Air transportation safety investigation report A19O0026

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Collision with terrain
Robinson Helicopter Company R66 (helicopter), C-GAUA
Timmins (Victor M. Power) Airport, Ontario, 18 nm WNW

View document in PDF

History of the flight

On 04 March 2019, the privately registered Robinson Helicopter Company R66 helicopter (registration C-GAUA, serial number 0142) departed Sudbury Airport (CYSB), Ontario, at 1842Footnote 1 on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight to a private helipad near Fauquier-Strickland, Ontario, with the pilot and 1 passenger on board. The helicopter collided with terrain at 2006, 36 nautical miles (nm) south-southeast of its destination (Figure 1).

On the day of the occurrence, the pilot had flown approximately 8 hours (air time) before the collision with terrain. The occurrence flight was the 4th flight of the day. The previous 3 flights were as follows:

  • The 1st flight departed John C Tune Airport (KJWN), in Nashville, Tennessee, United States, at 0924, and landed at Springfield-Beckley Municipal Airport (KSGH), Ohio, United States, at 1156. The helicopter was then powered down for 40 minutes before the next departure.
  • The 2nd flight departed KSGH at 1243 and landed at London Airport (CYXU), Ontario at 1448. The helicopter was then powered down for 1 hour and 14 minutes before the next departure.
  • The 3rd flight departed CYXU at 1611 and landed at CYSB at 1821. The helicopter was then powered down for only 15 minutes before departing on the occurrence flight, at 1842.
Figure 1. Route of the occurrence flight, showing the intended destination and the occurrence site (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
 Route of the occurrence flight, showing the intended destination    and the occurrence site (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

Because evening civil twilight had ended at 1844, most of the occurrence flight was conducted under night VFR.

Although the aircraft was equipped with a transponder, it was not recorded on radar after leaving the Sudbury area.

Search efforts

On the morning of 06 March 2019, the police were notified of the overdue aircraft. A large-scale aerial search was initiated by the Joint Rescue Coordination Centre Trenton. Ground search efforts were organized by family and friends of the missing pilot and passenger.

In the afternoon of 11 March 2019, the wreckage was spotted from the air, approximately 18 nm west-northwest of Timmins (Victor M. Power) Airport (CYTS), Ontario, in a previously logged area of forest with deep snow coverage. Both occupants had been fatally injured. The helicopter was destroyed. There was no post-impact fire, and the emergency locator transmitter (ELT) did not activate.

Weather information

The investigation was unable to determine if or when the pilot reviewed weather information before the flight.

Graphical area forecast (GFA)Footnote 2 charts for the time period in which the occurrence flight took place forecasted broken ceilings at 4000 feet above sea level and localizedFootnote 3 reduced visibilities as low as 1½ statute miles (sm) in the destination area, which was approximately 20 nm east-southeast of Kapuskasing Airport (CYYU), Ontario.

The aerodrome forecasts (TAFs)Footnote 4 from CYYU and CYTS for the time of the occurrence flight were nearly identical, indicating light winds from the southwest, visibilities greater than 6 sm, and broken cloud at 4000 to 5000 feet above ground level (AGL). Between 1200 and 0300, a temporary condition (TEMPO)Footnote 5 of 5 sm visibility due to light snow showers with broken ceilings at 2000 feet AGL was forecast.

The weather radar from the weather radar site at Smooth Rock Falls, Ontario (located 30 nm east-southeast of CYYU), did not depict any significant snowfall for the duration of the occurrence flight.

An aviation routine weather report (METAR)Footnote 6 issued for CYTS at 2000 (6 minutes before the occurrence) reported visibility of 15 sm, with light snow showers and overcast cloud at 4000 feet AGL. The temperature was −16 °C. Previous METAR observations from CYTS indicated the presence of light snow showers beginning at 1453 on the day of the occurrence, with visibility as low as 1 sm (reported at 1746), nearly 1 hour before the occurrence flight departed from CYSB. A METAR observation for CYYU, located 53 nm north-northwest of the occurrence site, reported visibility as 2 sm, with light snow and overcast ceiling at 2000 feet AGL at the time of the occurrence, and had been reporting light snow as early as 1835.

Pilot information

The pilot held a Canadian private pilot licence – helicopter, a night rating, and a valid Category 1 medical certificate; he did not hold an instrument rating. The pilot had accumulated approximately 925 hours total flight time in helicopters, of which approximately 585 hours were flown in the occurrence helicopter. According to his personal log, in the 365 days before the date of the accident, the pilot had flown 157.5 hours, with 4.3 of those hours being flown at night. In that same time period, he had not conducted any night takeoffs, but had conducted 5 night landings, all of which took place more than 6 months before the occurrence flight.

To fly with passengers at night, a pilot is required to have completed 5 night takeoffs and 5 night landings in the previous 6 months.Footnote 7 The pilot had not conducted any night takeoffs or night landings in the 6 months before the occurrence flight and therefore did not meet the currency requirements to fly at night with a passenger on board.

Aircraft information

The Robinson Helicopter Company R66 is a 5-seat helicopter with a maximum gross weight of 1225 kg (2700 pounds). The pilot purchased the occurrence helicopter in January 2016. It was equipped with basic flight instruments—including an attitude indicator with inclinometer, heading indicator, altimeter, airspeed indicator, and turn coordinator—as well as engine instrumentation and an annunciator panel above the instrument cluster that displayed warning lights for various abnormal conditions. The helicopter was not certified to fly under instrument flight rules (IFR) and was not equipped with an autopilot. A portable GPS (global positioning system) device was mounted beside the instrument cluster and found at the accident site.

There were no pre-impact mechanical failures or system malfunctions identified that would have contributed to this accident.

The investigation determined that the engine was developing power and the rotor RPM was in the normal operating range at the time of the collision with terrain.

Accident site and aircraft wreckage information

The collision with terrain occurred in an area that had been previously logged. The area had some sporadic regrowth, and the trees in the immediate vicinity of the accident site were approximately 6 m (20 feet) tall. The accident site was covered in at least 1.5 m (5 feet) of snow; a significant amount of snow had fallen during the week between the accident and the discovery of the wreckage.

There was tree damage at the top of a coniferous tree located approximately 10 m (33 feet) west-northwest of the impact site (Figure 2). The tree damage and the damage to the helicopter indicated that the aircraft was in a steep nose-down, left-bank attitude when it struck the ground, on an approximate heading of 120° magnetic.

Figure 2. Accident site, with the aircraft wreckage circled and an arrow showing the direction of impact (Source: TSB)
 Accident site, with the aircraft wreckage circled and an arrow    showing the direction of impact (Source: TSB)

The helicopter then pitched over and came to rest on its back. The tail boom had snapped at approximately the midpoint, and there was minor damage to the tail rotor. The main rotor blades were mostly buried in the snow, but showed significant damage when uncovered. All portions of the main rotor blades were still attached to the mast, which was partially separated from the helicopter. The gearbox and the engine (Rolls Royce RR-300) had broken free of their mounts. There was a strong odour of jet fuel at the site.

The flight instruments were examined to determine their readings at the time of impact; however, the only useful information obtained was from the airspeed indicator, which showed a reading of 107 knots at impact.

The occupants were ejected from the helicopter during the impact. There is no evidence that either occupant had been wearing a seatbelt at the time of the occurrence; however, given the damage to the helicopter, the accident was not survivable.

Emergency locator transmitter

During the impact sequence, the plastic mounting bracket for the 406 MHz ELT broke; however, the antenna and the remote switch wiring were still intact. The ELT was found in the OFF position; therefore, it did not activate during the crash or transmit a signal to the search-and-rescue satellite system. The pilot had removed the ELT in January 2019 for recertification and had picked it up from the avionics shop after the recertification was complete. The investigation could not determine who had re-installed the ELT. Because of the orientation of the ELT mounting bracket, the position of the switch cannot be seen once the ELT is installed in the helicopter.

Flight plan or flight itinerary

The Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) state that the pilot of a VFR flight must file either a flight plan or flight itinerary for any flight that is conducted more than 25 nm from the departure airport.Footnote 8

A flight plan must include specific information about the aircraft and the flight, including the estimated time of departure, estimated time of arrival, and route of flight.Footnote 9 The flight plan must be filed with an air traffic control unit, a flight service station, or a community aerodrome radio stationFootnote 10 and will be opened automatically at the estimated time of departure. If the flight plan is not closed by the pilot, an air traffic control unit, a flight service station, or a community aerodrome radio station within 1 hour of the estimated time of arrival, a search for the missing aircraft will be initiated.Footnote 11

A flight itinerary contains the same information as a flight plan and must be left with the same agencies as with a flight plan, or with a responsible person chosen by the pilot.Footnote 12 The responsible person has to receive and acknowledge receipt of the itinerary, and is responsible for informing the proper authorities if the aircraft is overdue.

The pilot did not file a flight plan or flight itinerary for the occurrence flight. As a result, the occurrence helicopter was not reported overdue until the morning of 06 March 2019, over 36 hours after the occurrence.

Night visual flight rules

The occurrence flight took place at night over remote areas with almost no ambient or cultural sources of light from the ground. Illumination from the moon was negligibleFootnote 13 and the nearest major light source was the city of Timmins, which is 18 nm east-southeast of the accident site.

The Robinson R66 Pilot's Operating Handbook states the following regarding night VFR and what happens when outside visual reference is lost:

[the pilot] loses […] his ability to control the attitude of the helicopter. As helicopters are not inherently stable and have very high roll rates, the aircraft will quickly go out of control, resulting in a high velocity crash which is usually fatal.

Be sure you NEVER fly at night unless you have clear weather with unlimited or very high ceilings and plenty of celestial or ground lights for reference.Footnote 14

The principle behind VFR flight is that the pilot uses visual cues outside the aircraft (e.g., the horizon or ground references) to determine the attitude of the aircraft (position of the aircraft along the 3 principal axes of an aircraft—pitch, roll, and yaw—relative to the earth's horizon). Therefore, some basic requirements must be met when conducting VFR flight, whether it is during the day or at night.

Night flying over featureless terrain, such as bodies of water or remote wooded terrain, is particularly difficult. These conditions are commonly described in the aviation community as a black hole, which refers to not having visual reference to the ground due to the absence of lighting. Under these conditions, it can be difficult or impossible for a pilot to discern a horizon visually, potentially leading to spatial disorientation and loss of control.

According to CARs sections 602.114 and 602.115, an aircraft on a VFR flight must be “operated with visual reference to the surface,”Footnote 15,Footnote 16 regardless of whether it is operated in controlled or uncontrolled airspace. The CARs define surface as “any ground or water, including the frozen surface thereof.”Footnote 17 However, the CARs do not define “visual reference to the surface,” which has been widely interpreted by the industry to mean visual meteorological conditions.

Therefore, a flight conducted over an area away from cultural lighting and where there is inadequate ambient illumination to clearly discern a horizon would not likely meet the requirements for operation under VFR (i.e., to continue flight solely by reference to the surface). Instead, such flights would require pilots to rely on their flight instruments to ensure safe operation of the aircraft.

A TSB investigation reportFootnote 18 on a helicopter that crashed while departing under VFR at night from a remote airport with limited lighting raised the issue of a lack of clarity in the definition of what flight “with visual reference to the surface” means in practice. The Board recommended that

the Department of Transport amend the regulations to clearly define the visual references (including lighting considerations and/or alternate means) required to reduce the risks associated with night visual flight rules flight.
TSB Recommendation A16-08

At March 2019, Transport Canada (TC) had taken actions to address the safety deficiency identified in this recommendation, regarding a clear definition of the visual references required to reduce the risks associated with night VFR flight. More specifically, it carried out a pilot project to evaluate and develop appropriate conditions for the use of Night Vision Imaging Systems for night VFR operations, and drafted a proposed Special Authorization (SA) and associated Advisory Circular (AC), which expand on current definitions and introduce new definitions regarding VFR.

TC has also indicated that regulatory development is currently underway. According to its March 2019 response, TC anticipates that the proposed amendments to the CARs will be released for public consultation in 2019.

The Board is encouraged by TC's efforts to address Recommendation A16-08. The SA and AC enhance current definitions and introduce new definitions regarding VFR. However, as the regulatory development is currently underway, no details of the proposed amendments are yet available. Until the regulations are finalized, the Board is unable to determine to what extent these actions will address the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A16-08.

Therefore, TC's response to Recommendation A16-08 remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Safety messages

Maintaining adequate visual reference to the ground is crucial to the safety of flight under night VFR. During flight over remote areas with little ambient or cultural ground-based lighting, the conditions whereby visual reference to the ground can be maintained will vary depending on the illumination provided by the moon, cloud cover, and light sources within the aircraft itself. Continued flight in the absence of the required visual references would require the flight to be conducted under IFR. When flying VFR at night, pilots can unexpectedly lose visual reference to the ground even in good weather.

Night currency regulations help ensure the safety of pilots and passengers onboard aircraft operating at night, and it is important for pilots to maintain their regulatory currency.

When planning any VFR flight, pilots should conduct a thorough review of the expected weather and its effects on their ability to maintain visual reference to the ground, taking into account their own level of ability.

Filing a flight plan or a flight itinerary with the appropriate agency or a responsible person increases the likelihood that an overdue aircraft will be reported in a timely manner, and may increase the chance of survival in the event of an accident.

In the event of an accident, an armed and functioning ELT is a key factor in alerting search and rescue services.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on It was officially released on

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19O0026

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Collision avec le relief
Robinson Helicopter Company R66 (hélicoptère), C-GAUA
Aéroport de Timmins (Victor M. Power) (Ontario), 18 nm WNW

Consulter le document en PDF

Déroulement du vol

Le 4 mars 2019, l'hélicoptère R66 de la Robinson Helicopter Company (immatriculation C-GAUA, numéro de série 0142), sous exploitation privée, a quitté l'aéroport de Sudbury (CYSB) (Ontario) à 18 h 42Note de bas de page 1 pour un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) vers une hélisurface privée située près de Fauquier-Strickland (Ontario), avec le pilote et 1 passager à bord. L'hélicoptère a percuté le relief à 20 h 06, 36 milles marins (nm) au sud-sud-est de sa destination (figure 1).

Le jour de l'événement à l'étude, le pilote avait volé pendant quelque 8 heures (temps de vol) avant la collision avec le relief. Le vol de l'événement à l'étude était le 4e vol de la journée. Les 3 vols précédents sont décrits ci-après :

  • Le 1er vol a commencé à l'aéroport John C Tune (KJWN) de Nashville, au Tennessee (états-Unis) à 9 h 24 et s'est terminé à l'aéroport municipal Springfield-Beckley (KSGH) en Ohio (états-Unis) à 11 h 56. Les moteurs de l'hélicoptère ont alors été coupés pendant 40 minutes avant le départ suivant.
  • Le 2e vol a commencé à KSGH à 12 h 43 et s'est terminé à l'aéroport de London (CYXU) (Ontario) à 14 h 48. Les moteurs de l'hélicoptère ont alors été coupés pendant 1 heure 14 minutes avant le départ suivant.
  • Le 3e vol a commencé à CYXU à 16 h 11 et s'est terminé à CYSB à 18 h 21. Les moteurs de l'hélicoptère ont alors été coupés pendant 15 minutes seulement avant le départ pour le vol de l'événement à l'étude, à 18 h 42.
Figure 1. Route du vol de l'événement à l'étude, montrant la destination prévue et le lieu de l'événement (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
 Route du vol de l'événement à l'étude, montrant la destination prévue et le lieu de l'événement (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)

Puisque le crépuscule civil du soir s'était terminé à 18 h 44, le vol de l'événement à l'étude s'est déroulé en majorité selon les règles VFR de nuit.

Même si l'aéronef était doté d'un transpondeur, son signal n'a pas été enregistré sur le radar après son départ de la région de Sudbury.

Recherches

Le matin du 6 mars 2019, la police a été avisée du retard de l'aéronef. Une vaste recherche aérienne a été lancée par le Centre conjoint de coordination des opérations de sauvetage – Trenton. Des recherches au sol ont été organisées par la famille et les amis du pilote et du passager disparus.

L'après-midi du 11 mars 2019, l'épave a été aperçue en forêt depuis les airs, à environ 18 nm ouest-nord-ouest de l'aéroport de Timmins (Victor M. Power) (CYTS) (Ontario), dans une ancienne aire de coupe couverte de neige épaisse. Les 2 occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles. L'hélicoptère a été détruit. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie après l'impact et la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) ne s'est pas activée.

Renseignements météorologiques

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer quand le pilote avait consulté les renseignements météorologiques avant le vol, ou si ça avait été fait.

Les cartes des prévisions de zone graphique (GFA)Note de bas de page 2 pour la période du vol de l'événement à l'étude montrent des plafonds de nuages fragmentés à 4000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer et une visibilité réduite localiséeNote de bas de page 3 d'aussi peu que 1½ mille terrestre (sm) dans la région de la destination, qui se trouve à environ 20 nm à l'est-sud-est de l'aéroport de Kapuskasing (CYYU) (Ontario).

Les prévisions d'aérodrome (TAF)Note de bas de page 4 de CYYU et de CYTS pour la période du vol de l'événement à l'étude étaient presque identiques et indiquaient des vents légers du sud-ouest, une visibilité de plus de 6 sm et des nuages épars entre 4000 et 5000 pieds au-dessus du sol (AGL). Entre 12h et 3h, on prévoyait une condition temporaire (TEMPO)Note de bas de page 5 de visibilité de 5 sm attribuable à de légères averses de neige, avec des plafonds de nuages fragmentés à 2000 pieds AGL.

Le radar d'observation météorologique de la station de radar de Smooth Rock Falls (Ontario), situé à 30 nm à l'est-sud-est de CYYU, ne montrait aucune chute de neige importante pendant la durée du vol de l'événement à l'étude.

Un message d'observation météorologique régulière pour l'aviation (METAR)Note de bas de page 6 émis pour CYTS à 20 h (6 minutes avant l'événement à l'étude) indiquait une visibilité de 15 sm, avec de légères averses de neige et un ciel couvert à 4000 pieds AGL. La température était de −16 °C. Les METAR antérieurs pour CYTS indiquaient la présence de légères averses de neige à partir de 14 h 53 le jour de l'événement à l'étude, avec une visibilité d'aussi peu que 1 sm (signalée à 17 h 46), près de 1 heure avant le départ de CYSB du vol de l'événement à l'étude. Un METAR pour CYYU, situé à 53 nm au nord-nord-ouest du lieu de l'événement à l'étude, indiquait une visibilité de 2 sm, avec de légères averses de neige et un plafond couvert à 2000 pieds AGL au moment de l'événement à l'étude, et rapportait de légères averses de neige depuis 18 h 35.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé – hélicoptère canadienne, d'une qualification de vol de nuit et d'un certificat médical de catégorie 1 valide; il n'avait pas de qualification de vol aux instruments. Le pilote avait accumulé environ 925 heures de temps de vol sur hélicoptère au total, dont environ 585 dans l'hélicoptère en cause dans l'événement à l'étude. Selon son carnet personnel, au cours des 365 jours précédant la date de l'accident, le pilote avait accumulé 157,5 heures de vol, dont 4,3 de nuit. Au cours de la même période, il n'avait effectué aucun décollage de nuit, mais avait effectué 5 atterrissages de nuit, tous réalisés plus de 6 mois avant le vol de l'événement à l'étude.

Afin de pouvoir voler avec des passagers la nuit, un pilote doit avoir effectué 5 décollages de nuit et 5 atterrissages de nuit au cours des 6 derniers moisNote de bas de page 7. Le pilote n'avait effectué aucun décollage ni atterrissage de nuit au cours des 6 mois précédents le vol de l'événement à l'étude et ne satisfaisait donc pas à l'exigence de maintien des compétences pour effectuer un vol de nuit avec un passager.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

L'hélicoptère R66 de la Robinson Helicopter Company est un hélicoptère à 5 places dont le poids brut maximal est de 1225 kg (2700 livres). Le pilote a acheté l'hélicoptère en cause dans l'événement à l'étude en janvier 2016. Il était doté des instruments de vol de base (soit un indicateur d'assiette avec inclinomètre, un gyroscope directionnel, un altimètre, un anémomètre et un coordonnateur de virage), d'instruments moteurs de même que d'un panneau annonciateur au-dessus du groupe d'instruments affichant les témoins lumineux pour diverses conditions anormales. L'hélicoptère n'était pas certifié pour le vol aux instruments (IFR) et n'était pas doté d'un système de pilotage automatique. Un appareil GPS (système de positionnement mondial) portatif était monté à côté du groupe d'instruments et a été retrouvé sur le lieu de l'accident.

On n'a découvert aucune défaillance des éléments mécaniques ou des systèmes, préalable à l'impact, qui aurait pu contribuer à cet accident.

L'enquête a permis de déterminer que le moteur produisait de la puissance et que le régime du rotor était dans les limites normales de fonctionnement au moment de la collision avec le relief.

Renseignements sur le lieu de l'accident et sur l'épave de l'aéronef

La collision avec le relief s'est produite dans une ancienne aire de coupe. La zone présentait des repousses par endroits et les arbres adjacents au lieu de l'accident faisaient environ 6 m (20 pieds) de hauteur. Le lieu de l'accident était couvert d'au moins 1,5 m (5 pieds) de neige; une quantité importante de neige était tombée au cours de la semaine écoulée entre l'accident et la découverte de l'épave.

La cîme d'un conifère situé à quelque 10 m (33 pieds) à l'ouest-nord-ouest du lieu de l'impact (figure 2) était endommagée. Les dommages constatés sur l'arbre et l'hélicoptère indiquaient que l'aéronef avait percuté le sol en piqué prononcé, incliné à gauche, et sur un cap approximatif de 120° magnétiques.

Figure 2. Lieu de l'accident, avec l'épave de l'aéronef encerclée et une flèche indiquant la direction de l'impact (Source : BST)
 Lieu de l'accident, avec l'épave de l'aéronef encerclée et une flèche indiquant la direction de l'impact (Source : BST)

L'hélicoptère a ensuite culbuté vers l'avant et s'est arrêté sur le dos. La poutre de queue s'était rompue à peu près au milieu, et le rotor de queue avait subi de légers dommages. Les pales du rotor principal étaient en majeure partie recouvertes par la neige, mais elles montraient d'importants dommages après avoir été dégagées. Toutes les parties des pales du rotor principal étaient restées attachées au mât, lui-même partiellement séparé de l'hélicoptère. Le boîtier d'engrenages et le moteur (un Rolls Royce RR-300) s'étaient détachés de leurs supports. Il y avait une forte odeur de carburant aviation sur les lieux.

Les instruments de vol ont été examinés pour déterminer ce qu'ils affichaient au moment de l'impact. Toutefois, le seul instrument ayant fourni un renseignement utile est l'anémomètre, qui indiquait une vitesse de 107 nœuds à l'impact.

Les occupants ont été éjectés de l'hélicoptère pendant l'impact. Rien n'indique que l'un ou l'autre des occupants portait sa ceinture de sécurité au moment de l'événement. Toutefois, compte tenu des dommages subis par l'hélicoptère, il aurait été impossible de survivre à l'accident.

Radiobalise de repérage d'urgence

Pendant la séquence d'impact, le support de fixation en plastique de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) à 406 MHz s'est brisé; toutefois, l'antenne et le câblage de l'interrupteur à distance sont demeurés intacts. L‘ELT a été trouvée en position OFF; par conséquent, elle ne s'est pas activée à l'écrasement et n'a transmis aucun signal au système de recherche et de sauvetage par satellite. Le pilote avait enlevé l'ELT en janvier 2019 pour renouveler son homologation et était retourné la chercher à l'atelier d'avionique une fois la nouvelle homologation achevée. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer qui avait réinstallé l'ELT. En raison de l'orientation du support de fixation de l'ELT, il est impossible de voir la position de l'interrupteur une fois l'ELT installée dans l'hélicoptère.

Plan de vol ou itinéraire de vol

Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule que le pilote d'un vol VFR doit déposer un plan de vol ou un itinéraire de vol pour tout vol effectué à plus de 25 nm de l'aéroport de départNote de bas de page 8.

Un plan de vol doit comprendre des renseignements précis sur l'aéronef et le vol, notamment l'heure de départ prévue, l'heure d'arrivée prévue et l'itinéraire du volNote de bas de page 9. En outre, « [l]e plan de vol doit être déposé auprès d'une unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, d'une station d'information de vol ou d'une station radio d'aérodrome communautaireNote de bas de page 10 » et sera ouvert automatiquement à l'heure de départ prévue. Si le plan de vol n'est pas fermé par le pilote, une unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne, une station d'information de vol ou une station radio d'aérodrome communautaire dans l'heure qui suit l'heure d'arrivée prévue, une recherche de l'aéronef manquant sera lancéeNote de bas de page 11.

Un itinéraire de vol comprend les mêmes renseignements que le plan de vol et doit être déposé auprès des mêmes organismes, ou auprès d'une personne responsable choisie par le piloteNote de bas de page 12. La personne responsable doit recevoir l'itinéraire et en accuser réception, et elle est responsable d'aviser les autorités pertinentes si l'aéronef est en retard.

Le pilote n'avait déposé aucun plan de vol ou itinéraire de vol pour le vol de l'événement à l'étude. Par conséquent, l'hélicoptère en cause n'a pas été déclaré manquant avant le matin du 6 mars 2019, plus de 36 heures après l'événement.

Règles de vol à vue de nuit

Le vol de l'événement à l'étude a eu lieu la nuit, dans des régions éloignées, où il n'y a presque pas de lumière ambiante ou de sources de lumière artificielle au sol. L'éclairage lunaire était négligeableNote de bas de page 13 et la source de lumière importante la plus proche était la ville de Timmins, située à 18 nm à l'est-sud-est du lieu de l'accident.

Le manuel d'utilisation du Robinson R66 indique ce qui suit en ce qui concerne le vol VFR de nuit et ce qui se produit lorsqu'on perd toute référence visuelle extérieure [traduction] :

[le pilote] perd […] sa capacité de contrôler l'assiette de l'hélicoptère. Puisque les hélicoptères ne sont pas stables par nature et présentent un taux de roulis très élevé, le pilote perdra rapidement le contrôle de l'aéronef, ce qui entraînera un écrasement à haute vitesse habituellement fatal.

Assurez-vous de ne JAMAIS voler la nuit à moins d'un ciel dégagé, d'un plafond illimité ou très élevé et d'une abondance de lumières célestes ou terrestres comme points de référenceNote de bas de page 14.

Le principe qui régit le vol VFR consiste en l'utilisation d'indices visuels à l'extérieur de l'aéronef (p. ex. l'horizon ou des repères au sol) pour déterminer son assiette (sa position dans les 3 axes principaux d'un aéronef [tangage, roulis et lacet] par rapport à la ligne d'horizon). Il faut donc satisfaire à certaines exigences de base avant d'effectuer un vol VFR, peu importe si on l'effectue de jour ou de nuit.

Le vol de nuit au-dessus d'un relief uniforme comme un plan d'eau ou un terrain boisé éloigné est particulièrement difficile. En aviation, on dit alors qu'on vole dans un trou noir, expression qui désigne le fait de ne disposer d'aucun repère visuel par rapport au sol en raison de l'absence d'éclairage. Dans ces circonstances, il peut être difficile, voire impossible, pour le pilote de discerner l'horizon à l'œil nu, ce qui peut entraîner une désorientation spatiale et une perte de contrôle.

Selon les articles 602.114 et 602.115 du RAC, un aéronef en vol VFR doit être « utilisé avec des repères visuels à la surfaceNote de bas de page 15,Note de bas de page 16 »,  qu'on l'utilise dans un espace aérien contrôlé ou non contrôlé. Le RAC définit une surface comme étant « [t]oute surface au sol ou sur l'eau, y compris une surface geléeNote de bas de page 17 ». Toutefois, il n'offre aucune définition de la notion de « repère visuel à la surface », que l'on interprète librement dans le secteur comme des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue.

Par conséquent, un vol au-dessus d'une région éloignée de toute source d'éclairage artificiel et sans éclairage ambiant adéquat qui permette de discerner clairement l'horizon (c.-à-d. uniquement au moyen de repères à la surface) ne satisferait probablement pas aux exigences d'exploitation selon les règles de vol à vue. Un tel vol exigerait plutôt que les pilotes utilisent leurs instruments de vol pour assurer l'exploitation sécuritaire de l'aéronef.

Dans un rapport d'enquête du BSTNote de bas de page 18 sur un hélicoptère qui s'est écrasé alors qu'il décollait selon les règles de vol à vue de nuit d'un aéroport éloigné au balisage lumineux insuffisant, on a souligné le problème du manque de clarté dans la définition de « vol avec repères visuels à la surface », dans les faits. Le BST a recommandé que

le ministère des Transports modifie la réglementation de manière à définir clairement les repères visuels (y compris les considérations d'éclairage ou autres moyens) requis pour réduire les risques liés aux vols de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue.
Recommandation A16-08 du BST

En date de mars 2019, Transports Canada (TC) a pris des mesures pour corriger les lacunes de sécurité soulevées dans cette recommandation, notamment rédiger une définition claire des repères visuels nécessaires pour réduire les risques associés aux vols VFR de nuit. Plus particulièrement, TC a mené un projet pilote pour évaluer et élaborer les conditions appropriées à l'utilisation des systèmes d'imagerie de vision nocturne durant les vols VFR de nuit, et a rédigé une autorisation spéciale (AS) et une circulaire d'information (CI) connexe qui élargissent les définitions actuelles et ajoutent de nouvelles définitions en ce qui concerne les règles de vol à vue.

TC a en outre indiqué qu'un règlement est en cours d'élaboration. D'après sa réponse de mars 2019, TC prévoit que les modifications au RAC proposées seront publiées aux fins de consultation publique en 2019.

Le Bureau voit d'un bon œil les efforts déployés par TC pour donner suite à la recommandation A16-08. L'AS et la CI améliorent les définitions actuelles et ajoutent de nouvelles définitions en ce qui concerne les règles de vol à vue. Toutefois, puisque le règlement est en cours d'élaboration, aucun détail sur les modifications proposées n'est disponible pour le moment. Tant que le règlement ne sera pas finalisé, le Bureau sera incapable de déterminer à quel point ces mesures corrigeront la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans la recommandation A16-08.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse de TC à la recommandation A16-08 dénote toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Messages de sécurité

Il est crucial de garder des repères visuels au sol adéquats pour assurer la sécurité des vols VFR de nuit. Durant un vol au-dessus de régions éloignées offrant peu d'éclairage ambiant ou d'éclairage artificiel au sol, les conditions dans lesquelles il est possible de maintenir des repères visuels au sol varient selon l'éclairage offert par la lune, la couverture nuageuse et les sources de lumière dans l'aéronef même. Poursuivre un vol sans les repères visuels nécessaires exigerait de passer en vol IFR. Pendant un vol VFR de nuit, les pilotes peuvent perdre leurs repères visuels au sol de façon inattendue, même par beau temps.

La réglementation en matière de maintien des compétences de nuit aide à garantir la sécurité des pilotes et des passagers à bord des aéronefs exploités la nuit. Il est donc important que les pilotes entretiennent leurs compétences conformément à la réglementation.

Lorsqu'ils planifient un vol VFR quel qu'il soit, les pilotes devraient examiner attentivement les prévisions météorologiques et l'effet qu'elles ont sur leur aptitude à maintenir des repères visuels au sol, tout en tenant compte de leur niveau d'aptitude.

Le dépôt d'un plan de vol ou d'un itinéraire de vol auprès d'un organisme approprié ou d'une personne responsable augmente les chances qu'un aéronef en retard soit signalé rapidement et peut accroître les chances de survie en cas d'accident.

En cas d'accident, une ELT armée et fonctionnelle est un facteur essentiel pour alerter les services de recherche et de sauvetage.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le Il a été officiellement publié le

Date de modification :