Raising the bar on safety: Reducing the risks associated with air-taxi operations in Canada

New TSB recommendations

Eliminating the acceptance of unsafe practices

This safety issue investigation (SII) highlights what types of unsafe practices have been happening for years and continue to happen: from flying overweight to flying in marginal weather to flying with minimal fuel reserves. Deviations from standard operating procedures, company policy, regulations, or safe practices can result in outcomes similar to those that have contributed to numerous accidents and incidents over the years.

At the same time, though, the safety margin built into these operations may allow an unsafe flight to be completed successfully. When operations are conducted successfully with a reduced safety margin, this may lead to an acceptance of unsafe practices and make it difficult to know how much of the safety margin has been eroded.

An important step in raising the bar on safety in air-taxi operations is getting clients, passengers, and operators not to accept unsafe practices even when there seems to be a sufficient safety margin, and to speak up to prevent them from happening. This requires strategies, promotion and education to change values, attitudes and behaviours, which will eventually result in a change of culture.

Safety culture is defined as the way safety is perceived, valued, and prioritized in an organization. Establishing a positive safety culture has many challenges; however, it is a necessary first step in creating the values, attitudes and behaviours required for operators to effectively manage the risks associated with their operations. In practical terms, a positive safety culture can in part be built or supported by proactive safety management.

The evidence of this change in culture will be an operation that supports and reinforces pilot decision making and crew resource management (PDM/CRM) practices through a strong company culture, including support for decision making by managers, supervisors, and peers. Supportive influences and actions from all stakeholders can help operators prioritize safety and manage risks to an acceptable level. But to do this, time and resources must be invested before the flight, and investments must be made as part of increasing safety pressures through training and education, company-wide safe decision making, the use and support of PDM/CRM practices, and safety management that includes a culture of operating safely. To be effective, all this must be done with the knowledge of the operating context of air-taxi operations and the hazards and risk factors specific to this sector.

The emphasis now needs to be on using a positive safety culture and proactive safety management to increase safety pressure that will eventually lead to a culture where unsafe practices are considered unacceptable.

Therefore, the Board recommends that

the Department of Transport collaborate with industry associations to develop strategies, education products, and tools to help air-taxi operators and their clients eliminate the acceptance of unsafe practices.
TSB Recommendation A19-02

Promoting proactive safety management processes and safety culture

In recent years, organizations such as the Floatplane Operators Association (FOA), the Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC), the Helicopter Association of Canada (HAC), the Medallion Foundation, the Federal Aviation Administration (through its Circle of Safety program), and the Tour Operators Program of Safety have come together to improve safety in sectors with a high number of accidents. The initiatives they have organized go beyond the regulations and set high standards for members. These initiatives can provide a roadmap for improving safety in the air-taxi sector in Canada and participation by operators can also provide confidence and incentives for clients and passengers.

As these initiatives show, associations within the air-taxi sector are well positioned to influence safety within the sector. They have a responsibility to their members and the industry and can play a role in positively influencing the 3 competing pressures described in this SII. Industry associations can provide seminars, training and tools, as well as documentation and guides. As an example, industry associations have worked together successfully in the past to address a critical shortage of skilled personnel in the Canadian aviation maintenance industry.

In 2016, the TSB recommended that TC require all commercial aviation operators in Canada to implement a formal safety management system (SMS).

An SMS is generally defined as a formalized framework for integrating safety into an organization's daily operations, including the necessary organizational structures, accountabilities, policies and procedures, so that “it becomes part of that organization's culture, and of the way people go about their work.” While individual employees routinely make decisions about risk, SMS focuses on organizational risk management, yet includes and supports the decision makers at the sharp end. An SMS is scalable and can be designed to meet the needs of a given operation in a way that respects the nature of the sector.

In advance of an SMS regulation, associations can play an important role in making available and accessible to operators, modern promotion and education products and tools on safety culture and proactive safety management that will advance safety in their operations. This will foster the development of a culture of operating safely that is supported by all stakeholders.

Many operators belong to a variety of associations, such as  the Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC), the Helicopter Association of Canada (HAC), the Association Québécoise du Transport Aérien (AQTA), the Floatplane Operators Association (FOA), and the Northern Air Transport Association (NATA). Such associations could provide a venue for sharing best practices, tools, and safety data specific to air-taxi operations. They could also provide assistance and training in implementing proactive safety management that incorporates a positive safety culture.

Therefore, the Board recommends that

Industry associations (e.g., ATAC, HAC, AQTA, FOA, NATA) promote proactive safety management processes and safety culture with air-taxi operators to address the safety deficiencies identified in this safety issue investigation through training and sharing of best practices, tools, and safety data specific to air-taxi operations.
TSB Recommendation A19-03

Closing gaps in the air-taxi regulatory framework

The hazards and risks in air-taxi operations have persisted over many years, with data directly showing the persistence of operational hazards from 1998 to 2015. The SII has illustrated that regulations and standards alone cannot guarantee safety in the sector, but they do provide necessary controls that contribute to safety in the sector. That said, there are gaps in this regulatory framework, namely with regard to training and qualifications, improvements to older aircraft, and fatigue in aircraft maintenance engineers (AMEs).

Training and qualifications

The CARs set out the required training for operators, but the actual training provided can vary widely, as operators observed. While some operators provide training only to a level that meets the requirements in the regulations, others provide extra training beyond the requirements to address needs and/or to derive benefits that mitigate risk in their operation. However, several operators mentioned that without updated regulations and standards forcing all operators to work under the same rules, the playing field is not level.

Although Subpart 703 of the CARs has mandatory training requirements for certain specialized operations, such as night flying, there are no such requirements for many other specialized operations such as mountain flying and coastal flying. There is also no regulation addressing line indoctrination for air-taxi operations. Mandatory training requirements may therefore be inadequate to meet the many unique aspects of air-taxi operations. Without the requirement for specialty training for high-risk operations, pilots may lack the knowledge and skills to ensure safe flight operations.

Furthermore, pilots conducting medical evacuation operations would benefit from specialized training to help them manage the psychological and traumatic challenges of this type of operation.

The qualifications of key personnel within an air-taxi operation were also identified in the SII as a potential issue. TSB investigations from the study period showed that key positions (e.g., operations manager or chief pilot) do not appear to be given sufficient attention when the regulator approves the appointment of individuals to these positions. More attention needs to be given to an individual's credentials and qualifications, as well as the operational requirements for the key positions at the operator. Furthermore, although there are regulatory requirements relating to the roles and responsibilities that these key positions must fulfill, there are no training requirements for individuals appointed to these positions.

Improvements to older aircraft

The SII also identified the difficulty in making improvements to older aircraft such as installing new avionics because it would require a change to the original aircraft type design. The approval process required by TC requires a supplemental type certificate to be developed, which can be a costly and burdensome process; for some smaller operators, the costs may be prohibitive.

Fatigue in aircraft maintenance engineers

The industry consultations revealed that AMEs often experience fatigue when working, especially when they are working in a remote location or away from their main base. Duty days can be long, and duty-day hours for AMEs are not subject to TC's regulations. Some operators stated that duty days for AMEs are often not defined by operators and that AME duty-day regulations are required.

Closing the gaps

Some operators have identified gaps in the existing regulations and standards. Some operators' recommended practices go beyond the current regulatory requirements or include concepts that are not yet addressed by regulations, for example

  • carrying out all flights under instrument flight rules
  • using 2 pilots for all operations
  • establishing their own minimum requirements for pilot flight experience

However, in the face of the competing pressures illustrated by the safe operating envelope model, operators may choose to simply comply with the regulations even though exceeding them would increase safety pressure (e.g., limiting training expenses by providing only the training required by regulation, even when specialized mountain or survivability training would mitigate risks associated with the operation). As long as gaps, such as the ones identified in the SII exist in the regulatory framework, there will be an uneven level of safety in the air-taxi sector.

Therefore, the Board recommends that

the Department of Transport review the gaps identified in this safety issue investigation regarding Subpart 703 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and associated standards, and update the relevant regulations and standards.
TSB Recommendation A19-04

Collecting activity data specific to the air-taxi sector

A key indicator of aviation safety is the aircraft accident rate, which is calculated as the number of accidents per hours flown or per number of movements (a movement can be a takeoff or a landing). Performing a trend analysis of accident rates for different types of operators can detect emerging safety issues associated with specific operator types and activities. In addition, accident rate data makes it possible to compare accident risk for different operator types, in different countries or on different continents. For example, the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) compiles scheduled and non-scheduled flight hours and departures under Title 14 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Operators governed by Part 135 of Title 14 CFR include on-demand carriers, which are similar to Canadian air-taxi operators. The U.S. National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) uses these activity data to compute accident rates and fatal accident rates across sectors.

Activity data (e.g., flight hours) broken out by operator type is required to calculate the accident rates that enable trend analysis of specific operator types over time, or comparisons across operator types or geographical regions.

Until 2010, TC provided activity data broken out by operator type, and the TSB used these data to calculate and publish accident rates across operator types. In 2010, however, TC informed the TSB that it would no longer provide hours-flown activity data breakouts by operator type, because it had concerns regarding the accuracy of those data. The data were reported to TC by the commercial operators who were allowed to report all hours under the most restrictive subpart of the CARs, even if they conducted operations under more than one subpart.

Reporting all hours for all subparts under a single total conflates and confounds airline and commuter activity, as well as the activity of many smaller aviation operators that may carry out operations under multiple subparts of the CARs (commuter, air taxi, and/or aerial work) and report their activity as a single total. Furthermore, the movement data as presently reported by Statistics Canada come from a survey that covers all aircraft movements at Canadian airports, with or without NAV CANADA air traffic control towers and flight service stations. Air-taxi operations are conducted at these locations, as well as in locations such as lakes, unprepared landing sites, remote locations, etc. where movements are not recorded by air traffic service providers.

Because hours-flown and movement data are currently not categorized by CARs subpart when collected by the government, the rate data calculated is for the commercial aviation sector as a whole; there is no differentiation between sectors (e.g., air-taxi operators versus airline operators) or between different types of aircraft (airplane, helicopter, floatplane). Therefore, the accident rate cannot be calculated for just the air-taxi sector.

Without hours-flown and movement data that are categorized by CARs subpart and aircraft type, it will be more difficult for sector stakeholders to assess risks and determine if mitigation strategies being carried out to improve safety are actually working.

Therefore, the Board recommends that

the Department of Transport require all commercial operators to collect and report hours flown and movement data for their aircraft by Canadian Aviation Regulations subpart and aircraft type, and that the Department of Transport publish those data.
TSB Recommendation A19-05

Date modified:

Améliorer la sécurité : Réduire les risques liés aux activités de taxi aérien au Canada

Nouvelles recommandations du BST

Éliminer l'acceptation de pratiques non sécuritaires

La présente enquête sur une question de sécurité (SII) témoigne des types de pratiques non sécuritaires qui ont cours depuis des années et qui perdurent : depuis la surcharge de l'aéronef jusqu'au vol dans des conditions météorologiques limites ou avec des réserves de carburant insuffisantes. Les dérogations aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées, aux politiques générales d'entreprise, aux procédures, à la réglementation ou aux pratiques sécuritaires peuvent donner lieu à des résultats similaires à ceux qui ont contribué à de nombreux accidents et incidents au fil des ans.

Par ailleurs, la marge de sécurité intégrée dans ces opérations pourrait permettre à un vol non sécuritaire de se dérouler sans incident. Le fait d'effectuer ces opérations sans incident et avec une marge de sécurité réduite pourrait mener à l'acceptation de pratiques non sécuritaires et créer des difficultés à déterminer l'ampleur de l'érosion de la marge de sécurité.

Pour améliorer la sécurité du secteur du taxi aérien, il serait important que les clients, les passagers et les exploitants n'acceptent pas des pratiques non sécuritaires, même si la marge de sécurité semble suffisante, et qu'ils s'expriment pour empêcher qu'elles se produisent. Cela exige des stratégies, des campagnes d'information et de l'éducation pour changer les valeurs, les attitudes et les comportements afin d'aboutir avec le temps à un changement de culture.

La culture de la sécurité est la façon dont la sécurité est perçue, valorisée et privilégiée au sein d'une entreprise. La mise en place d'une culture de sécurité positive pose de nombreux défis; il s'agit néanmoins d'une première étape nécessaire pour que les exploitants adoptent les valeurs, les attitudes et les comportements nécessaires pour bien gérer les risques liés à leurs activités. Concrètement, la gestion de la sécurité proactive peut contribuer à établir ou appuyer une culture de sécurité positive.

Un tel changement de culture se traduit par une compagnie qui appuie et renforce les pratiques de prise de décisions du pilote et de gestion des ressources de l’équipage (PDM/CRM) par une solide culture d'entreprise, incluant le soutien à la prise de décisions par les gestionnaires, les superviseurs et les pairs. L'appui et l'action en ce sens de la part de tous les intervenants aideront les exploitants à faire passer la sécurité d'abord et à gérer le risque à un niveau acceptable. Pour y arriver toutefois, il faut investir du temps et des ressources avant le vol. Il faut investir pour augmenter les pressions de sécurité par : la formation et l'éducation; la prise de décisions sécuritaires à l'échelle de la compagnie; l'utilisation et le soutien des pratiques PDM/CRM; et une gestion de la sécurité qui comprend une culture d'exploitation sécuritaire. Pour que ce soit efficace, tout doit procéder de la connaissance du contexte des opérations de taxi aérien et des dangers et facteurs de risque qui lui sont propres.

On doit désormais insister sur le recours à une culture de sécurité positive et à une gestion de la sécurité proactive pour augmenter les pressions de sécurité. Avec le temps, on parviendra à une culture où les pratiques non sécuritaires seront considérées comme inacceptables.

Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que

le ministère des Transports collabore avec les associations du secteur pour mettre au point des stratégies, des produits éducatifs et des outils qui aideront les exploitants de taxis aériens et leurs clients à éliminer l'acceptation de pratiques non sécuritaires.
Recommandation A19-02 du BST

Promouvoir des processus de gestion de la sécurité et une culture de sécurité axés sur une démarche préventive

Au cours des dernières années, certaines organisations, comme la Floatplane Operators Association, l'Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC), l'Association canadienne de l'hélicoptère (ACH), la Medallion Foundation, le Circle of Safety Program de la Federal Aviation Administration et le Tour Operators Program of Safety, se sont réunies pour améliorer la sécurité dans des secteurs où le nombre d'accidents était élevé. Les initiatives qu'elles ont organisées vont au-delà des règlements et établissent des normes élevées pour leurs membres. Ces initiatives peuvent servir de modèle pour améliorer la sécurité des taxis aériens au Canada (annexe D); la participation des exploitants peut également alimenter la confiance et la motivation chez leurs clients et passagers.

Comme le montrent ces initiatives, les associations du secteur du taxi aérien sont bien placées pour influer sur la sécurité dans ce secteur. Elles ont des responsabilités envers leurs membres et peuvent avoir une influence positive sur les 3 pressions systémiques que décrit la présente SII. Les associations du secteur peuvent donner des séminaires et de la formation, ainsi que fournir des outils, des guides et de la documentation. Par exemple, des associations ont collaboré efficacement par le passé pour combler une pénurie critique de personnel compétent dans le secteur de l'entretien des aéronefs au CanadaNote de bas de page 1.

En 2016, le BST a recommandé que TC exige que tous les exploitants d'aviation commerciale au Canada mettent en œuvre un système de gestion de la sécurité (SGS) en bonne et due formeNote de bas de page 2.

Un SGS est généralement défini comme un cadre formel pour la prise en compte systématique de la sécurité dans les opérations quotidiennes d'une entreprise, y compris les structures, responsabilités, politiques et procédures organisationnelles voulues pour qu'elle fasse « partie intégrante de la culture organisationnelle et de la manière dont les gens vaquent à leurs occupations ». Tandis que les employés individuels prennent régulièrement des décisions au sujet du risque, le SGS se concentre sur la gestion du risque à l'échelle de l'organisation, tout en incluant et en soutenant les décideurs en première ligne. Un SGS est échelonnable et peut être conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'une entreprise donnée de manière à respecter la nature du secteur.

Avant qu'un règlement sur les SGS soit adopté, les associations peuvent jouer un important rôle auprès des exploitants, en rendant plus accessibles et abordables des produits et outils de promotion et d'éducation modernes sur la culture de sécurité et la gestion proactive de la sécurité qui accroîtront la sécurité dans leurs activités. Cela favorisera la création d'une culture d'exploitation sécuritaire que tous les intervenants appuient.

Beaucoup d'exploitants font partie d'associations, comme l'Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC), l'Association canadienne de l'hélicoptère (ACH), l'Association québécoise du transport aérien (AQTA), la Floatplane Operators Association (FOA) et la Northern Air Transport Association (NATA). De telles associations pourraient servir au partage de pratiques exemplaires, d'outils et de données sur la sécurité propres au secteur du taxi aérien. Elles pourraient également offrir de l'aide et de la formation pour mettre en œuvre une gestion de la sécurité axée sur la prévention qui englobe une culture de sécurité positive.

Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que

les associations du secteur (p. ex., ATAC, ACH, AQTA, FOA, NATA) prônent des processus de gestion proactive de la sécurité et une culture de sécurité auprès des exploitants de taxis aériens, pour corriger les lacunes de sécurité cernées dans cette enquête sur une question de sécurité, par la formation et par le partage de pratiques exemplaires, d'outils et de données sur la sécurité propres au secteur du taxi aérien.
Recommandation A19-03 du BST

Correction des failles dans le cadre réglementaire du secteur de taxi aérien

Les dangers et risques inhérents au secteur du taxi aérien perdurent depuis plusieurs années, et des données montrent clairement la persistance des dangers opérationnels de 1998 à 2015. La SII a démontré que la réglementation et les normes ne peuvent pas suffire à assurer la sécurité dans le secteur, mais qu'elles prévoient des moyens de contrôle qui y contribueront. Cela dit, le cadre réglementaire comporte des failles, notamment en ce qui a trait à la formation et à la qualification du personnel, à la modernisation des aéronefs plus âgés et à la fatigue chez les techniciens d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA).

Formation et qualification

Le RAC établit la formation que les exploitants sont tenus de donner. Dans les faits cependant, la formation peut varier énormément, comme l'ont indiqué plusieurs exploitants. Certains d'entre eux donnent seulement la formation prescrite par la réglementation, tandis que d'autres donnent de la formation additionnelle qui dépasse ces exigences, pour combler certains besoins ou mieux atténuer les risques dans leurs activités. Cependant, plusieurs exploitants ont mentionné que sans une réglementation et des normes actualisées contraignant tous les exploitants à respecter les mêmes règles, la situation n'est pas équitable.

Quoique la sous-partie 703 du RAC prévoie des exigences de formation obligatoires pour certaines activités à risque élevé spécialisées, comme les vols de nuit, aucune exigence de la sorte n'est imposée pour plusieurs autres activités spécialisées, comme les vols en montagne ou côtiers. De plus, aucun règlement ne couvre l'entraînement sur la ligne pour le secteur du taxi aérien. Les exigences de formation obligatoire pourraient ainsi ne pas couvrir les nombreux aspects uniques au secteur du taxi aérien. Sans formation spécialisée obligatoire pour les activités à risque élevé, les pilotes pourraient ne pas avoir les connaissances et compétences voulues pour assurer la sécurité des opérations aériennes.

En outre, les pilotes qui effectuent des vols d'évacuation aéromédicale gagneraient à suivre une formation spécialisée afin de mieux gérer les enjeux psychologiques et traumatiques de ce type d'opération.

La SII a également reconnu comme enjeu potentiel la qualification du personnel clé d'une compagnie de taxi aérien. Les enquêtes que le BST a menées durant la période de l'étude ont montré que les postes clés (p. ex., gestionnaire des opérations ou chef pilote) ne semblent pas recevoir suffisamment d'attention lorsque l'organisme de réglementation approuve l'embauche de titulaires. Il faut accorder plus d'attention aux compétences et qualités de ces titulaires, de même qu'aux exigences opérationnelles des postes clés chez un exploitant. Qui plus est, bien que les responsabilités de ces postes fassent l'objet d'exigences réglementaires, il n'y a aucune exigence de formation pour les personnes qui sont nommées.

Modernisation d'aéronefs plus âgés

La SII a aussi constaté la difficulté de moderniser les aéronefs plus âgés en installant, par exemple, un nouveau système avionique, car cela exigerait une modification à la définition de type d'origine de l'aéronef. Le processus d'approbation de TC exige la validation d'un certificat de type supplémentaire, ce qui peut être coûteux et astreignant; pour certains exploitants plus petits, les coûts peuvent être prohibitifs.

Fatigue chez les techniciens d'entretien d'aéronefs

Les consultations auprès de l'industrie ont révélé que les TEA éprouvent souvent de la fatigue lorsqu'ils sont au travail, surtout en région éloignée ou ailleurs qu'à leur base d'attache. Leurs journées de service sont parfois longues, et les heures de service quotidiennes des TEA ne sont assujetties à aucun règlement de TC. Certains exploitants ont indiqué que souvent, les journées de service des TEA n'étaient pas définies par les exploitants et que des règlements sur les journées de service des TEA sont nécessaires.

Correction des failles

Certains exploitants ont signalé des failles dans la réglementation et les normes en vigueur. Les pratiques qu'ils recommandent surpassent parfois les exigences réglementaires courantes ou comprennent des concepts non prévus par la réglementation en vigueur, par exemple :

  • réaliser tous les vols selon les règles de vol aux instruments;
  • affecter 2 pilotes à toutes les opérations;
  • établir leurs propres exigences minimales particulières sur l'expérience de vol des pilotes.

Toutefois, confrontés aux pressions concurrentes illustrées par le modèle des limites d'exploitation sûre, les exploitants pourraient choisir de simplement se conformer à la réglementation même si en déborder augmenterait la pression de sécurité (p. ex., ils peuvent limiter les dépenses en formation en ne donnant que celle prescrite par la réglementation, même quand une formation spécialisée sur le vol en région montagneuse ou sur les possibilités de survie pourrait atténuer les risques associés à l'exploitation). Le niveau de sécurité dans le secteur du taxi aérien demeurera inégal tant qu'il y aura des failles dans le cadre réglementaire, comme celles cernées par la SII.

Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que

le ministère des Transports examine les failles cernées dans la présente enquête sur une question de sécurité en ce qui concerne la sous-partie 703 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et les normes connexes, et actualise la réglementation et les normes pertinentes.
Recommandation A19-04 du BST

Collecter des données sur les activités particulières au secteur du taxi aérien

Le taux d'accidents d'aéronef, soit le nombre d'accidents selon les heures de vol ou selon le nombre de mouvements (décollages ou atterrissages), est l'un des principaux indicateurs de la sécurité aérienne. Une analyse des tendances des taux d'accidents de différents types d'exploitants permettrait de constater les problèmes de sécurité émergents chez certains types d'exploitants et dans certaines activités spécifiques. En outre, les données sur les taux d'accidents permettent de comparer les risques d'accident entre différents types d'exploitants et entre différents pays ou continents. Par exemple, aux États-Unis, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) compile les heures de vols réguliers et non réguliers et les départs effectués en vertu du règlement 14 du Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Les exploitants assujettis à la partie 135 du règlement 14 du CFR comprennent les transporteurs à la demande, qui sont semblables aux exploitants de taxis aériens au Canada. Le National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) se sert de ces données opérationnelles pour calculer les taux d'accidents et taux d'accidents mortels pour l'ensemble des secteurs d'activité.

Les données sur les activités (p. ex., les heures de vol) ventilées par type d'exploitant sont nécessaires pour calculer les taux d'accidents qui alimentent les analyses de tendances pour divers types d'exploitants ou les comparaisons entre les types d'exploitants ou les régions géographiques.

Jusqu'en 2010, TC fournissait les données d'activités ventilées par type d'exploitant, et le BST s'en servait pour calculer et publier les taux d'accidents des divers types d'exploitants. En 2010 toutefois, TC a informé le BST qu'il ne fournirait plus les données d'activités par heures de vol ventilées par type d'exploitant, car il avait des réserves quant à l'exactitude de ces données. Ces données étaient transmises à TC par les exploitants commerciaux, qui pouvaient déclarer toutes leurs heures en vertu de la plus restrictive des sous-parties du RAC, même s'ils menaient des activités assujetties à plus d'une sous-partie.

Déclarer toutes les heures pour chaque sous-partie en un seul total fusionne et confond les activités aériennes de navette et de transport aérien, de même que celles de nombreux exploitants aériens plus petits qui pourraient mener des opérations assujetties à plus d'une sous-partie du RAC (navette, taxi aérien ou travail aérien) et rapporter leurs activités sous un seul total. De plus, les données actuelles de Statistique Canada sur les mouvements proviennent d'un sondage qui couvre tous les mouvements d'aéronefs aux aéroports canadiens avec ou sans tour de contrôle de la circulation aérienne ou station d'information de vol de NAV CANADA. Des opérations de taxi aérien se déroulent à ces endroits, mais aussi ailleurs, comme des lacs, des zones d'atterrissage non aménagées ou des régions éloignées, où aucun fournisseur de services de la circulation aérienne ne consigne ces déplacements.

Comme le gouvernement ne classe pas les données qu'il recueille sur les heures de vol et les mouvements par sous-partie du RAC, les données des taux calculés s'appliquent au secteur de l'aviation commerciale dans son ensemble. Aucune distinction n'est faite entre les secteurs (p. ex., exploitant de taxi aérien et compagnie de transport aérien) ou entre les différents types d'aéronefs (avion, hélicoptère, hydravion). Par conséquent, il est impossible de calculer le taux d'accidents uniquement pour le secteur du taxi aérien.

Sans données sur les heures de vol et les mouvements qui soient classées en fonction des sous-parties du RAC et du type d'aéronef, il sera plus difficile pour les intervenants d'un secteur d'évaluer les risques et de déterminer l'efficacité réelle des stratégies d'atténuation mises en œuvre pour améliorer la sécurité.

Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que

le ministère des Transports exige que tous les exploitants commerciaux rassemblent et déclarent les données sur les heures de vol et les mouvements pour leurs aéronefs par sous-partie du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et par type d'aéronef, et que le ministère des Transports publie ces données.
Recommandation A19-05 du BST

Date de modification :