Air transportation safety investigation A19W0095

This is the summary of a class 5 occurrence to which TSB investigators deployed. The investigation is now closed.

Table of contents

Collision with water

Cessna 150J
Jasper, Alberta

The occurrence

On , at approximately 1300,Footnote 1 the pilot and the passenger arrived at Jasper Airport to prepare the Cessna 150J aircraft (registration C-GCEA) for a flight to Hinton/Entrance Airport, Alberta. The aircraft took off to the northwest on Runway 31 at 1323, continued climbing for 25 seconds, and reached an altitude of approximately 150 feet above ground level. At 0.5 nautical miles (nm) from the airport, the aircraft stalled and entered a spin to the left, and impacted the water in a pool of the Athabasca River. The aircraft was equipped with a 121.5 MHz emergency locator transmitter, which activated on impact.

Immediately following the accident, a pilot at the airport who had seen the accident called 911 on his personal cellphone. Another eyewitness drove to the scene within minutes of the impact and assisted both the pilot and the passenger to shore.

A number of passersby on Highway 16 stopped to administer first aid, and Jasper Emergency Medical Services responded shortly afterward. The pilot, who was severely injured in the accident, was transported to Edmonton by air ambulance. The passenger was fatally injured.

All of the major components of the aircraft were accounted for at the accident site. The wing flaps were found in the retracted position. The aircraft was within the certified weight and balance limits. Based on examination of the wreckage and the photo and video information collected, it was determined that the engine and flight controls had been operating normally prior to impact.

Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Jasper Warden station, located 5 nm south of the accident site, records hourly weather information. The information recorded at 1300 indicated the following:

  • Wind direction variable at 1 to 3 knots
  • Temperature 24.4 °C, dew point 6.5 °C

An aviation routine weather report (METAR) for Edson Airport, located 68 nm northeast of the accident site, recorded the following weather at 1300:

  • Wind direction 104° magnetic at 11 knots, gusting to 17 knots
  • Visibility greater than 9 statute miles
  • Temperature 22 °C, dew point 6 °C
  • Altimeter setting 30.13 inches of mercury

At the time of takeoff, the winds at Jasper Airport were southerly at 5 to 10 knots, and the density altitude, based on the altimeter setting at Edson Airport, was 5088 feet above sea level.

The aircraft was equipped with a Garmin GPSMAP 196. It was recovered at the accident site and was sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. Just before the loss of control, the GPS (global positioning system) recorded a reduction in ground speed from 83 mph to 64 mph and a course change approximately 30 degrees to the left of the runway track. During the reduction in airspeed, the altitude remained constant at about 150 feet above ground level for almost 5 seconds before the aircraft departed controlled flight and entered the aerodynamic stall and left-hand spin.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2019-07-21

TSB deploys a team following a small aircraft accident in Jasper, Alberta

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of an accident involving a Cessna 150 in Jasper, Alberta. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Jonathan (Jon) Lee

Jonathan (Jon) Lee is the Western Regional Manager for the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in Edmonton, Alberta. He has been an aircraft investigator for 19 years, and has been managing the Edmonton office for eight of those years. He has been involved in approximately 50 investigations. Mr. Lee has also participated in foreign investigations that involve Canadian aerospace products. Working with the National Transportation Safety Board (United States), the Aviation Safety Council (Taiwan), Aviation and Railway Accident Investigation Board (South Korea), and the Aviation Accident Investigation Board (Mongolia) has made Mr. Lee appreciate the importance of the TSB’s role in global aviation.

Before working in accident investigation, Mr. Lee gained industry experience as a pilot in operations ranging from regional airlines and transcontinental cargo to medevac and flight instruction. He has flown over 35 types of aircraft and has accumulated 6500 flight hours. He maintains a valid and current airline transport pilot license.


Photos

  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.


Class of investigation

This is a class 5 investigation. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19W0095

Voici un résumé d’un événement de catégorie 5 pour lequel le BST a envoyé une équipe d’enquêteurs. L’enquête est maintenant terminée.

Table des matières

Collision avec un plan d’eau

Cessna 150J
Jasper (Alberta)

L'événement

Le , vers 13 hNote de bas de page 1, le pilote et le passager sont arrivés à l’aéroport de Jasper afin de préparer l’aéronef Cessna 150J (immatriculation C-GCEA) en vue d’un vol vers l’aéroport Hinton/Entrance (Alberta). L’aéronef a décollé en direction nord-ouest sur la piste 31 à 13 h 23, a continué de prendre de l’altitude pendant 25 secondes et a atteint une altitude de quelque 150 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol. À 0,5 mille marin (nm) de l’aéroport, l’aéronef a décroché et est entré en vrille vers la gauche, puis a percuté l’eau dans un secteur calme de la rivière Athabasca. L’aéronef était équipé d’une radiobalise de repérage d’urgence à 121,5 MHz, qui s’est activée à l’impact.

Immédiatement après l’accident, un pilote à l’aéroport ayant été témoin de l’accident a composé le 911 sur son téléphone cellulaire personnel. Un autre témoin de l’accident s’est rendu sur place en voiture dans les minutes suivant l’impact et a aidé le pilote et le passager à rejoindre la rive.

De nombreux passants sur la route 16 se sont arrêtés pour administrer les premiers soins, et les services médicaux d’urgence de Jasper sont intervenus peu après. Le pilote, qui a été grièvement blessé dans l’accident, a été transporté à Edmonton par ambulance aérienne. Le passager a été mortellement blessé.

Tous les composants principaux de l’aéronef ont été retrouvés sur le lieu de l’accident. On a constaté que les volets étaient rentrés. L’aéronef respectait les limites de masse et de centrage. D’après l’examen de l’épave de même que les photos et les vidéos recueillies, on a déterminé que le moteur et les commandes fonctionnaient normalement avant l’impact.

Le poste de garde de Jasper d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, situé à 5 nm au sud du lieu de l’accident, enregistre les renseignements météorologiques toutes les heures. Les renseignements enregistrés à 13 h étaient les suivants :

  • Vent de 1 à 3 nœuds, direction variable
  • Température de 24,4 °C, point de rosée à 6,5 °C

Un message d’observation météorologique régulière pour l’aviation (METAR) pour l’aéroport d’Edson, situé à 68 nm au nord-est du lieu de l’accident, a enregistré les conditions météorologiques suivantes à 13 h :

  • Vent de 104° magnétiques à 11 nœuds, avec rafales à 17 nœuds
  • Visibilité de plus de 9 milles terrestres
  • Température de 22 °C, point de rosée à 6 °C
  • Calage altimétrique de 30,13 pouces de mercure

Au moment du décollage, les vents à l’aéroport de Jasper venaient du sud entre 5 et 10 nœuds, et l’altitude-densité, d’après le calage altimétrique à l’aéroport d’Edson, était de 5088 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

L’aéronef était doté d’un dispositif Garmin GPSMAP 196. Ce dispositif a été récupéré sur le lieu de l’accident et a été envoyé au Laboratoire d’ingénierie du BST aux fins d’analyse. Juste avant la perte de maîtrise, le dispositif GPS (système de positionnement mondial) a enregistré une diminution de la vitesse au sol de 83 à 64 mi/h et un changement de cap d’environ 30 degrés vers la gauche de la piste. Pendant la diminution de la vitesse anémométrique, l’altitude est restée constante à quelque 150 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol pendant près de 5 secondes avant la perte de maîtrise de l’aéronef, le décrochage aérodynamique et la vrille vers la gauche.


Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2019-07-21

Le BST envoie une équipe suite à un accident de petit aéronef survenu à Jasper (Alberta)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident mettant en cause un Cessna 150 à Jasper en Alberta. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jonathan (Jon) Lee

Jonathan (Jon) Lee est directeur régional de l’Ouest pour le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) à Edmonton (Alberta). Enquêteur sur les événements d’aéronefs depuis 19 ans, il a en outre dirigé le bureau d’Edmonton pendant huit de ces années. Il a pris part à environ 50 enquêtes. M. Lee a également eu l’occasion de participer à des enquêtes à l’étranger sur des incidents mettant en cause des produits aérospatiaux canadiens. La collaboration avec le National Transportation Safety Board (États-Unis), l’Aviation Safety Council (Taiwan), l’Aviation and Railway Accident Investigation Board (Corée du Sud) et l’Aviation Accident Investigation Board (Mongolie) a permis à M. Lee de mieux mesurer l’importance du rôle du BST dans l’aviation mondiale.

Avant d’enquêter sur les accidents, M. Lee a accumulé de l’expérience dans l’industrie en tant que pilote au sein de divers types d’entreprises, des sociétés aériennes régionales au transport de marchandises transcontinental en passant par les évacuations sanitaires et la formation des pilotes. Il a piloté plus de 35 types d’aéronefs, et a cumulé 6500 heures de vol. Il détient toujours une licence de pilote de ligne en règle.


Photos

  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 5. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: