What is air-taxi?

Commercial air services in Canada are defined in Part VII of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). There are four different categories, based on an aircraft’s takeoff weight, the type of work being performed and the number of passengers it is configured to carry. These are:

  • Subpart 702: Aerial Work
  • Subpart 703: Air Taxi
  • Subpart 704: Commuter
  • Subpart 705: Airline

Single-engine aircraft, multi-engine aircraft that have a maximum takeoff weight of 8,618 kg or less and are configured to carry 9 passengers or less, and multi-engine helicopters certified for operation by a single pilot operating under visual flight rules (VFR), would fall under the air-taxi regulations.

Common aeroplanes used in air-taxi operations include: Beechcraft King Air 100, Cessna 185, Cessna 208, de Havilland DHC-2 Beaver, Pilatus PC-12, Piper Navajo.

Common helicopters used in air-taxi operations include: Augusta A109, Bell 206, Bell 412, Eurocopter AS-350, Sikorsky S76.

Jet aircraft are not included in air-taxi regulations in Canada. These are generally regulated under subpart 604 of the CARs if privately operated, or under subpart 704 or 705 of the CARs depending on aircraft weight and passenger capacity, if operated commercially.

There are approximately 500 companies providing air-taxi services across Canada.

Date modified:

Qu’est-ce que le taxi aérien?

Les services aériens commerciaux au Canada sont définis dans la Partie VII du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Ces services comprennent quatre catégories, en fonction de la masse au décollage de l'aéronef, du type d'opérations effectuées et du nombre de passagers qu'il peut transporter. Les quatre catégories sont les suivantes :

  • Sous-partie 702 : Opérations de travail aérien
  • Sous-partie 703 : Exploitation d'un taxi aérien
  • Sous-partie 704 : Exploitation d'un service aérien de navette
  • Sous-partie 705 : Exploitation d'une entreprise de transport aérien

Les avions monomoteurs et multimoteurs dont la masse maximale au décollage est de 8618 kg ou moins et qui peuvent transporter jusqu'à 9 passagers, et les hélicoptères multimoteurs homologués pour l'exploitation par un seul pilote selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), sont assujettis aux règlements de taxi aérien.

Les avions que l'on utilise couramment pour les services de taxi aérien comprennent : Beechcraft King Air 100, Cessna 185, Cessna 208, de Havilland DHC-2 Beaver, Pilatus PC-12, Piper Navajo.

Les hélicoptères que l'on utilise couramment pour les services de taxi aérien comprennent : Augusta A109, Bell 206, Bell 412, Eurocopter AS-350, Sikorsky S76.

Au Canada, la réglementation sur les taxis aériens ne vise pas les avions à réaction. En général, ils sont assujettis à la sous-partie 604 du RAC, dans le cas d'avions privés; dans le cas d'avions commerciaux, ils sont assujettis à la sous-partie 704 ou 705 du RAC, selon leur masse et leur capacité de transport de passagers.

Environ 500 compagnies offrent des services de taxi aérien, partout au Canada.

Date de modification :