News release

Associated links (A19O0026)

Investigation report: March 2019 collision with terrain near Timmins, Ontario

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 22 August 2019  – Today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its investigation report (A19O0026) into the collision with terrain of a Robinson R66 helicopter near Timmins, Ontario, in March 2019.

The TSB conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues.

In this occurrence, the emergency locator transmitter (ELT) was not turned on. This report points out the importance of having a properly armed and functioning ELT. This will help reduce possible delays in the deployment of search and rescue resources, thereby increasing occupants’ chance of survival.

See the investigation page for further information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A19O0026)

Rapport d’enquête : collision avec le relief près de Timmins (Ontario) en mars 2019

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 22 août 2019 — Aujourd'hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié son rapport d'enquête (A19O0026) sur une collision avec le relief mettant en cause un hélicoptère Robinson R66, survenue près de Timmins (Ontario) en mars 2019.

Le BST a mené une enquête de portée limitée sur cet événement pour recueillir des faits et promouvoir la sécurité des transports grâce à une sensibilisation accrue aux enjeux de sécurité potentiels.

Dans cet événement, la radiobalise de repérage d’urgence (ELT) n’était pas activée. Ce rapport souligne l’importance d’avoir une ELT armée et fonctionnelle, ce qui contribue à réduire les délais possibles dans le déploiement de ressources de recherche et de sauvetage et, par conséquent, à augmenter les chances de survie des occupants.

Consultez la page d’enquête pour obtenir plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :