Air transportation safety investigation A19O0178

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Piper PA-32
Kingston, Ontario

The occurrence

On 27 November 2019, a Piper PA-32 registered in the United States was conducting a visual flight rules flight from Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport (CYKZ), in Toronto, Ontario. Preliminary information indicates that the destination was Québec City, Quebec. It appears that the aircraft intended to land in Kingston, Ontario as there were communications between the pilot and Kingston Flight Service Station just prior to the accident. Shortly after 5:00 pm EST the aircraft collided with terrain approximately 2.8 NM north of Kingston and came to rest in a northerly direction, aligned with the north-south runway of the Kingston/Norman Rogers Airport (CYGK). The aircraft was destroyed. Examination of the wreckage indicates that the angle of impact with terrain was very steep. There was no post-impact fire. All 7 people aboard were fatally injured. The emergency locator transmitter activated.

Progress to date

An investigation team was deployed to the accident site. Investigators have been:

  • collecting data;
  • examining, taking photographs, and surveying the accident site and wreckage;
  • surveying the cockpit and obtaining technical, operational and maintenance documents;
  • recovering electronic instruments and devices that contain non-volatile memory;
  • examining the aircraft engine;
  • conducting an examination of the cabin and seating arrangements;
  • conducting interviews with first responders, airport employees, and any other witnesses in addition to obtaining copies of statements.

Working with others

The TSB conducts independent investigations. For their assistance in this investigation, we would like to recognize the contributions of first responders and of the Kingston Police who protected the site. The aircraft was found by a Royal Canadian Air Force CH-146 Griffon helicopter crew from 424 Transport and Rescue Squadron based at 8 Wing Trenton. The Search and Rescue helicopter used data provided by the on-board 406-MHz emergency locator transmitter (ELT) to find the aircraft.

Next steps

There were reports of deteriorating weather at the time of the occurrence. We will obtain a detailed weather information package for further information.

Prior to the occurrence, there were communications between the pilot and Kingston Flight Service Station. The investigation will seek to obtain further details on communications between the pilot, the flight service station and other air traffic services.

Among other activities in the coming days and weeks, the team will:

  • examine data from electronic devices that may be found in the aircraft to help determine the sequence of events prior to the accident;
  • gather and analyze weather information to understand to what extent weather was a factor;
  • examine aircraft maintenance records, pilot training, qualifications and proficiency records;
  • conduct follow-up interviews;
  • review operational policies, procedures and regulatory requirements;
  • examine previous occurrences involving this type of aircraft and subsequent safety action taken in Canada, the United States and other jurisdictions.

Communication of safety deficiencies

Investigations are complex and we take the time needed to complete a thorough investigation. However, should the investigation team uncover safety deficiencies that present an immediate risk, the Board will communicate them without delay.

Further, it is important not to speculate, or draw conclusions as to causes at this time. There are often many factors that can contribute to an accident.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2019-11-27

TSB will deploy a team to Kingston, Ontario, following an aircraft accident

Richmond Hiill, Ontario, 27 November 2019 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) will deploy a team of investigators tomorrow morning to Kingston, Ontario, following an accident involving a Piper PA-32. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ken Webster

Ken Webster joined the TSB team in 2005, and works as a regional senior investigator (Air) out of the Ontario office. Mr. Webster has been investigator-in-charge in numerous TSB investigations, and assisted in several others, involving airplane, helicopter and air traffic control. Prior to the TSB he worked in civil aviation for 20 years, in several different capacities. As a pilot, Mr. Webster has flown numerous aircraft types throughout Canada and the US.

 


Photos

  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This occurrence is still being assessed. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19O0178

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief

Piper PA-32
Kingston (Ontario)

L'événement

Le 27 novembre 2019, un Piper PA-32 immatriculé aux États-Unis effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol à vue à partir de l’aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (CYKZ). Les informations préliminaires indiquent que la destination du vol était la ville de Québec (Quebec). D’après les communications entre le pilote et le service d’information de vol de Kingston qui ont eu lieu juste avant l’accident, il semble que le pilote avait l’intention d’atterrir à Kingston (Ontario). Peu après 17 h (HNE), l’avion est entré en collision avec le relief à environ 2,8 milles marins au nord de l’aéroport de Kingston et s’est immobilisé en direction nord, dans l’axe de la piste nord-sud de l’aéroport Kingston/Norman Rogers (CYGK). L’avion a été détruit. Selon un examen initial de l’épave, l’angle d’impact avec le relief était très prononcé. Il n’y a pas eu d’incendie après impact. Les 7 occupants ont été mortellement blessés. La radiobalise de repérage d’urgence s’est déclenchée.

Progrès accomplis jusqu’à maintenant

Une équipe d’enquête a été dépêchée sur le site de l’accident pour:

  • recueilli des données;
  • fait l’examen, dressé le plan et pris des photos du site de l’accident et de l’épave;
  • étudié le poste de pilotage et rassemblé des documents techniques et opérationnels et des documents relatifs à l’entretien;
  • récupéré les instruments et appareils électroniques contenant de la mémoire non volatile;
  • examiné le moteur de l’aéronef;
  • effectué un examen partiel de la cabine et de la disposition des sièges;
  • mené des entrevues avec les premiers intervenants, les employés de l’aéroport et tout autre témoin, en plus d’obtenir des copies des dépositions.

Travailler avec d’autres

Le BST mène des enquêtes indépendantes. Pour leur aide dans le cadre de cette enquête, nous souhaitons souligner la contribution des premiers intervenants et du Service de police de Kingston, qui ont protégé le site. L’aéronef a été retrouvé par l’équipage d’un hélicoptère CH-146 Griffon de l’Aviation royale canadienne issu du 424e Escadron de transport et de sauvetage de la 8e Escadre Trenton. L’hélicoptère de recherche et de sauvetage a utilisé des données fournies par la radiobalise de repérage d’urgence (ELT) de 406 MHz embarquée pour trouver l’aéronef.

Prochaines étapes

Les dossiers indiquent des conditions météorologiques qui se dégradaient au moment de l’événement. Nous allons obtenir un dossier complet et détaillé sur les conditions météorologiques aux fins d’examen.

Avant l’accident, il y a eu des communications entre le pilote et la station d’information de vol de Kingston. Au cours de l’enquête, nous tenterons d’obtenir plus d’information sur les communications entre le pilote, la station d’information de vol et d’autres services de la circulation aérienne.

Au cours des jours et des semaines à venir, l’équipe exécutera entre autres les activités suivantes :

  • examiner les données issues des appareils électroniques pouvant se trouver dans l’aéronef pour aider à déterminer la chronologie des événements qui ont précédé l’accident;

  • rassembler et analyser les renseignements météorologiques pour comprendre le rôle joué par les conditions météorologiques;

  • examiner les dossiers d’entretien de l’aéronef de même que les dossiers de formation, de qualification et de compétence du pilote;

  • réaliser des entrevues de suivi;

  • examiner les politiques et les procédures d’exploitation de même que les exigences réglementaires;

  • examiner les événements antérieurs mettant en cause ce type d’aéronef, ainsi que les mesures de sécurité prises par suite de ces événements au Canada, aux États-Unis et dans d’autres compétences.

  

Communication des lacunes de sécurité

Les enquêtes sont complexes, et nous prenons le temps qu'il nous faut pour mener une enquête exhaustive. Toutefois, si l'équipe d'enquête découvre des lacunes de sécurité qui présentent un risque immédiat, le Bureau les communiquera sans tarder.

Il importe en outre de ne pas émettre des hypothèses ni tirer des conclusions quant aux causes de l'accident à l'heure actuelle. Souvent, de nombreux facteurs contribuent à un accident.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2019-11-27

Le BST enverra une équipe suite à un accident d’aéronef à Kingston (Ontario)

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 27 novembre 2019 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) enverra une équipe d’enquêteurs demain matin à Kingston (Ontario), suite à un accident mettant en cause un Piper PA-32. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ken Webster

Ken Webster s’est joint à l'équipe du BST en 2005 et travaille comme enquêteur principal régional (Aviation) au bureau régional de l'Ontario. M. Webster a été enquêteur désigné dans de nombreuses enquêtes du BST, et a participé à plusieurs autres enquêtes sur des avions, des hélicoptères et le contrôle de la circulation aérienne. Avant le BST, il assumé plusieurs fonctions en aviation civile pendant 20 ans. M. Webster a piloté de nombreux types d'aéronefs partout au Canada et aux États-Unis.

 


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est toujours en cours d'évaluation. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: