (488 m) avant de monter plus haut lors d'une procédure d'approche interrompue. L'aéronef, alors qu'il se trouve au sol, heurte et détruit un panneau d'attente à l'écart. Le vol JGO191 est radioguidé vers la piste 34 pour une deuxième approche ILS et se pose à 20 h 10 HNR. L'aéronef subit des dommages mineurs et les 78 passagers et 6 membres d'équipage ne sont pas blessés.

Problème relatif aux données - Certains paramètres obligatoires ont enregistré des valeurs hors-limites et le problème existait lors de la vérification de la corrélation du service d'entretien. Le problème relatif aux données a été ignoré et le FDR a été certifié en bon état.

A05F0093

Le 22 mai 2005, un appareil Boeing 767-300 (immatriculation C-GLMC) exploité par Skyservice Airlines se pose à Punta Cana, en République dominicaine, après un décollage de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson, en Ontario. Lors de l'atterrissage, le train d'atterrissage avant heurte brutalement la piste, ce qui a fait en sorte que la roue avant rebondit plusieurs fois. L'aéronef s'immobilise sur la piste, puis roule jusqu'à la porte. Lors de l'inspection à la porte par l'équipage du vol, on remarque un important froissement circonférentiel du revêtement du fuselage juste à l'avant de la porte passagers L2 et derrière la soute à bagages avant.

Problème relatif aux données - On a perdu environ 35 minutes de données de vol liées à l'accident. Le début et la fin de chaque piste ne contenaient pas de données.

A04P0319

Le 15 août 2004, un appareil Boeing 737-200 (immatriculation C-FACP) exploité par Air Canada Zip (numéro de vol WZP6204) vient de décoller de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, lorsque les pilotes entendent un violent bruit provenant du moteur droit (Pratt & Whitney JT8D-17A numéro de série 709399). Le moteur est coupé et le contenu de deux extincteurs est vidé. Une urgence est déclarée et l'aéronef retourne à Vancouver sans autre incident.

Problème relatif aux données - Les données liées aux paramètres d'accélération étaient inutilisables. L'exploitant n'a pas vérifié ces paramètres obligatoires.

 


  1. Organisation européenne pour l'équipement électronique de l'aviation.
  2. Minimum Operational Performance Specification for Flight Data Recorder Systems (spécification de performances opérationnelles minimales pour systèmes enregistreurs de données de vol).
  3. OACI Annexe 6 - Parties 1, 2 et 3.
  4. Minimum Operational Performance Specification for Crash Protected Airborne Recorder Systems (spécifications d'efficacité minimale des enregistreurs de bord résistant aux écrasements).