News release

Associated links (R18T0058)

Injuries sustained by teenagers after jumping from a moving train highlights need for greater awareness of personal safety risks

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 24 September 2019 — In its investigation report (R18T0058) released today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) found that the decision by two teenagers to enter a railway right-of-way without authority and then climb onto a slow-moving freight train contributed to the 2018 accident in which they were injured.

Shortly after 1:15 a.m. on 18 March 2018, two female teenagers climbed onto a slow-moving westbound Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) freight train at a grade-separated crossing in Toronto, Ontario. The teenagers had entered the railway right-of-way by walking through a gap between the fencing and the overpass barrier. Once the train picked up speed, the teenagers were unable to get off as planned at a nearby crossing. About 20 miles further in Mississauga, Ontario, when the train slowed at a public crossing, the teenagers jumped off the train and sustained injuries. One teenager remained on the right-of-way and was struck by a second westbound CP freight train, sustaining additional serious injuries. Both teenagers were transported to hospital for treatment.

The investigation found that the teenagers were not specifically aware of the personal safety risks of accessing the railway tracks. Their age and their intoxication at the time of the occurrence contributed to their decision to access railway property and to climb onto the train.

To address the issue of trespassing and the subsequent risk of personal injuries, the investigation highlights the need for stakeholders to develop and effectively implement collaborative engineering, enforcement, and public education strategies. A comprehensive geographic and demographic dataset for trespassing occurrences would also help maximize the effectiveness of such strategies in addressing the hazards associated with this high-risk activity.

As part of this investigation, the TSB issued Rail Safety Advisory (RSA) 02/18, highlighting the risks of trespassing and encouraging key stakeholders–notably Transport Canada, railway companies, local municipalities and Operation Lifesaver–to adopt more effective deterrence and education strategies.

See the TSB investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Liens connexes (R18T0058)

Les blessures subies par des adolescentes qui ont sauté d’un train en mouvement rappellent l’importance de sensibiliser davantage la population aux risques pour sa sécurité

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 24 septembre 2019 — Dans son rapport d’enquête (R18T0058) publié aujourd’hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a déterminé que la décision de deux adolescentes de s’introduire dans une emprise ferroviaire sans autorisation et de monter sur un train de marchandises en mouvement a contribué à l’accident survenu en 2018 dans lequel elles ont été blessées.

Peu après 1 h 15 la nuit du 18 mars 2018, deux adolescentes sont montées sur un train de marchandises du Canadien Pacifique (CP) tandis qu’il circulait lentement vers l’ouest sur un saut-de-mouton à Toronto (Ontario). Elles se sont introduites dans l’emprise ferroviaire à pied, par une ouverture entre la clôture et la barrière du passage supérieur. Lorsque le train a commencé à accélérer, elles n’ont pas pu descendre à l’un des passages suivants comme elles l’avaient prévu. Environ 20 milles plus loin à Mississauga (Ontario), lorsque le train a ralenti à un passage à niveau public, les adolescentes ont sauté du train et se sont blessées. L’une d’elles est restée sur l’emprise; elle a été heurtée par un deuxième train de marchandises du CP qui roulait vers l’ouest et a subi d’autres blessures graves. Les deux adolescentes ont été transportées à l’hôpital pour recevoir des soins.

L’enquête a permis d’établir que les adolescentes n’étaient pas particulièrement sensibilisées aux risques auxquels elles s’exposaient en accédant aux voies ferrées. Leur âge et leur niveau d’intoxication au moment de l’événement ont contribué à leur décision d’entrer sur le domaine ferroviaire et de monter sur le train.

Afin de remédier aux risques d’intrusions et de blessures qui en découlent, l’enquête met en relief la nécessité pour les intervenants de collaborer à l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de stratégies efficaces sur les plans de l’ingénierie, de l’application de la loi et de l’éducation du public. Un ensemble complet de données géographiques et démographiques sur les événements liés aux intrusions pourrait aussi contribuer à maximiser l’efficacité de telles stratégies pour contrer les dangers associés à cette activité à haut risque.

Dans le cadre de son enquête, le BST a publié l’Avis de sécurité ferroviaire 02/18,qui souligne les risques associés aux intrusions sur le domaine ferroviaire et qui encourage les principaux intervenants, notamment Transports Canada, les compagnies de chemin de fer, les municipalités et Opération Gareautrain, à adopter des stratégies de dissuasion et d’éducation plus efficaces.

Voir la page d’enquête pour plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :