Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended September 30, 2018

ISSN 2369-7938

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main and Supplementary Estimates.

The Transportation Safety Board’s (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Transportation Safety Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main and Supplementary Estimates for the 2018-19 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

The TSB received $30,188,952 in funding through the Main Estimates. During the second quarter, the TSB received its operating budget carry forward (OBCF) from 2017-18 which represents an increase in authorities of $361,203. The TSB has additional statutory authorities totaling $30,000 at the end of the second quarter generated by proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets and its authority to respend revenues as a departmental corporation.

The TSB’s total authorities available for use decreased by $164,000 between fiscal years 2017-18 and 2018-19. This is explained mainly by a lower OBCF of $947,797 compared to previous year, offset by $760,000 of additional funding provided by the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) for collective agreements in 2018-19, as well as fluctuations in the Employee Benefit Plan (EBP) percentage, which is a rate set annually by TBS.

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The department’s year-to-date spending is lower by $1,420,000 or 10% in the current year compared to 2017-18. This significant difference is due to higher salary expenditures in previous year due to the department’s obligation to pay retroactive salaries to its employees, as a result of signed and ratified collective agreements. These payments constituted liabilities for the department, which were promptly liquidated last fiscal year. Thus far in 2018-19, such payments are minimal.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 45% of its authorities at the end of the second quarter. This percentage is slightly lower than expected at mid-year mainly due to timing delays in the procurement process for some capital equipment.

Figure 1. Second quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities
Graph of second quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities

Risks and uncertainties

After a thorough A-base review conducted last fiscal year, it was evident that the TSB did not have enough funding to support its annual ongoing operations, causing the TSB’s program integrity to be at risk. In order to address this serious issue, the TSB worked with the Treasury Board Secretariat to request ongoing funding to resolve the funding shortfall. This request was presented and approved by Treasury Board at the end of the second quarter, with funding anticipated to be released during the third quarter.

A continuous risk to the TSB’s financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in additional resource pressures that could require the department to seek further funding from Parliament.

As a departmental corporation, the TSB has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department’s funding requirements.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs in the current year.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2018-12-17
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2018-11-28
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2019 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 27,323 6,079 12,215
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,227 807 1,614
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 26 2 2
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 4 4 4
Total authorities 30,580 6,892 13,835
Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 27,511 7,685 13,648
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,214 803 1,607
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 11 - -
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 8 - -
Total authorities available for use 30,744 8,488 15,255

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures: Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 24,462 5,990 12,143
Transportation and communications 1,770 292 609
Information 177 36 84
Professional and special services 1,985 194 450
Rentals 422 40 120
Repair and maintenance 421 120 132
Utilities, materials and supplies 219 92 125
Acquisition of land, building and works 4 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,116 124 168
Other subsidies and payments 4 4 4
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,580 6,892 13,835
Fiscal year 2017-18 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures: Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 24,999 7,539 13,606
Transportation and communications 1,630 326 560
Information 148 21 66
Professional and special services 2,519 374 569
Rentals 453 50 179
Repair and maintenance 413 96 102
Utilities, materials and supplies 209 29 94
Acquisition of land, building and works 63 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 310 53 79
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,744 8,488 15,255
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2018

ISSN 2369-7946

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses.

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s’acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2018-2019 ainsi que toutes les recettes gagnées et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Le BST a reçu un financement du Budget principal des dépenses au montant 30 188 952 $. Au cours du deuxième trimestre, le BST a reçu le report du budget de fonctionnement (RBF) provenant de l’exercice financier 2017-2018, ce qui représente une augmentation des autorisations de 361 203 $. En outre, le BST a des autorisations législatives totalisant 30 000 $ à la fin du deuxième trimestre, générées par le produit de l’aliénation de biens excédentaires de l’État et l’autorisation de dépenser les recettes en tant qu'établissement public.

Le financement total accordé au BST a diminué de 164 000 $ entre les exercices financiers 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. Cette baisse s’explique principalement par une diminution dans le RBF de 947 797 $ comparativement à l'année précédente, contrebalancée par un financement supplémentaire de 760 000 dollars fourni par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) pour les conventions collectives en 2018-2019, ainsi que par les fluctuations dans le taux du régime d’avantages sociaux des employés, lequel est fixé annuellement par le SCT.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses cumulatives du ministère sont inférieures de 1 420 000 $ ou de 10 % au cours de l’exercice courant par rapport à celles de 2017-2018. Cette différence significative est attribuée à l'augmentation des dépenses salariales pour les paiements rétroactifs. Ces paiements rétroactifs correspondaient aux augmentations de salaires des employés pour les années précédentes attribuables aux conventions collectives signées et ratifiées. Ces paiements constituaient des dettes pour le ministère, qui ont été rapidement liquidées au cours du dernier exercice. Jusqu'ici en 2018-2019, ces paiements sont minimes.

Comme l’illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 45 % de ses autorisations à la fin du deuxième trimestre. Bien que les dépenses du BST soient généralement réparties de manière égale tout au long de l'année, ce pourcentage est légèrement supérieur à celui des exercices précédents à la fin du deuxième trimestre.

Figure 1. Dépenses du deuxième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles
Graphe des dépenses du deuxième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles

Risques et incertitudes

Après la révision complète des services votés menée lors du dernier exercice, il est apparu évident que le BST ne disposait pas des fonds suffisants pour soutenir ses activités annuelles continues, ce qui compromettait l’intégrité du programme du BST. Afin de résoudre cet important problème, le BST a collaboré avec le SCT pour demander un financement continu, afin de pallier ce manque de fonds. Cette demande a été présentée au Conseil du Trésor et approuvée par ce dernier à la fin du deuxième trimestre, et le financement devrait être versé au cours du troisième trimestre.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

En tant qu'établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'exercice écoulé.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2018-12-17
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
Le dirigeant principal des finances,
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2018-11-28
Date
Gatineau, Canada


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2016-2017 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 27 323 6 079 12 215
Autorisations législatives – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 227 807 1 614
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens meubles en surplus de la Couronne 26 2 2
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 4 4 4
Autorisations totales 30 580 6 892 13 835
Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 27 511 7 685 13 648
Autorisations législatives – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 214 803 1 607
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens meubles en surplus de la Couronne 11 - -
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 8 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 30 744 8 488 15 255

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2018-2019 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses: Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 24 462 5 990 12 143
Transports et communications 1 770 292 609
Information 177 36 84
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 985 194 450
Location 422 40 120
Services de réparation et d'entretien 421 120 132
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 219 92 125
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 4 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 116 124 168
Autres subventions et paiements 4 4 4
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 580 6 892 13 835
Exercice 2017-2018 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses: Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 24 999 7 539 13 606
Transports et communications 1 630 326 560
Information 148 21 66
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 519 374 569
Location 453 50 179
Services de réparation et d'entretien 413 96 102
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 209 29 94
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 63 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 310 53 79
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 744 8 488 15 255
Date de modification :