Marine Investigation Report M95L0027

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Four Passengers Fell Overboard
During a Cruise on the Tour Boat
"CANARD MALARD"
Port of Montreal, Quebec
05 July 1995

Summary

On the evening of 05 July 1995, the tour boat "CANARD MALARD" was engaged on a cruise in the Port of Montreal with 23 passengers and two crew members on board.

The vessel took up position north of Île Sainte-Hélène for the passengers to watch the fireworks. At one point, four passengers stood up on the stern seat and leaned on the stern railing. The deck under the seat suddenly tipped back. The stern railing gave way under the weight of the four passengers, and they were thrown into the water. No one was injured as a result of the accident, and the four persons were retrieved from the water by the "CANARD MALARD".

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "CANARD MALARD"
Official Number 817126
Port of Registry Montreal, Quebec
Flag Canadian
Type Passenger vessel
Gross Tonnage 8.31
Length 9.48 m
Draught Forward: 0.76 m
Aft: 1.22 m
Crew 2
Passengers 23
Built 1994, St-Sulpice, Quebec
Propulsion Two Volvo 200 hp engines, driving two contra-rotating propellers
Owners Les Croisières-Excursions au fil de l'eau inc., St-Jérôme, Quebec

The "CANARD MALARD" is a rigid-hull inflatable boat with a control station on the starboard side of the afterdeck. The foredeck and stern platform serve as observation decks for passengers.

At about 2115(1) on 05 July 1995, the tour boat "CANARD MALARD" departed a Longueuil marina on a cruise to the area north of Île Sainte-Hélène where the passengers were going to watch fireworks.

At about 2200, the tour boat took up position at the north end of Île Sainte-Hélène among a flotilla of boats also there for the fireworks. The "CANARD MALARD" did not drop anchor, but stemmed the current (estimated at three knots) off berth No 39. As the vessel was not making headway, the passengers were allowed to stand and move about on the lower foredeck and the upper deck aft of the control station. The master and the mate kept watch at the control station.

During that time, two couples stood up on the stern seat and leaned on the railing, and the crew did not ask them to sit back down on the seat. At about 2228, a passenger who was standing on the front of the engine compartment hatch cover stepped down to join the other passengers on the lower foredeck. The engine hatch cover tipped back, the stern railing gave way, and the passengers fell into the water.

The master stopped the engines and informed the Montreal Vessel Traffic Centre (VTC) of the accident on channel 16 of the VHF. He then asked the passengers to throw lifejackets into the water while he manoeuvred the boat to approach the victims who had drifted about 25 m downstream of the boat in relatively calm water. Meanwhile, the mate threw two lifebuoys into the water.

A pleasure craft near the tour boat overheard the radio message and turned on its searchlight in the direction of the persons in the water. They managed to grab hold of the life-saving appliances. Within a few minutes, they were hauled back on board by one of the passengers and one of the crew members because the "CANARD MALARD" had no boarding ladder. At 2232, the Canadian Coast Guard patrol boat "GC 1204" arrived on the scene and assessed the situation.

The crew members reportedly informed the passengers of the location of the lifejackets before the start of the cruise. However, the passengers said that they had not received a safety briefing. According to the passengers, some of them had started looking for life-saving appliances even before the crew instructed them to do so. No alcoholic beverages were served during the cruise, and none of the passengers appeared to be under the influence of alcohol.

Responses to potential emergency situations are covered in the practical examination for the Master of a Small Passenger Craft Certificate held by the two crew members. As no Marine Emergency Duties (MED) course is required for this certificate, neither crew member had taken such a course. The company had no emergency procedures in place.

The engine compartment hatch cover is a platform covering most of the upper afterdeck. The platform swings on two hinges located on the deck line above the transom.

A bench seat welded to the platform occupies the aft section, and there is a step near the control station for easy access to the lower foredeck.

The afterdeck side railings are bolted to the deck. The stern transverse railing is secured to the back of the seat which in turn is welded to the hatch cover. The original stern railing was modified in 1994 pursuant to a Transport Canada inspection. The tour boat held a Passenger Ship Inspection Certificate for voyages within Minor Waters, Class II, limitations, issued at Montreal on 13 May 1995.

Analysis

The fact that the passengers did not hear or pay attention to the safety briefing given on the wharf suggests that it was not delivered under appropriate conditions. The MED course required for higher certificates initiates mariners to safety measures to be taken in an emergency. Assembling the passengers to brief them on emergency measures in not required by existing regulations except on passenger vessels making voyages of more than 24 hours. The crew did not warn the four passengers of the risk involved in standing on the seat.

As the stern railing was bolted to the slanted back of the seat, the railing was aft of the hinges on the hatch cover. The passengers standing on the seat and leaning on the seat back and railing produced a lever effect, because their weight exerted a force behind the hinges. As the engine compartment hatch cover was not fitted with a safety catch to secure it shut, the hatch cover tipped back when a passenger standing near the step went down onto the lower deck.

The railing was fastened to the seat back by bolts passing through the stays and the back. The weight of the four passengers caused the railing stays in way of the top bolts to give way. The boat held a valid inspection certificate, but the railing was being used for purposes other than those for which it was designed. The anchoring points at the top of the hydraulic cylinders gave way when the platform tipped back.

Findings

  1. The passengers were not formally assembled at the start of the cruise.
  2. The crew did not provide an effective safety briefing to inform the passengers of measures to be taken in case of emergency.
  3. Four passengers stood up on the stern seat.
  4. The crew did not ask the four passengers to sit back down on the seat.
  5. The engine compartment hatch cover which served as the observation deck at the stern was not fitted with safety catches to prevent it from tipping back.
  6. The weight of the passengers leaning on the seat back and railing produced a lever effect that caused the hatch cover to tip back.
  7. The stern railing gave way under the weight of the four passengers.
  8. The passengers were not wearing lifejackets nor were they required to do so by regulations.
  9. The tour boat retrieved the passengers from the water safe and sound.

Causes and Contributing Factors

Four passengers fell overboard off the "CANARD MALARD" because they stood up on the stern seat and the crew did not require them to get back down on the deck. The engine compartment hatch cover, which served as the stern observation deck, tipped back because it was not fitted with a fastening device. The stern railing gave way under the weight of the four passengers.

Safety Action Taken

Since the occurrence, two safety catches have been installed on the front of the platform, and a new stern railing has been secured to the side railings and the deck. In addition, the anchoring plate has been bolted down with locknuts. These alterations were carried out under the supervision of a Transport Canada Marine Safety inspector.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson John W. Stants and members Zita Brunet and Maurice Harquail, authorized the release of this report on 21 May 1996.


1. All times are EDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M95L0027

Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer les fautes ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le rapport en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version; détails dans notre page d'aide.

Quatre passagers passent par-dessus bord
lors d'une croisière sur le bateau d'excursion
«CANARD MALARD» dans le port de Montréal (Québec)
le 5 juillet 1995

Résumé

Dans la soirée du 5 juillet 1995, le bateau d'excursion «CANARD MALARD» effectue une croisière dans le port de Montréal avec, à son bord, 23 passagers et deux membres d'équipage.

Le bateau se positionne au nord de l'île Sainte-Hélène où les passagers assistent aux feux d'artifices. À un moment donné, quatre passagers montent sur la banquette arrière et s'appuient sur la rambarde arrière. Soudainement, le pont sous la banquette bascule vers l'arrière. La rambarde arrière cède sous le poids des quatre passagers et ils sont projettés à l'eau. L'accident n'a pas fait de blessé et les quatre personnes sont repêchées par le «CANARD MALARD».

Renseignements factuels

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « CANARD MALARD »
Port d'immatriculation Montréal
Pavillon Canadien
Numéro officiel 817126
Genre Bateau à passagers
Jauge brute 8,31 tonneaux
Longueur 9,48 m
Tirant d'eau Av : 0,76 m
Ar : 1,22 m
Construction 1994, St-Sulpice (Québec)
Propulsion Deux moteurs Volvo de 200 hp entraînant deux hélices contrarotatives
Équipage 2
Passagers 23
Propriétaire(s): Les Croisières-Excursions au fil de l'eau inc.
St-Jérôme (Québec)

Le «CANARD MALARD» est une embarcation pneumatique à coque rigide munie d'un poste de commande situé à tribord sur le pont arrière. Le pont avant et la plate-forme arrière servent de lieux d'observation pour les passagers.

Vers 21h15[1], le 5 juillet 1995, le bateau d'excursion «CANARD MALARD» appareille d'une marina de Longueuil pour effectuer une croisière dans le secteur nord de l'île Sainte-Hélène où les passagers vont assister à des feux d'artifices.

Vers 22h00, le bateau d'excursion se positionne à l'extrémité nord de l'île Sainte-Hélène, parmi une flottille de bateaux qui assistent, eux aussi, aux feux d'artifices. Le «CANARD MALARD» ne mouille pas l'ancre mais, étale plutôt le courant, estimé à trois noeuds, au large du poste d'amarrage n°39. Puisque le bateau ne fait pas route, on permet aux passagers de se tenir debout et de se déplacer sur le pont avant inférieur et le pont supérieur à l'arrière du poste de commande. Le capitaine et le second assurent la veille au poste de commande.

Au cours de l'excursion, deux couples montent debout sur la banquette arrière et s'appuient sur la rambarde; toutefois, l'équipage ne demande pas aux passagers de se rasseoir sur la banquette. Vers 22h28, un passager qui est debout sur l'avant du panneau d'accès au compartiment-moteur descend rejoindre les autres passagers sur le pont inférieur à l'avant. Le panneau d'accès aux moteurs bascule vers l'arrière, la rambarde arrière cède et les passagers tombent à l'eau.

Le capitaine stoppe les moteurs et il informe le Centre de trafic maritime (CTM) de Montréal de l'accident sur la voie 16 de son VHF. Par la suite, il a demandé aux passagers de lancer des gilets de sauvetage à l'eau pendant qu'il effectue des manoeuvres pour se rapprocher des victimes. Ces derniers ont dérivé environ 25 m en aval du bateau, dans une mer peu agitée. Entre temps, le second lance les deux bouées de sauvetage à l'eau.

Un bateau de plaisance qui se trouve près du bateau d'excursion a entendu le message radiodiffusé et allume son projecteur en direction des personnes à l'eau. Ces dernières ont réussit à s'agripper aux engins de sauvetage. En quelques minutes, elles sont hissées à bord par un des passagers et un membre d'équipage, étant donné que le «CANARD MALARD» n'était pas muni d'une échelle de remontée. À 22h32, la vedette de la Garde côtière canadienne «GC 1204» est arrivée sur les lieux et elle a dressé un constat de la situation.

On rapporte que les membres de l'équipage ont informé les passagers sur l'emplacement des gilets de sauvetage avant le début de la croisière. Toutefois, les passagers ont confirmé ne pas avoir reçu de consignes de sécurité. Selon les passagers, certains d'entre-eux ont cherché des engins de sauvetage avant même de recevoir des directives de l'équipage. Aucune boisson alcoolisée n'a été servie durant la croisière et aucun des passagers ne semblait être sous l'influence de l'alcool.

Des scénarios, pouvant servir en cas d'urgence, ont été abordés lors de l'examen pratique en vue de l'obtention du brevet de Capitaine de Petite embarcation à passagers dont les deux membres d'équipage sont titulaires. Étant donné que le cours de Fonction d'urgence en mer (FUM) n'est pas requis pour l'obtention du brevet, les deux membres d'équipage n'ont pas suivi le cours. La compagnie n'avait pas adopté de consignes sur la conduite à tenir lors de situations d'urgence.

Le panneau d'accès au compartiment-moteurs est une plate-forme qui occupe la plus grande surface du pont supérieur arrière. La plate-forme est articulée par deux charnières situées sur le livet de pont, au-dessus du tableau arrière.

Une banquette, soudée à la plate-forme, occupe la partie arrière et une marche, près du poste de commande, facilite l'accès au pont inférieur avant.

Les rambardes latérales du pont arrière sont boulonnées dans le pont du bateau. La rambarde transversale arrière est assujettie au dossier de la banquette qui est soudée au panneau d'accès. En 1994, la rambarde arrière d'origine avait été modifiée suite à une inspection de Transports Canada. Le bateau d'excursion faisait l'objet d'un Certificat d'inspection pour navire à passagers pour voyages effectués dans les limites d'eaux secondaires, classe II, délivré à Montréal le 13 mai 1995.

Analyse

Le fait que les passagers n'ont pas entendu ou porté attention aux consignes de sécurité énoncées sur le quai porte à croire que celles-ci n'ont pas été transmises dans des conditions propices. Le cours de fonction d'urgence en mer, exigé pour les brevets supérieurs, initie les gens de mer aux mesures de sécurité à prendre en cas d'urgence. Le rassemblement des passagers en vue de les sensibiliser aux mesures d'urgence n'est exigé, par la réglementation actuelle, que sur les navires à passagers qui effectuent des voyages dont la durée est plus de 24 heures. L'équipage n'a pas prévenu les quatre passagers du danger qu'ils encouraient.

En boulonnant la rambarde arrière au dossier incliné de la banquette, la rambarde se trouvait à l'arrière des charnières du

panneau d'accès. En étant debout sur la banquette, appuyés contre le dossier et la rambarde, les passagers ont produit l'effet de bras de levier puisque leur poids a exercé une force à l'arrière des charnières. Comme le panneau d'accès, au compartiment-moteurs, n'était pas muni d'un cran de sûreté lorsqu'il était fermé, le panneau a basculé vers l'arrière quand un des passagers, debout près de la marche, est descendu sur le pont inférieur.

La rambarde était retenue au dossier par des boulons qui traversaient les chandelles et le dossier. Le poids des quatre passagers a fait céder les chandelles de la rambarde au droit des boulons supérieurs. Bien que le bateau faisait l'objet d'un Certificat d'inspection en vigeur, la rambarde a été utilisée à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles elle avait été conçue. L'ancrage, de la partie supérieure des cylindres hydrauliques, a cédé quand la plate-forme a basculé vers l'arrière.

Conclusions

  1. Il n'y a pas eu de rassemblement formel des passagers au début de la croisière.
  2. L'équipage n'a pas transmis efficacement des consignes de sécurité pour sensibiliser les passagers aux mesures d'urgence.
  3. Quatre passagers sont montés debout sur la banquette arrière.
  4. L'équipage n'a pas demandé aux quatre passagers de descendre de la banquette.
  5. Le panneau d'accès au compartiment-moteurs, qui servait de pont d'observation à l'arrière, n'était pas muni de crans de sécurité pour l'empêcher de basculer.
  6. Le poids des passagers sur le dossier et la rambarde a produit un effet de bras de levier lequel a fait basculer le panneau d'accès vers l'arrière.
  7. La rambarde arrière a cédé sous le poids des quatre passagers.<
  8. Les passagers ne portaient pas de gilets de sauvetage et ils n'étaient pas requis d'en porter en vertu de la réglementation.
  9. Le bateau d'excursion a récupéré les passagers sains et saufs.

Causes

Quatre passagers ont fait une chute par-dessus bord du

«CANARD MALARD», parce qu'ils sont montés debout sur le banc arrière et que l'équipage n'a pas exigé qu'ils descendent sur le pont. Le panneau d'accès au compartiment-moteur qui servait de pont arrière d'observation a basculé vers l'arrière parce qu'il n'était pas muni d'un dispositif de fermeture. La rambarde arrière a cédé sous le poids des quatre passagers.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Depuis l'incident, on a installé deux crans de sûreté à l'avant de la plate-forme et une nouvelle rambarde arrière assujettie aux rambardes latérales et au pont. De plus, on a boulonné la plaque d'ancrage avec des écrous autobloquants. Ces modifications ont été effectuées sous la supervision d'un inspecteur de la Sécurité des navires de Transports Canada.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 21 mai 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, John W. Stants, et des membres Zita Brunet et Maurice Harquail.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées en Heure Avancée de l'est (Temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures).