News release

TSB releases preliminary 2018 transportation occurrence statistics

Gatineau, Quebec, 6 March 2019 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its preliminary transportation occurrence statistics for 2018. An initial review of the preliminary occurrence information highlights some noteworthy observations. In the spring, the TSB will release its complete and final statistical reports for 2018, including accident rates and a more thorough analysis of the data.

Air transportation

Air transportation data for 2018 show some encouraging trends. For example, the number of aviation accidents (201) that were reported to the TSB in 2018 was substantially lower than the 5-year average of 249 (figure 1). A strong drop in flight training accidents following a 2017 peak has brought commercial operator accidents to a total of 66 in 2018, compared to 97 last year and to the 5-year average of 80.

There were 860 aviation incidents reported to the TSB in 2018. This number represents a substantial decrease compared to the previous year (939) but is still higher than the 5-year average of 797.  The TSB is reviewing the reported Risk of Collision and Loss of Separation incident data to uncover factors that could help explain why the number of these incidents remains persistently high.

Figure 1. Number of aviation accidents 2017-2018
(5 year average)
Number of aviation accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Data table
Number of aviation accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Year 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
5-year average 249 249

View the December 2018 air transportation occurrence statistics.

Marine transportation

There were 283 marine accidents reported to the TSB in 2018, just above the 2017 total of 279 and below the 5-year average of 287 (figure 2). Although the number of fishing vessels involved in accidents was lower than the previous year, 12 of the 15 fatal marine accidents and 17 of the 22 marine fatalities were related to the commercial fishing industry. Clearly, more needs to be done to improve safety in this industry. That is why commercial fishing safety will remain on the TSB Watchlist of key safety issues until more positive change is accomplished.

Some 936 marine incidents were reported to the TSB in 2018. This number represents a 6% increase from 2017 and a 22% increase from the 5-year average of 768. Most (78%) reportable incidents were related to total failure of machinery or technical system.

Figure 2. Number of marine accidents 2017-2018
(5 year average)
Number of marine accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Data table
Number of aviation accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Year 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
5-year average 249 249

View the December 2018 marine transportation occurrence statistics.

Railway transportation

Railway transportation data for 2018 show mixed results across the mode. Overall, 1170 railway accidents were reported to the TSB in 2018, a 7% increase over 2017 and a 13% increase from the 5-year average of 1035 (figure 3). Most of the increase relates to non-main-track derailments of 5 or fewer cars.

There were 57 rail-related fatalities reported in 2018, 19 fewer than the previous year and well below the 5-year average of 74. Among the 2018 fatalities, 34 involved trespassers, compared to 53 in 2017 and to the 5-year average of 41. Crossing accident fatalities remained stable in 2018 (19) relative to 2017 (19) and to the 5-year average (21). However, the number of serious injuries due to crossing accidents nearly doubled in 2018 (42) compared to 2017 (22) and to the 5-year average (24). To better understand these data, the TSB will examine underlying factors for crossing accidents.

Among all railway accidents reported to the TSB in 2018, 125 involved dangerous goods. This number was up from 115 in 2017, but down slightly from the 5-year average of 126. Six accidents in 2018 resulted in a dangerous goods release.

There were 285 railway incidents reported to the TSB in 2018, a 21% increase from 2017 (235), but a 7% decrease from the 5-year average (308). This decrease is partly due to the retroactive application of a June 2016 regulatory change by Transport Canada that revised the criteria for a dangerous goods leaker from a volume-based threshold to outcome-based consequences, resulting in the re-categorization of a number of occurrences. Consequently, the number of dangerous goods leak incidents between June 2016 and December 2018 fell from 78 to 1.  Almost half (137) of all railway incidents in 2018 were Movement Exceeds Limits of Authority incidents – 15 more than in 2017 and above the 5‑year average of 125.

There were 44 accidents involving an uncontrolled movement, and 15 Uncontrolled Movement of Rolling Stock incidents in 2018, compared to 48 and 14 respectively in 2017, and 5-year averages of 44 and 13 respectively.

Figure 3. Number of rail accidents 2017-2018
(5 year average)
Number of rail accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Data table
Number of rail accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Year 2017 2018
Accidents 1091 1170
5-year average 1035 1035

View the December 2018 rail transportation occurrence statistics.

Pipeline transportation

There were 110 pipeline occurrences reported to the TSB in 2018, compared to 127 in 2017 and to the 5-year average of 119 (figure 4). The number of pipeline occurrences reported to the TSB involving a release of product in 2018 was substantially lower than in previous years (41 in 2018 compared to 74 in 2017 and to the 5-year average of 75). Nine of the 41 product release occurrences in 2018 involved a release from a pipeline body.

The single reported pipeline accident in 2018 was a 36" sweet natural gas pipeline rupture and fire about 13 km northeast of Prince George, British Columbia on October 9. No injuries resulted from that accident. The TSB investigation into this occurrence is ongoing.

There were 109 pipeline incidents reported to the TSB in 2018, compared to 122 in 2017 and to the 5-year average of 115. Forty percent of pipeline incidents involved hydrotechnical activity in 2018, compared to 13% in 2017 and to the 5-year average of 3%.

Figure 4. Number of pipeline accidents 2017-2018
(5 year average)
Number of pipeline accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Data table
Number of pipeline accidents 2017-2018 (5 year average)
Year 2017 2018
Accidents 5 1
5-year average 4 4

View the December 2018 pipeline transportation occurrence statistics.

Please refer to the detailed statistical tables for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date de modification :

Communiqué

Le BST publie des statistiques préliminaires sur les événements de transport en 2018

Gatineau (Québec), le 6 mars 2019 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui ses statistiques préliminaires sur les événements de transport en 2018. Le premier examen de ces renseignements préliminaires permet de dégager certaines observations intéressantes. Au printemps, le BST publiera ses rapports statistiques définitifs pour 2018, y compris les taux d'accidents et des analyses plus exhaustives des données.

Transport aérien

Les données sur le transport aérien pour 2018 font ressortir certaines tendances encourageantes. Par exemple, le nombre d'accidents aéronautiques (201) signalés au BST en 2018 était considérablement inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 249 (figure 1). Chez les exploitants commerciaux, les 66 accidents en 2018 représentent une forte baisse comparativement au nombre record en 2017 (97) et à la moyenne quinquennale (80), due à une nette diminution des accidents en formation au pilotage.

Au total, 860 incidents aéronautiques ont été signalés au BST en 2018. Ce nombre représente une forte baisse comparativement à l'année précédente (939), mais demeure supérieur à la moyenne quinquennale (797). Le BST examine les renseignements sur les risques de collision et pertes d'espacement signalés pour découvrir les facteurs qui permettraient d'expliquer pourquoi le nombre de tels incidents demeure toujours élevé.

Figure 1. Nombre d'accidents aéronautiques (Moyenne sur 5 ans)
 Nombre d'accidents aéronautiques
Tableau de données
Nombre d'accidents aéronautiques
Année 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
Moyenne sur 5 ans 249 249

Voir les données mensuelles sur les événements aéronautiques, décembre 2018

Transport maritime

En 2018, 283 accidents maritimes ont été signalés au BST, légèrement au-dessus du total de 279 pour 2017, mais sous la moyenne quinquennale de 287 (figure 2). Quoique le nombre de bateaux de pêche en cause dans des accidents était en baisse par rapport à l'an dernier, 12 des 15 accidents maritimes mortels et 17 des 22 décès sont survenus en pêche commerciale. De toute évidence, il reste beaucoup à faire pour améliorer la sécurité dans ce secteur. C'est pourquoi la sécurité de la pêche commerciale demeurera l'un des principaux enjeux de sécurité sur la Liste de surveillance du BST, et ce, tant que d'autres changements positifs ne seront pas apportés.

Quelque 936 incidents maritimes ont été signalés au BST en 2018. Ce nombre représente une hausse de 6 % par rapport à 2017, et une augmentation de 22 % comparativement à la moyenne quinquennale de 768. Les pannes totales de machines ou de systèmes techniques représentent la majorité (78 %) des incidents à déclaration obligatoire.

Figure 2. Nombre d'accidents maritimes (Moyenne sur 5 ans)
 Nombre d'accidents maritimes
Tableau de données
Nombre d'accidents maritimes
Année 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
Moyenne sur 5 ans 249 249

Voir les données mensuelles sur les événements maritimes, décembre 2018

Transport ferroviaire

Les renseignements sur le transport ferroviaire pour 2018 présentent des résultats mitigés. Dans l'ensemble, 1170 accidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST en 2018, une hausse de 7 % par rapport à 2017 et de 13 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (1035) (figure 3). Cette augmentation s'explique principalement par des déraillements de 5 wagons ou moins en voie non principale.

En 2018, on a déploré 57 décès dus à des accidents ferroviaires, soit 19 de moins que l'année précédente et bien en deçà de la moyenne quinquennale (74). Parmi les décès en 2018, 34 étaient liés à des intrusions, comparativement à 53 en 2017 et à la moyenne quinquennale de 41. Le nombre de décès survenus à des passages à niveau en 2018 est similaire au chiffre de 2017 (19) et à la moyenne quinquennale (21). Toutefois, le nombre de blessures graves dues à des accidents aux passages à niveau a presque doublé en 2018 (42) comparativement à 2017 (22) et à la moyenne quinquennale (24). Pour mieux comprendre ces données, le BST examinera les facteurs sous-jacents des accidents aux passages à niveau.

De tous les accidents ferroviaires qui ont été signalés au BST en 2018, 125  étaient associés à des marchandises dangereuses. Ce nombre était en hausse par rapport à 115 en 2017, mais légèrement inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 126. De tous les accidents en 2018, 6 ont entraîné le rejet de marchandises dangereuses.

En 2018, 285 incidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST, soit une hausse de 21 % par rapport à 2017 (235), mais une baisse de 7 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (308). Cette baisse est en partie attribuable à l'application rétroactive de modifications réglementaires que Transports Canada a apportées en juin 2016 aux critères d'une fuite de marchandises dangereuses, les faisant passer d'un seuil fondé sur le volume à des conséquences basées sur l'issue d'un événement. Plusieurs événements ont donc été reclassés. Ainsi, de juin 2016 à décembre 2018, le nombre d'incidents avec fuite de marchandises dangereuses a chuté de 78 à 1. Près de la moitié (137) des incidents ferroviaires en 2018 étaient dus à des mouvements ayant excédé les limites autorisées, soit 15 de plus qu'en 2017 et une hausse par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (125).

En 2018, 44 accidents de mouvement incontrôlé et 15 incidents de mouvement incontrôlé de matériel roulant ont été signalés, comparativement à 48 et à 14 respectivement en 2017, et aux moyennes quinquennales de 44 et 13 respectivement.

Figure 3. Nombre d'accidents ferroviaires (Moyenne sur 5 ans)
 Nombre d'accidents ferroviaires
Tableau de données
Nombre d'accidents ferroviaires
Année 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
Moyenne sur 5 ans 249 249

Voir les données mensuelles sur les événements ferroviaires, décembre 2018

Transport par pipeline

On a signalé 110 événements de pipeline au BST en 2018, comparativement à 127 en 2017 et à la moyenne quinquennale de 119 (figure 4). En 2018, le nombre d'événements de pipeline signalés au BST comprenant un rejet de produit a été largement inférieur aux années précédentes (41 en 2018 comparativement à 74 en 2017 et à la moyenne quinquennale de 75). Des 41 événements avec rejet de produit survenus en 2018, 9 comprenaient un rejet à partir du corps de la canalisation.

Le seul accident de pipeline signalé en 2018 est survenu, le 9 octobre, lors d'un incendie liée à une rupture d'un pipeline de 36 pouces qui transportait du gaz naturel non corrosif, à quelque 13 km au nord-est de Prince George, en Colombie-Britannique. L'accident n'a fait aucun blessé. L'enquête du BST sur cet événement est en cours.

On a signalé 109 incidents de pipeline au BST en 2018, comparativement à 122 en 2017 et à une moyenne quinquennale de 115. En 2018, 40 % des incidents de pipeline ont mis en cause de l'activité hydrotechnique, comparativement à 13 % en 2017 et à une moyenne quinquennale de 3 %.

Figure 4. Nombre d'accidents de pipeline (Moyenne sur 5 ans)
 Nombre d'accidents pipeline
Tableau de données
Nombre d'accidents pipeline
Année 2017 2018
Accidents 240 201
Moyenne sur 5 ans 249 249

Voir les données mensuelles sur les événements de pipeline, décembre 2018

Veuillez consulter nos tableaux de statistiques pour de plus amples renseignements.

Date de modification :