Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended December 31, 2017

ISSN 2369-7938

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada's (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the TSB's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2017-18 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

The TSB received $29,417,000 in funding through the Main Estimates. During the second quarter, the TSB received its operating budget carry forward (OBCF) from 2016-17 which represents an increase in authorities of $1,309,000. In the third quarter, the TSB received $1,121,000 in compensation adjustments from Treasury Board Secretariat, as well as one-time salary funding of $1,538,000 (excluding amounts for Employee Benefit Plans) for the current year through a Treasury Board Submission as a result of the TSB's A-base review. Furthermore, the TSB has additional statutory authorities totaling $42,000 at the end of the third quarter generated by proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets and its authority to respend revenues as a departmental corporation.

The TSB's total authorities available for use increased by $2,820,000 between fiscal years 2016-17 and 2017-18 mainly due to increases to the 2017-18 authorities above as well as a higher OBCF of $122,000 compared to the previous year.

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The department's year-to-date spending is higher by $1,147,000 or 5% in the current year compared to 2016-17. This significant difference can be directly attributed to increased salary expenditures for retroactive payments, which were paid out to the majority of the TSB's employees during the second and third quarters of 2017-18. These retroactive payments were for previous years' economic increases resulting from recently signed and ratified collective agreements. In addition, current year annual salaries have also been increased to reflect these economic increases, further contributing to the higher spending in this category. It should be noted that the TSB did anticipate these additional costs and took action to mitigate the risk, resulting in lower expenditures in the majority of other spending categories.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 69% of its authorities at the end of the third quarter. This is inline with previous year expenditures at third quarter and is reasonable as the majority of retroactive payments have been settled by the end of the third quarter and the TSB's biggest expense is salaries which are generally distributed equally throughout the year.

Figure 1. Third quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities
Graph of third quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities
Table - Third quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities
  Authorities Expenditures
2016-17 30,914,000.00 21,939,000.00
2017-18 33,734,000.00 23,086,000.00

Risks and uncertainties

The TSB is experiencing a number of resource pressures in 2017-18, most notably the retroactive payouts for newly signed and ratified collective agreements, the majority of which the TSB is expected to cover using its existing appropriations. Although mitigating actions were taken including generating a carry forward from the previous year and reducing current year expenditures in other categories, the settlements were ultimately higher than expected. The TSB performed an A-base review of its operating requirements in early 2017 and upon presentation of a Treasury Board Submission, was successful in obtaining one-time salary funding for the current year shortfall through Supplementary Estimates B. By the end of the third quarter, most retroactive payouts were settled, although due to continuing issues with the government pay system, amounts are being continuously reviewed and adjusted. The TSB is working diligently with the compensation offices to review and resolve any pay issues in a timely manner.

A continuous risk to the TSB's financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in additional resource pressures that could require the department to seek further funding from Parliament.

As a departmental corporation, the TSB has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department's funding requirements.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs in the current year.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2018-03-07
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2018-03-06
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available
for use for the
year ending March 31, 2018
Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 30,170 7,024 20,672
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,522 804 2,411
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 27 3 3
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 15 - -
Total authorities available for use 33,734 7,831 23,086
Fiscal year 2016-17 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available
for use for the
year ending March 31, 2017
Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 27,357 6,589 19,282
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,521 880 2,641
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 13 1 2
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 23 14 14
Total authorities available for use 30,914 7,484 21,939

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures Planned expenditures
for the year ending
March 31, 2018
Expended during the
quarter ended December 31, 2017
Year to date used at
at quarter-end
Personnel 27,689 6,787 20,393
Transportation and communications 1,630 336 896
Information 148 35 101
Professional and special services 2,519 321 890
Rentals 453 57 236
Repair and maintenance 413 130 232
Utilities, materials and supplies 309 121 215
Acquisition of land, building and works 63 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 510 44 123
Total net budgetary expenditures 33,734 7,831 23,086
Fiscal year 2016-17 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures Planned expenditures
for the year ending
March 31, 2017
Expended during the
quarter ended December 31, 2016
Year to date used at
at quarter-end
Personnel 25,188 6,083 18,434
Transportation and communications 1,521 488 1,056
Information 138 29 99
Professional and special services 2,269 445 1,133
Rentals 394 81 254
Repair and maintenance 412 103 235
Utilities, materials and supplies 230 37 158
Acquisition of land, building and works 120 - 4
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 642 218 566
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,914 7,484 21,939
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2017

ISSN 2369-7946

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s'acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2017-2018 ainsi que toutes les recettes gagnées et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a reçu un financement de 29  417  000 $ par l'intermédiaire du Budget principal des dépenses. Au cours du deuxième trimestre, le BST a reçu son report du budget de fonctionnement (RBF) de 2016-2017, ce qui représente une augmentation de 1  309  000 $ des autorisations. Au cours du troisième trimestre, le BST a reçu du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) des montants de 1  121  000 $ et de 1  538  000 $ au titre des rajustements de la rémunération (excluant les montants relatifs aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés) pour l'année en cours, par l'entremise d'une présentation au Conseil du Trésor découlant de la révision des services votés du BST. De plus, le BST dispose d'autres autorisations législatives totalisant 42  000 $ à la fin du troisième trimestre, provenant du produit de la cession des biens de surplus de la Couronne et de son pouvoir de réaffectation des revenus en tant que société ministérielle.

Les autorisations totales dont dispose le BST ont augmenté de 2  820  000 $ entre les exercices 2016-2017 et 2017-2018, principalement en raison des augmentations des autorisations de 2017-2018, susmentionnées, ainsi que d'un RBF plus élevé de 122  000 $ par rapport à l'année précédente.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses cumulatives du Ministère sont en hausse de 1   147   000  $ ou de 5  % pour l'exercice en cours par rapport à 2016-2017. Cette différence significative peut être directement attribuée à l'augmentation des dépenses salariales pour les paiements rétroactifs, qui ont été versés à la majorité des employés du BST au cours des deuxième et troisième trimestres de 2017-2018. Ces paiements rétroactifs correspondaient aux augmentations économiques des années précédentes découlant des conventions collectives récemment signées et ratifiées. En outre, les salaires annuels de l'année en cours ont également été augmentés pour tenir compte de ces augmentations économiques, contribuant ainsi davantage aux dépenses supérieures dans cette catégorie. Il convient de noter que le BST a anticipé ces coûts supplémentaires et a pris des mesures pour atténuer le risque, ce qui a entraîné une baisse des dépenses dans la plupart des autres catégories de dépenses.

Comme l'illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 69  % de ses autorisations à la fin du troisième trimestre. Cela est conforme aux dépenses de l'exercice précédent au troisième trimestre et est raisonnable étant donné que la majorité des paiements rétroactifs ont été réglés à la fin du troisième trimestre et que les dépenses les plus importantes du BST sont les dépenses salariales qui sont généralement réparties uniformément tout au long de l'année.

Figure 1. Dépenses du troisième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles
Graphe des dépenses du troisième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles
Tableau - Dépenses du troisième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles
  Autorisations Dépenses
2016-17 30 914 000,00 21 939 000,00
2017-18 33 734 000,00 23 086 000,00

Risques et incertitudes

Le BST est confronté à de nombreuses pressions financières en 2017-2018, notamment les paiements rétroactifs pour les conventions collectives nouvellement signées et ratifiées, dont la majorité devrait être couverte par le BST au moyen de ses crédits existants. Bien que des mesures d'atténuation aient été prises, y compris un report de l'année précédente et une réduction des dépenses de l'exercice en cours dans d'autres catégories, les règlements ont finalement été plus élevés que prévu. Au début de 2017, le BST a effectué une révision des services votés de ses besoins opérationnels, après avoir présenté une présentation au Conseil du Trésor, a réussi à obtenir un financement salarial ponctuel pour le déficit de l'année en cours grâce au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses B. À la fin du troisième trimestre, la plupart des paiements rétroactifs étaient réglés, mais en raison de problèmes persistants liés au système de rémunération du gouvernement, les montants sont continuellement revus et ajustés. Le BST travaille avec diligence avec les bureaux de la rémunération pour examiner et résoudre les problèmes de rémunération en temps opportun.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

En tant qu'établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'exercice écoulé.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2018-03-07
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
Le dirigeant principal des finances,
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2018-03-06
Date
Gatineau, Canada


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 30 170 7 024 20 672
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 522 804 2 411
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 27 3 3
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 15 - -
Autorisations totales  pour utilisation 33 734 7 831 23 086
Exercice 2016-2017 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 27 357 6 589 19 282
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 521 880 2 641
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 13 1 2
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 23 14 14
Autorisations totales  pour utilisation 30 914 7 484 21 939

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 27 689 6 787 20 393
Transports et communications 1 630 336 896
Information 148 35 101
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 519 321 890
Location 453 57 236
Services de réparation et d'entretien 413 130 232
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 309 121 215
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 63 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 510 44 123
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 33 734 7 831 23 086
Exercice 2016-2017 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 25 188 6 083 18 434
Transports et communications 1 521 488 1 056
Information 138 29 99
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 269 445 1 133
Location 394 81 254
Services de réparation et d'entretien 412 103 235
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 230 37 158
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 120 - 4
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 642 218 566
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 914 7 484 21 939
Date de modification :