Statement

Statement from the Chair following the January 2019 OC Transpo accident in Ottawa

Gatineau, Quebec, 14 January 2019 - Our thoughts are with all those involved or affected by the tragic bus accident that occurred at Ottawa's Westboro transit station on Friday, 11 January 2019. We also wish to extend our heartfelt condolences and deepest sympathy to the families and friends of those who lost their lives or were injured.

This accident naturally brings up memories of the OC Transpo-VIA Rail collision at Ottawa's Fallowfield station in 2013 and the TSB's complex investigation (R13T0192) into the causes and contributing factors that led to that tragedy. Over the past few days, the TSB was asked if it will also investigate this recent accident.

The TSB's mandate is to advance transportation safety by conducting independent investigations into occurrences involving the air, marine, rail and pipeline modes, to identify causal and contributing factors, and safety deficiencies, and to make safety recommendations where appropriate. The TSB is not mandated to investigate road accidents and therefore cannot undertake its own investigation into Friday's bus accident. The TSB must respect the existing laws and jurisdictions. The Ottawa Police Service (OPS) is the lead investigation body into the causes of this accident. Given our experience investigating various accidents involving buses and trains, we have reached out to the OPS to offer the assistance of our technical experts. The TSB has also reached out to the Coroner's Office to offer similar assistance. The TSB will stand-by ready to provide any assistance these organizations may require for their ongoing investigations.

It would be inappropriate for the TSB to comment on the police investigation. However, following the TSB's 2013 investigation, a number of recommendations were issued aimed at addressing some important safety deficiencies. Two of these recommendations are particularly relevant to this recent occurrence.

First, the Canada Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (CMVSS) contain no requirements for frontal impact, side impact, rollover or crush protection for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) in excess of 11 793 kg (26 000 pounds), which includes most transit buses. As a result, buses in this weight category can have different structural features that may not adequately protect the travelling public. Considering the consequences of the 2013 accident, the Board recommended that the Department of Transport develop and implement crashworthiness standards for commercial passenger buses to reduce the risk of injury (R15-02).

Secondly, the CMVSS contain no requirements for buses (including school, transit and inter-city) to be equipped with an on-board crashworthy event data recorder (EDR), similar to what is available in the air, rail and marine modes. All safety, regulatory, law enforcement and company accident investigations benefit from the efficient, timely and accurate collection, assimilation and analysis of available information. In many cases, EDRs provide and validate much of this valuable information. Early recovery of the information can also result in more timely communication of safety deficiencies and accident reports to industry, regulators and the public, which in turn can result in the implementation of measures to prevent a recurrence. Therefore, the Board recommended that the Department of Transport require commercial passenger buses to be equipped with dedicated, crashworthy, event data recorders (EDRs) (R15-03).

Since these recommendations were issued, Transport Canada has undertaken some work. However, significant progress has not yet occurred and the safety deficiencies remain outstanding. Friday's bus accident in Ottawa, coming on the heels of the 2018 Humboldt bus tragedy, and the earlier 2013 Ottawa bus-train accident, not to mention other examples, reinforces the urgent need for Transport Canada to take action on implementing crashworthiness standards for commercial buses. The TSB therefore calls upon Transport Canada to expedite its work on the development and implementation of such standards.

Building upon the results of its investigation into the 2013 bus-train collision, the TSB will continue to push for changes so that bus passengers in Canada don't have to worry about the safety of the vehicle they are taking to work, home or to a hockey arena.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified:

Déclaration

Déclaration de la présidente en lien avec l'accident d'OC Transpo survenu à Ottawa en janvier 2019

Gatineau (Québec), le 14 janvier 2019 - Nos pensées vont à tous ceux et celles qui ont été impliqués ou touchés par le tragique accident d'autobus survenu à la station Westboro d'Ottawa le vendredi 11 janvier 2019. Nous présentons nos plus sincères condoléances et toute notre sympathie aux parents et amis des défunts et des blessés.

Cet accident n'est pas sans rappeler la collision survenue en 2013 entre un autobus d'OC Transpo et un train de VIA Rail à la station Fallowfield d'Ottawa ainsi que la complexité de l'enquête (R13T0192) sur les causes et les facteurs contributifs qui ont mené à cette tragédie. Au cours des derniers jours, on nous a d'ailleurs demandé si le BST allait également faire enquête sur ce dernier accident.

La mission du BST consiste à promouvoir la sécurité du transport en menant des enquêtes sur des événements dans les secteurs aérien, maritime, ferroviaire et pipelinier pour en dégager les causes et les facteurs contributifs ainsi que les lacunes de sécurité et, au besoin, faire les recommandations qui s'imposent. Le BST n'a pas pour mandat d'enquêter sur les accidents routiers et n'est donc pas en mesure de mener sa propre enquête sur l'accident d'autobus de vendredi dernier. Il se doit de respecter les lois et les sphères de compétences en vigueur. L'enquête sur les causes de cet accident relève principalement du Service de police d'Ottawa (SPO).  Compte tenu de notre expérience avec diverses enquêtes impliquant des trains et autobus, nous avons offert au SPO l'assistance de nos experts techniques. Nous avons fait de même avec le Bureau du coroner. Le BST est prêt à fournir l'aide dont ces organismes pourraient avoir besoin au cours de leurs enquêtes respectives.

Il ne serait pas approprié pour le BST de commenter l'enquête policière. Toutefois, à la suite de son enquête de 2013, le BST a émis certaines recommandations pour remédier à d'importantes lacunes de sécurité. Deux d'entre elles sont pertinentes à la présente enquête.

En premier lieu, les Normes de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada (NSVAC) ne renferment aucune exigence relative à la protection contre l'impact frontal et latéral, les tonneaux ou l'écrasement pour les véhicules d'un poids nominal brut du véhicule (PNBV) de plus de 11 793 kg (26 000 livres), qui comprennent la plupart des autobus de transport en commun. Par conséquent, les autobus de cette catégorie de poids peuvent présenter des caractéristiques structurelles différentes qui pourraient ne pas protéger adéquatement le public voyageur. Compte tenu des conséquences de l'accident de 2013, le Bureau a recommandé que le ministère des Transports élabore et mette en œuvre des normes de résistance à l'impact applicables aux autobus commerciaux de passagers afin de réduire le risque de blessures (R15-02).

En deuxième lieu, les NSVAC n'exigent aucunement des autobus (scolaires, de transport en commun et interurbains) qu'ils soient équipés d'un enregistreur de données routières (EDR) de bord résistant à l'impact, semblable à ce qu'on trouve dans les secteurs aériens, ferroviaires et maritimes. Toute enquête en matière d'accident, pour les fins de la sécurité, de la réglementation, de l'application de la loi ou de l'entreprise, tire profit de l'efficacité, de la précision et de la rapidité avec lesquelles les données disponibles sont recueillies, assimilées et analysées. Dans bien des cas, les EDR fournissent et valident une bonne partie de cette précieuse information. Une récupération rapide de l'information permet aussi de communiquer dans un meilleur délai les lacunes de sécurité et les rapports d'accident à l'industrie, aux organismes de réglementation et au public pour ainsi mener à l'instauration de mesures pouvant prévenir d'autres accidents. C'est pourquoi le Bureau a recommandé que le ministère des Transports exige que les autobus commerciaux de passagers soient équipés d'enregistreurs de données routières (EDR) spécialisés et résistants à l'impact (R15-03).

Transports Canada a entrepris de mettre en œuvre ces recommandations. Toutefois, il n'y a pas encore eu de progrès notable, et les lacunes de sécurité persistent. L'accident d'autobus survenu vendredi à Ottawa dans la foulée de la tragédie de Humboldt en 2018 et de la collision train-autobus en 2013 à Ottawa, pour ne citer que ces événements, renforce l'urgence pour Transports Canada d'adopter des normes de résistance à l'impact pour les autobus commerciaux.  Le BST exhorte donc Transports Canada à accélérer l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de ces normes.

En se fondant sur les résultats de son enquête sur la collision train-autobus de 2013, le BST continuera de revendiquer les changements qui s'imposent pour que les passagers d'autobus au Canada n'aient pas à craindre pour leur sécurité à bord des véhicules qu'ils empruntent pour se rendre au travail, à la maison ou à une aréna de hockey.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :