News release

Associated links (A18W0129)

Fatal 2018 floatplane accident in Little Doctor Lake, NWT highlights persistent need for improved emergency exits

Edmonton, Alberta, 14 November 2019 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its investigation report (A18W0129) today concerning the aircraft capsize during a water landing that took place in August 2018, on Little Doctor Lake, Northwest Territories. In the report, the TSB re-emphasized the need for aircraft emergency exits to meet the basis of certification in order to permit safe egress in case of an emergency.

On 16 August 2018, a Simpson Air Limited float-equipped Cessna U206G aircraft left Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories, for a sightseeing flight with one pilot and four passengers on board. On arrival at Little Doctor Lake, control of the aircraft was lost during landing and the aircraft capsized. The pilot and one passenger escaped the submerged fuselage. The remaining three passengers were unable to exit the aircraft and drowned.

The investigation found that, for the last 300 feet of the descent, a stable approach profile was not maintained which led to a hard landing and subsequent bounce. With no recovery techniques applied for a bounced landing, the right wing of the aircraft contacted the surface of the lake, and the aircraft nosed over, coming to rest inverted and partially submerged.

Although all doors were functional, the investigation found that the extended wing flaps used for landing had blocked the forward portion of the rear cargo doors. Based on this observation, the TSB immediately issued Aviation Safety Advisory A18W0129-D1-A1 to highlight the significant safety issue involving Cessna 206 aircraft that are fitted with rear double cargo doors. Over the years, the rear double cargo doors have been identified as a risk to passengers in emergency situations. As a result, the TSB and other investigative agencies have been advocating for changes to the door design.

Transport Canada responded to the TSB Safety Advisory by stating its intention to make a formal submission to the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration requiring Cessna to develop, deploy and mandate improvements to the cargo door design to ensure successful egress in the event of an accident on water.

The investigation also highlighted a number of risk factors. In particular, if a passenger safety briefing is incomplete, passengers may not know the process required to escape the aircraft in an emergency. In this occurrence, a pre-flight briefing was provided during which the operation of the rear cargo doors was demonstrated. However, no instructions were provided on what to do if the door was blocked due to flap deployment.

Following the occurrence, the company stopped operating the Cessna 206 on floats. It started providing underwater egress training for all floatplane flight crews, and increased training and experience requirements for new crew members.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A18W0129)

L’accident d’hydravion mortel de 2018 sur le lac Little Doctor (T.N.-O.) met en évidence la nécessité persistante d’améliorer les issues de secours

Edmonton (Alberta), le 14 novembre 2019 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd’hui son rapport d’enquête (A18W0129) sur le capotage d’un avion pendant l’amerrissage sur le lac Little Doctor, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, en août 2018. Dans son rapport, le BST souligne une fois de plus que les issues de secours d’avions doivent satisfaire aux critères de certification afin de permettre l’évacuation sécuritaire en cas d’urgence.

Le 16 août 2018, un aéronef Cessna U206G équipé de flotteurs et exploité par Simpson Air Limited a quitté Fort Simpson (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) pour effectuer un vol touristique avec une pilote et quatre passagers à bord. À l’arrivée au lac Little Doctor, il y a eu perte de maîtrise de l’avion durant l’amerrissage, et l’avion a capoté sur l’eau. La pilote et une passagère ont réussi à évacuer le fuselage submergé. Les trois autres passagers n’ont pas pu sortir de l’hydravion et se sont noyés.

L’enquête a permis de déterminer que durant les 300 derniers pieds de la descente, un profil d’approche stable n’a pas été maintenu, ce qui a mené à un amerrissage brutal, suivi d’un rebond. Aucune technique de rétablissement n’ayant été appliquée pour les rebonds à l’amerrissage, l’aile droite de l’avion a percuté la surface du plan d’eau puis l’avion a capoté et s’est immobilisé à l’envers, partiellement submergé.

Quoique toutes les portes étaient fonctionnelles, l'enquête a permis de déterminer que la sortie des volets durant l'amerrissage a bloqué le battant avant de la porte de soute à deux battants. À partir de ce fait établi, le BST a immédiatement émis l'avis de sécurité aérienne A18W0129-D1-A1 pour souligner les importants enjeux de sécurité associés aux Cessna 206 munis d'une porte de soute à deux battants. Au fil des ans, on a déterminé que la porte de soute à deux battants posait un risque pour les passagers en situation d'urgence. Par conséquent, le BST et d'autres agences d'enquête ont recommandé des modifications à la conception de cette porte.

Transports Canada a répondu à l'avis de sécurité du BST en affirmant son intention de présenter une demande officielle à la FAA des États-Unis pour que Cessna développe, mette en œuvre et oblige des améliorations au concept de porte de soute de manière à assurer l'évacuation de l'avion en cas d'accident sur l'eau.

L'enquête a également souligné plusieurs facteurs de risque. Notamment, si l'exposé sur les mesures de sécurité à l'intention des passagers est incomplet, les passagers risquent de ne pas savoir comment évacuer l'avion en cas d'urgence. Dans l'événement à l'étude, un exposé avant vol a eu lieu au cours duquel on a fait la démonstration du fonctionnement de la porte de soute. Or, aucune instruction n'a été donnée sur la façon d'ouvrir la porte si les volets sortis bloquent le battant avant de la porte. 

Après cet événement, la compagnie a cessé d'exploiter des Cessna 206 équipés de flotteurs. Elle a entrepris de donner une formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique à tous les équipages de conduite d'hydravion, et renforcé les critères de formation et d'expérience de tous les nouveaux membres d'équipage.

Voir la page d'enquête pour plus d'information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :