Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended June 30, 2019

ISSN 2369-7938

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada’s (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the TSB’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main Estimates for the 2019-20 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

The TSB’s total authorities available for use increased by $3,072,000 between fiscal years 2019-20 and 2018-19. The majority of this difference is due to an increase in permanent funding of $2,978,000 allocated to the TSB in the third quarter of 2018-19. This amount was obtained through a Treasury Board Submission in response to the TSB’s program integrity funding pressures. The remaining increase is attributed to compensation adjustments for signed collective agreements, which is offset by adjustments to the Employee Benefit Plan (EBP) percentage. This EBP percentage fluctuates from year to year and is a rate set annually by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The department’s quarterly and year-to-date spending are higher by $471,000 or 7% in the current year compared to 2018-19. This difference is significant for the TSB, and represents the department addressing the many funding pressures that had been accruing over the years, namely its inability to support a full staff due to salary shortages, as well as its ageing laboratory and IT equipment. Through the first quarter of 2019-20, the TSB has staffed a number of vacant positions for which staffing had been delayed in previous years, as well as replaced and upgraded some of its laboratory and IT equipment. This explains the relative increases in the expenditure categories of personnel and acquisition of machinery and equipment when compared to 2018-19.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 22% of its authorities at the end of the first quarter. This is slightly lower than expected due to delays with a number of procurements with Public Services Procurement Canada. The TSB expects to have this resolved in the second and third quarters of 2019-20.

Figure 1. First quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities
Graph of first quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities

Risks and uncertainties

Outstanding liabilities for the TSB include mandatory compensatory and vacation leave payouts that were deferred in past years as well as retroactive payments and salary increases for one remaining collective agreement that has yet to be signed. Due to the nature of these future costs, it is difficult to know the exact amounts to be paid, however, the TSB is risk managing this uncertainty by carefully calculating estimates and incorporating these amounts as part of its monthly forecasting and budget review. Furthermore, the TSB has unused funds from 2018-19, which it plans to carry forward and use to alleviate this funding pressure when it materializes.

A continuous risk to the TSB’s financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in additional resource pressures that could require the department to seek further funding from Parliament.

As a departmental corporation, the TSB has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department’s funding requirements.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs in the current year.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2019-09-04
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2019-09-04
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2019-20 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2020 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2019 Year to date used at quarter-end
Main Estimates: Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 29,583 6,501 6,501
Main Estimates: Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,650 912 912
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 50 1 1
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 2 - -
Total authorities available for use 33,285 7,414 7,414
Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2019 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Main Estimates: Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 26,962 6,136 6,136
Main Estimates: Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,227 807 807
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 23 - -
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 1 - -
Total authorities available for use 30,213 6,943 6,943

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2019-20 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2020 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2019 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 27,555 6,519 6,519
Transportation and communications 1,748 357 357
Information 194 19 19
Professional and special services 1,844 238 238
Rentals 451 101 101
Repair and maintenance 440 5 5
Utilities, materials and supplies 229 78 78
Acquisition of land, building and works 39 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 785 97 97
Total net budgetary expenditures 33,285 7,414 7,414
Fiscal year 2018-19 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 24,460 6,153 6,153
Transportation and communications 1,770 317 317
Information 177 48 48
Professional and special services 1,985 256 256
Rentals 422 80 80
Repair and maintenance 421 12 12
Utilities, materials and supplies 219 33 33
Acquisition of land, building and works 4 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 755 44 44
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,213 6,943 6,943
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2019

ISSN 2369-7946

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s’acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2019-2020 ainsi que toutes les recettes gagnées et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Les autorisations totales du BST pouvant être utilisées ont augmenté de 3 072 000 $ entre les exercices 2019-2020 et 2018-2019. Cet écart est en grande partie attribuable à une augmentation de 2 978 000 $ du financement permanent octroyé au BST au cours du troisième trimestre de 2018-2019. Ces fonds supplémentaires ont été obtenus grâce à une présentation au Conseil du Trésor qui visait à atténuer les contraintes de financement liées à l’intégrité des programmes du BST. Le reste de l’augmentation est attribuable au rajustement de la rémunération associée au renouvellement des conventions collectives; ces rajustements de la rémunération ont été compensés par des rajustements au taux prévu pour le régime d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE). Ce taux fluctue d’une année à l’autre et est fixé annuellement par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses trimestrielles et cumulatives du ministère sont plus élevées de 471 000 $ ou 7 % pour l’exercice en cours qu’en 2018-2019. Cette différence est importante pour le BST, qui doit composer avec les nombreuses pressions financières qui se sont accumulées au fil des ans, notamment l’incapacité du ministère d’appuyer un effectif complet en raison de contraintes salariales, ainsi que le vieillissement de son équipement de laboratoire et de TI. Au cours du premier trimestre de 2019-2020, le BST a pourvu un certain nombre de postes vacants pour lesquels la dotation avait été retardée au cours des années antérieures. L’organisation a aussi remplacé et mis à niveau certains de ses équipements de laboratoire et de TI. Cela explique l’augmentation relative des dépenses liées au personnel et à l’acquisition de matériel et d’outillage par rapport à 2018-2019.

Comme l’illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 22 % de ses autorisations à la fin du premier trimestre. Ce chiffre est légèrement inférieur aux prévisions en raison de retards dans un certain nombre de marchés passés avec Approvisionnements et Services Canada. Le BST s’attend à ce que cette question soit réglée au cours des deuxième et troisième trimestres de 2019-2020.

Figure 1. Dépenses du premier trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles
Graphe des dépenses du premier trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles

Risques et incertitudes

Les obligations non réglées du BST comprennent le paiement obligatoire des congés compensatoires et annuels qui ont été reportés au cours des années antérieures ainsi que les paiements rétroactifs et les augmentations salariales pour une convention collective qui n’a pas encore été signée. En raison de la nature de ces coûts futurs, il est difficile de connaître les montants exacts à payer; toutefois, le BST tentera de gérer cette incertitude en établissant des estimations réalistes et en intégrant ces montants dans ses prévisions mensuelles et son examen budgétaire. De plus, le BST dispose de fonds inutilisés de 2018-2019, qu’il compte reporter et utiliser pour alléger cette pression financière lorsqu’elle se matérialisera.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

En tant qu’établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de l'exercice écoulé.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2019-09-04
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
Le dirigeant principal des finances
Luc Casault, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2019-09-04
Date
Gatineau, Canada

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2019-2020 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2019 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 29 583 6 501 6 501
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 650 912 912
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation de biens excédentaires de l'État 50 1 1
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 2 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 33 285 7 414 7 414
Exercice 2018-2019 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 26 962 6 136 6 136
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 227 807 807
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation de biens excédentaires de l'État 23 - -
Autorisations législatives – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 1 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 30 213 6 943 6 943

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2019-2020 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2019 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:      
Personnel 27 555 6 519 6 519
Transports et communications 1 748 357 357
Information 194 19 19
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 844 238 238
Location 451 101 101
Services de réparation et d'entretien 440 5 5
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 229 78 78
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 39 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 785 97 97
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 33 285 7 414 7 414
Exercice 2018-2019 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:      
Personnel 24 460 6 153 6 153
Transports et communications 1 770 317 317
Information 177 48 48
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 985 256 256
Location 422 80 80
Services de réparation et d'entretien 421 12 12
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 219 33 33
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 4 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 755 44 44
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 213 6 943 6 943
Date de modification :