Rail transportation safety investigation R18H0105

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 25 November 2019.

Table of contents

Main-track Collision between train and track unit

Canadian National Railway Company
Freight train X 14921-01 and
Unimat tamper
Mile 84.27, Kingston Subdivision
Crysler, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , at about 0010 Eastern Daylight Time, Canadian National Railway Company (CN) westbound train X 14921-01, proceeding westward at about 48 mph on the south track, came into contact with a track machine that was working on the north track at Mile 84.27 of the CN Kingston Subdivision, near Crysler, Ontario. The track machine had its work heads (tamping tools) extended horizontally, foul of the south track. There were no injuries. The track machine sustained damage to its tamping tools. The train sustained damage to safety appliances on both locomotives and 3 cars. Seven other cars sustained minor damage.


Safety communications

Safety advisories

2019-11-16

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 617-09/18: Clearing trains through Rule 42 work limits


Media materials

News release

2019-11-25

A gap in clearing procedures for track workers led to a 2018 collision between a train and a track machine near Crysler, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-10-02

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a collision involving a train near Crysler, Ontario

Gatineau, Quebec, 2 October 2018 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of a collision involving a Canadian National Railway train and track equipment near Crysler, Ontario. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Darlene Roosenboom

Darlene Roosenboom has been with the Railway/Pipeline Investigations Branch of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2004. Currently Specialist/Senior Investigator, Operations, she has provided oversight on a number of investigations, and is also a trusted agent of TSB’s confidential reporting system, SECURITAS. Before joining the TSB, Ms. Roosenboom worked for Canadian National Railway Company (CN) for 15 years, predominantly as rail traffic controller; she also held management positions in the work program office, and was a crew coordinator. Ms. Roosenboom obtained her Bachelor of Arts degree from York University, majoring in Sociology.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R18H0105

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 25 novembre 2019.

Table des matières

Collision en voie principale entre un train et un véhicule d’entretien

Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada
Train de marchandises X 14921-01 
bourreuse Unimat
Point milliaire 84,27, subdivision de Kingston
Crysler (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , vers 0 h 10, heure avancée de l’Est, le train X 14921-01 de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) circulait vers l’ouest à environ 48 mi/h sur la voie sud de la subdivision de Kingston du CN lorsqu’il a heurté une machine d’entretien de la voie qui travaillait sur la voie nord au point milliaire 84,27, près de Crysler (Ontario). Les organes de travail (bourroirs) de la machine d’entretien de la voie étaient déployés à l’horizontale et obstruaient la voie sud. Il n’y a pas eu de blessés. Les bourroirs de la machine d’entretien de la voie ont été endommagés. Des dispositifs de sécurité sur les 2 locomotives et sur 3 wagons du train ont été endommagés. Sept autres wagons ont été légèrement endommagés.


Communications en matière de sécurité

Avis de sécurité

2019-11-16

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 617-09/18: Libération de trains en vertu de la règle 42 sur les zones de travaux


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-11-25

Collision entre un train et un véhicule d’entretien près de Crysler (Ontario) en 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-10-02

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’une collision de train survenue près de Crysler (Ontario)

Gatineau (Quebec), le 2 octobre 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’une collision impliquant un train du Chemin de fer Canadien National et un appareil de voie survenue près de Crysler (Ontario). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l’événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Darlene Roosenboom

Darlene Roosenboom travaille à la Direction des enquêtes (Rail et pipeline) du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2004. À l’heure actuelle, elle occupe le poste de spécialiste/enquêteure principale des opérations. Elle a largement contribué à plusieurs enquêtes, et elle est agente de confiance de SECURITAS, le système de rapports confidentiels du BST. Avant de se joindre au BST, Mme Roosenboom a travaillé au sein de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) pendant 15 ans, surtout à titre de contrôleuse de la circulation ferroviaire. Elle a également occupé des postes de direction au bureau du programme de travail, en plus du poste de coordonnatrice d’équipe. Mme Roosenboom a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université York avec spécialisation en sociologie.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: