Marine investigation M17A0039

Main engine breakdown

The occurrence

On 15 March 2017, the fishing vessel Atlantic Destiny, with 31 people on board, sustained a major main engine breakdown, 200 nautical miles southwest of Halifax, Nova Scotia. The vessel sustained significant damage to the engine, shaft alternators, and machinery spaces. No injuries or pollution resulted from this occurrence. The TSB is investigating.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo ofLuc Charbonneau

Luc Charbonneau has been a senior marine investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2010.

Prior to joining the TSB, M Charbonneau worked at Transport Canada, Marine safety, as Canadian vessel inspector, port state control inspector, pollution prevention officer and examiner in the Quebec region.

He has 20 years sailing experience on several types of foreign going ships and coastal trading vessels. He holds a certificate of first class marine engineering.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2017-03-17

TSB deploys a team to Shelburne, Nova Scotia, following accident aboard the fishing vessel Atlantic Destiny
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M17A0039

Panne de moteur principal

L'événement

Le 15 mars 2017, le navire de pêche Atlantic Destiny, avec 31 personnes à bord, a subi une panne majeure de la machine principale, à 200 milles marins au sud-ouest de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le navire a subi d'importants dommages au moteur, aux alternateurs et aux espaces de machines. Personne n'a été blessé; aucune pollution n'a été observée. Le BST mène une enquête.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Luc Charbonneau

Luc Charbonneau est enquêteur principal dans le domaine maritime au Bureau de la sécurité transports du Canada (BST) depuis le début de 2010.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Charbonneau a travaillé à Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, à titre d'inspecteur de navires canadiens, d'inspecteur du contrôle par l'état du port, d'officier de prévention de pollution et d'examinateur dans la région de Québec.

Il compte 20 ans d'expérience de navigation avec divers types de navires au long cours et côtiers. Il est titulaire d'un brevet de première classe en mécanique marine.

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Media

Avis de déploiement
 
2017-03-17

Le BST envoie une équipe à Shelburne (Nouvelle-Écosse) suite à un accident à bord du navire de pêche Atlantic Destiny
Lire l'avis de déploiement