Air transportation safety investigation A19F0176

This is the summary of a class 5 occurrence to which TSB investigators deployed. The investigation is now closed.

Table of contents

Severe turbulence encounter

Air Canada
Boeing 777-233LR
Honolulu, Hawaii

The occurrence

On , an Air Canada Boeing 777-233LR (registration C-FNNH) was operating as flight ACA033 from Vancouver International Airport (CYVR), British Columbia, Canada, to Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport (YSSY), New South Wales, Australia, with 15 crew members and 269 passengers on board. The planned route was an almost direct routing over the Pacific Ocean with a planned flight time of 14 hours and 25 minutes.

The aircraft departed CYVR at 0750Footnote 1 and followed the flight-planned route. Before departure, the flight crew reviewed the forecast en-route weather. No significant weather was forecast along the route of flight until the segment near the equator, where isolated cumulonimbus clouds were forecast near the route of flight. In the area of the ADOWA waypoint, cumulonimbus clouds were forecast several hundred miles west of the planned track.

For the first few hours of the flight, the aircraft was flying in smooth air and clear of cloud. At approximately 1350, the cabin crew started preparing service carts in the galleys in order to begin the snack service. The seatbelt sign was off.

At 1400, the aircraft was near the ADOWA waypoint, 640 nautical miles southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii, United States, when it encountered severe turbulence at flight level 340 for 10 to 15 seconds. Several passengers and some of the cabin crew were thrown into the ceiling of the cabin. In total, 37 people (31 passengers and 6 cabin crew) reported sprains, strains, cuts, and bruises.

The flight crew diverted to Daniel K Inouye International Airport (PHNL), Honolulu, Hawaii, United States, which was approximately 2 hours away. While en route to PHNL, the cabin crew and medical professionals who were among the passengers administered first aid. In preparation for landing, fuel was dumped and arrangements were made to have emergency medical services meet the aircraft at the airport.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) reviewed the aircraft’s digital flight data recorder, and there was no significant turbulence before or after the occurrence. Maintenance conducted a severe-turbulence inspection, and no faults were found. Some interior components and cabin furnishings were damaged where passengers and cabin crew had come into contact with them.


Media materials

Animations

 

This animation, developed for another investigation report, shows the effects the forces associated with severe turbulence can have on passengers who are wearing seat belts and those who aren’t.

Fasten your seatbelt – A15F0165 Severe Turbulence


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Jonathan (Jon) Lee

Jonathan (Jon) Lee is the Western Regional Manager for the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in Edmonton, Alberta. He has been an aircraft investigator for 19 years, and has been managing the Edmonton office for eight of those years. He has been involved in approximately 50 investigations. Mr. Lee has also participated in foreign investigations that involve Canadian aerospace products. Working with the National Transportation Safety Board (United States), the Aviation Safety Council (Taiwan), Aviation and Railway Accident Investigation Board (South Korea), and the Aviation Accident Investigation Board (Mongolia) has made Mr. Lee appreciate the importance of the TSB’s role in global aviation.

Before working in accident investigation, Mr. Lee gained industry experience as a pilot in operations ranging from regional airlines and transcontinental cargo to medevac and flight instruction. He has flown over 35 types of aircraft and has accumulated 6500 flight hours. He maintains a valid and current airline transport pilot license.


Class of investigation

This is a class 5 investigation. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19F0176

Voici un résumé d’un événement de catégorie 5 pour lequel le BST a envoyé une équipe d’enquêteurs. L’enquête est maintenant terminée.

Table des matières

Passage dans une zone de forte turbulence

Air Canada
Boeing 777-233LR
Honolulu (Hawaii)

L'événement

Le , un aéronef Boeing 777-233LR (immatriculation C-FNNH) d’Air Canada effectuait le vol ACA033, de l’aéroport international de Vancouver (CYVR), situé en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada, à l’aéroport Kingsford Smith de Sydney (YSSY) situé en Nouvelles-Galles du Sud, Australie, avec 15 membres d’équipage et 269 passagers à bord. La route prévue, d’une durée de 14 heures et 25 minutes, était presque directe, au-dessus de l’océan Pacifique.

L’aéronef a quitté CYVR à 7 h 50Note de bas de page 1 et a suivi la route prévue au plan de vol. Avant le départ, l’équipage de conduite a examiné les prévisions météorologiques en route. On ne prévoyait aucune intempérie le long de la route prévue du vol jusqu’au segment passant près de l’équateur, où l’on prévoyait des cumulonimbus isolés près de la route du vol. Aux environs du point de cheminement ADOWA, on prévoyait la présence de cumulonimbus à plusieurs centaines de milles à l’ouest de la route prévue.

Pendant les premières heures du vol, l’air était calme et le ciel, sans nuages. Vers 13 h 50, l’équipage de cabine a commencé à préparer les chariots de service dans les offices afin de commencer à servir les collations. La consigne lumineuse des ceintures de sécurité était éteinte.

À 14 h, l’aéronef approchait du point de cheminement ADOWA, à 640 milles marins au sud-ouest de Honolulu (Hawaii, États-Unis) lorsqu’il est passé dans une zone de forte turbulence au niveau de vol 340 pendant 10 à 15 secondes. Plusieurs passagers et certains membres de l’équipage de cabine ont été projetés au plafond de la cabine. Au total, 37 personnes (31 passagers et 6 membres de l’équipage de cabine) ont rapporté des entorses, des foulures, des coupures et des contusions.

L’équipage de conduite a dérouteé le vol vers l’aéroport international Daniel K Inouye (PHNL) de Honolulu (Hawaii, États-Unis), qui se trouvait à environ 2 heures de distance. Pendant le trajet vers PHNL, l’équipage de cabine et des professionnels de la santé faisant partie des passagers ont administré les premiers soins. En préparation à l’atterrissage, du carburant a été largué et des dispositions ont été prises pour que des services médicaux d’urgence rejoignent l’aéronef à l’aéroport.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a examiné l’enregistreur numérique de données de vol de l’aéronef, et il n’y a eu aucune forte turbulence avant ou après l’événement. L’équipe de maintenance a effectué une inspection en cas de forte turbulence et n’a découvert aucun défaut. Certains composants intérieurs et éléments du mobilier de la cabine ont été endommagés par le choc avec les passagers et les membres de l’équipage de cabine.


Ressources pour les médias

Animation

 

Cette animation, fondée sur un autre rapport d’enquête, illustre les effets que les forces liées à une forte turbulence peuvent avoir sur des passagers, selon qu’ils portent ou non leur ceinture de sécurité.

Bouclez votre ceinture de sécurité – A15F0165 forte turbulence


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jonathan (Jon) Lee

Jonathan (Jon) Lee est directeur régional de l’Ouest pour le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) à Edmonton (Alberta). Enquêteur sur les événements d’aéronefs depuis 19 ans, il a en outre dirigé le bureau d’Edmonton pendant huit de ces années. Il a pris part à environ 50 enquêtes. M. Lee a également eu l’occasion de participer à des enquêtes à l’étranger sur des incidents mettant en cause des produits aérospatiaux canadiens. La collaboration avec le National Transportation Safety Board (États-Unis), l’Aviation Safety Council (Taiwan), l’Aviation and Railway Accident Investigation Board (Corée du Sud) et l’Aviation Accident Investigation Board (Mongolie) a permis à M. Lee de mieux mesurer l’importance du rôle du BST dans l’aviation mondiale.

Avant d’enquêter sur les accidents, M. Lee a accumulé de l’expérience dans l’industrie en tant que pilote au sein de divers types d’entreprises, des sociétés aériennes régionales au transport de marchandises transcontinental en passant par les évacuations sanitaires et la formation des pilotes. Il a piloté plus de 35 types d’aéronefs, et a cumulé 6500 heures de vol. Il détient toujours une licence de pilote de ligne en règle.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 5. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: