Rail transportation

Rail transportation occurrences in 2018

Overall, 1172 railway accidents were reported to the TSB in 2018, a 7% increase over 2017 and a 13% increase from the 5-year average of 1035. Most of the increase relates to non-main-track derailments of 5 or fewer cars.

There were 57 rail-related fatalities reported in 2018, well below the 5-year average of 74, 34 of which involved trespassers. The number of crossing-accident fatalities was the same as in 2017 (19) and similar to the 5-year average (21), but the number of serious injuries due to crossing accidents nearly doubled (42) compared to 2017 (22) and to the 5-year average (24).

Among all railway accidents reported to the TSB in 2018, 125 involved dangerous goods. This number was up from 115 in 2017, but down slightly from the 5-year average of 126. Six accidents in 2018 resulted in a dangerous goods release.

Of all the railway networks in the world, Canada's is the third largest and transports the fourth largest volume of goods. Every year, Canadian railways move 70% of the country's surface goods (including 40% of its exports) and carry 70 million people, meeting motorists and pedestrians at thousands of public and private crossings.

Investigations in the rail mode touch on a wide variety of subjects, such as operational decision making, risk management, component failure, supervision, metallurgy and track train dynamics.

Date modified:

Transport ferroviaire

Événements de transport ferroviaire en 2018

Dans l’ensemble, 1172 accidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST en 2018, une hausse de 7 % par rapport à 2017 et de 13 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (1035). Cette augmentation s’explique principalement par des déraillements de 5 wagons ou moins en voie non principale.

En 2018, on a déploré 57 décès dus à des accidents ferroviaires, ce qui largement inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 74. De ces décès, 34 étaient liés à des intrusions. Le nombre de décès survenus à des passages à niveau en 2018 est similaire au chiffre de 2017 (19) et à la moyenne quinquennale (21), mais le nombre de blessures graves dues à des accidents aux passages à niveau a presque doublé en 2018 (42) comparativement à 2017 (22) et à la moyenne quinquennale (24).

De tous les accidents ferroviaires qui ont été signalés au BST en 2018, 125 étaient associés à des marchandises dangereuses. Ce nombre était en hausse par rapport à 115 en 2017, mais légèrement inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 126. De tous les accidents en 2018, 6 ont entraîné le rejet de marchandises dangereuses.

De tous les réseaux ferroviaires du monde, celui du Canada est le troisième en importance, et il se place au quatrième rang mondial en fait de volume de marchandises transporté. Chaque année, les chemins de fer canadiens transportent 70 % des marchandises qui sont déplacées au sol (y compris 40 % des exportations) et font voyager 70 millions de personnes, croisant au passage les automobilistes et les piétons à des milliers de passages à niveau publics et privés.

Date de modification :