Air transportation safety investigation A19A0047

This is the summary of a class 5 occurrence to which TSB investigators deployed. The investigation is now closed.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Amateur-built Zenair STOL CH 750 aircraft
Sussex Airport (CCY3), New Brunswick

The occurrence

On , the Zenair STOL CH750 amateur-built aircraft (registration C-GCUU) departed from Sussex Airport (CCY3), New Brunswick, with only the pilot on board. The pilot did not inform anyone of his plans, so the purpose of the flight and the time of departure are unknown.

A passing motorist saw the aircraft in a field near the airport and notified the airport owner. At around 1820 Atlantic Daylight Time, the airport owner found the aircraft less than 400 feet from the centre of the runway. The aircraft had struck the ground in a near-vertical position and the pilot had been fatally injured.

The pilot had purchased the aircraft in September 2017 and had not flown it since then, other than to perform some taxiing runs.

The pilot had begun flight training at a nearby flight school in August 2017 on a Cessna 172. He held a student pilot permit and a current Category 3 medical certificate, and had accumulated 22.8 hours total flight time. All of these hours were flown with an instructor, and most of these hours were flown in the pilot's first 3 months of training in 2017. In 2019, the pilot had not flown since January, except for 2 hours on the Cessna 172 in June prior to the occurrence flight.

Weather reports from nearby airports indicated that conditions throughout the day were favourable for visual flight, with light winds from the south-southwest.

Figure 1. Wreckage of the occurrence aircraft (Source: TSB)
Wreckage of the occurrence aircraft (Source: TSB)

The TSB deployed to the site and determined that the aircraft engine had been producing power. Investigators confirmed that the flight and power plant controls had continuity before the impact.

The fuel selector was found to be set to “Both”. Fuel was present in the wing tanks, the fuel pump, and the lines to the carburetors. An undetermined amount of fuel had escaped from the fuel system due to impact forces that compromised the fuel lines. The aircraft was equipped with a global positioning system (GPS) and a multi-function display; however, no data from the occurrence flight could be recovered.

The aircraft was equipped with an emergency locator transmitter (ELT). The ELT did not activate, and was found in the off position.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2019-07-04

TSB deploys a team following an amateur-built aircraft accident near the Sussex Airport, New Brunswick

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, 04 July 2019 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of an amateur-built aircraft accident that occurred on 03 July 2019 near the Sussex Airport in New Brunswick. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Daphne Booth

Daphne Boothe has over 20 years of civil aviation experience. She joined the TSB in 2013 as an operations investigator in the Atlantic Region.

Before joining the TSB, Mrs. Boothe spent 10 years flying for 703/704 operators in Northwestern Ontario, Quebec and the Maritimes, flying scheduled and charter flights.

Mrs. Boothe holds an Airline Transport License with over 6000 hours of flying experience and a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 5 investigation. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19A0047

Voici un résumé d’un événement de catégorie 5 pour lequel le BST a envoyé une équipe d’enquêteurs. L’enquête est maintenant terminée.

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief

Appareil de type Zenair STOL CH 750 de construction amateur
Aéroport de Sussex (CCY3) (Nouveau-Brunswick)

L'événement

Le , l’aéronef Zenair STOL CH750 de construction amateur (immatriculation C-GCUU) a quitté l’aéroport de Sussex (CCY3) au Nouveau-Brunswick, avec le pilote seul à bord. Le pilote n’a informé personne de ses plans; par conséquent, le but du vol et l’heure de départ du vol sont inconnus.

Un automobiliste a aperçu l'aéronef dans un champ près de l'aéroport et a avisé le propriétaire de l'aéroport. Vers 18 h 20, heure avancée de l'Atlantique, le propriétaire de l'aéroport a trouvé l'aéronef à moins de 400 pieds du milieu de la piste. L'aéronef avait percuté le sol dans une position quasi verticale. Le pilote avait subi des blessures mortelles.

Le pilote avait acheté l'aéronef en septembre 2017 et ne l'avait pas piloté depuis, sauf pour effectuer des manœuvres de roulage.

Le pilote avait commencé sa formation au pilotage à une école de pilotage à proximité en août 2017 sur un Cessna 172. Il détenait un permis d'élève-pilote et un certificat médical de catégorie 3. Il avait accumulé 22,8 heures de vol au total, accompagné d'un instructeur, et la majorité de ces heures de vol ont eu lieu pendant les 3 premiers mois de sa formation en 2017. En 2019, le pilote n'avait pas été aux commandes d'un aéronef depuis janvier, à l'exception de 2 heures en juin sur le Cessna 172 avant le jour de l'événement.

Les bulletins d'information météorologique d'aéroport dans la région indiquaient que les conditions étaient favorables aux vols selon les règles de vol à vue tout au long de la journée, avec des vents légers du sud-sud-ouest.

Figure 1. Épave de l'aéronef en cause dans l'événement (Source : BST)
Épave de l'aéronef en cause dans l'événement (Source : BST)

Le BST a envoyé des enquêteurs sur le site, qui ont déterminé que le moteur de l'aéronef produisait de la puissance. Les enquêteurs ont confirmé la continuité des commandes moteur et de vol avant l'impact.

Le sélecteur de carburant était réglé à BOTH. Il y avait du carburant dans les réservoirs d'aile, la pompe carburant et les conduites menant aux carburateurs. Une quantité indéterminée de carburant s'était écoulée du circuit de carburant en raison des forces d'impact, qui ont endommagé les conduites carburant. L'aéronef était muni d'un système de positionnement mondial (GPS) et d'un écran multifonction; toutefois, aucune donnée de vol le jour de l'événement n'a pu être récupérée.

L'aéronef était muni d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT). L'ELT ne s'est pas activée, et on l'a trouvée en position OFF.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2019-07-04

Le BST envoie une équipe suite à un accident d’avion de construction amateur survenu près de l’aéroport Sussex (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Dartmouth (Nova Scotia), le 4 juillet 2019 —Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident mettant en cause un avion de construction amateur survenu le 3 juillet 2019 près de l’aéroport Sussex (Nouveau-Brunswick). Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteure désignée

Photo de Daphne Booth

Daphne Boothe a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans l’aviation civile. Elle s’est jointe au BST en 2013 à titre d’enquêteure des opérations dans la région de l’Atlantique.

Avant d’entrer au service du BST, Mme Boothe a travaillé pendant dix ans comme pilote pour des transporteurs visés par les sous-parties 703 et 704 du RAC dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario, au Québec et dans les Maritimes, aux commandes de vols réguliers et de vols nolisés.

Mme Boothe est titulaire d’une licence de pilote de ligne. Elle compte plus de 6 000 heures d’expérience de vol et est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en génie mécanique.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 5. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: