Marine Transportation Safety Investigation Report M19C0043

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Associated links (M19C0043)

Striking of a wharf
Roll-on/roll-off passenger ferry Apollo
Godbout, Quebec

Vessel history

The Apollo (International Maritime Organization No. 7006314, Figure 1) is a Canada-flagged roll-on/roll-off passenger ferryFootnote 1 built in 1970 in Germany. Most of the Apollo's service was spent in northern Europe, sailing in the Baltic and North Seas. During its life, the vessel was owned and operated by different companies under several names before it was renamed Apollo in 1995. In 2001, the Apollo was acquired by Labrador Marine Inc., based in Newfoundland and Labrador. The vessel was operated for 18 years between Blanc-Sablon, Quebec, and St. Barbe, Newfoundland and Labrador, until it was sold to the Société des traversiers du Québec (STQ) in 2019. As an emergency measure to restore the marine connection between Matane, Baie-Comeau, and Godbout, Quebec, the STQ acquired the vessel as a replacement for the out-of-service roll-on/roll-off passenger ferry F.-A.-Gauthier.

At the time of the occurrence, the vessel was certified by the classification society Bureau Veritas, under the authority of Transport Canada, to carry 240 passengers and 30 crew members.

Figure 1. The Apollo (Source: Richard Bélanger)
The Apollo (Source: Richard Bélanger)

History of the occurrence

On 25 February 2019 at 0800,Footnote 2 the Apollo left the port of Matane for Godbout, Quebec, with 100 passengers and 28 crew members on board. The vessel's vehicle deck was fully loaded with cars and trucks. The voyage proceeded in a routine manner.

At approximately 1000, using the bridge telephone, the helmsman called the master in preparation for arrival. The master arrived in the wheelhouse at approximately 1008. The vessel was about 2 nautical miles (NM) from Godbout, making way at 15 knots while steering with the autopilot mode on. Taking into consideration a starboard beam northeast wind of 25 knots, the master decided to maintain speed to manoeuvre the vessel while maintaining a safe distance from the Godbout ferry wharf.Footnote 3 At 1012, the master ordered the helmsman to switch off the autopilot mode and steer manually.

At about 1017, the vessel entered Godbout Bay. The master immediately slowed the vessel speed to 11.7 knots and ordered the helmsman to put the rudder to port and steer toward the Saint-Régis dock,Footnote 4 then toward the landing. The manoeuvre caused the vessel to turn toward the wharf faster than expected. While the vessel was turning rapidly, the master took the command of the vessel on the port navigation wing. He immediately turned the helm hard to starboard and again reduced the speed, keeping a forward minimum speed to maintain the ship's steering capabilities.

Figure 2. Site of the occurrence (Main source image: Canadian Hydrographic Service, Chart CA1236, with TSB annotations. Inset image source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
Site of the occurrence (Main source image: Canadian Hydrographic Service, Chart CA1236, with TSB annotations. Inset image source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

The vessel did not respond as expected due to water flow reduction on the rudders caused by the successive speed reductions. To compensate, the master reversed the starboard propulsion while keeping the port propulsion ahead and simultaneously activated the bow thruster. The vessel stopped turning to port but continued moving forward. When it became evident to the master that a collision with the end of the ferry wharf was unavoidable, to minimize the force of impact and subsequent damage, the master reversed the port engine so that both engines were working astern. The vessel continued to move forward slowly and deviated toward the ferry wharf because of the grey iceFootnote 5 that covered the harbour.

At 1018, the vessel made contact with the end of the ferry wharf (Figure 2). At 1019, following the impact, the crew briefly inspected the vessel to ascertain the extent of the damage. The inspection revealed a hole in the bow visor of about 1 m high by 2 m wide, with buckling over an area of about 9 m². At 1045, the vessel was secured at the ferry berth and the passengers disembarked. Despite the damage from the impact, the crew was able to open the visor and proceeded to unload the vehicle deck.

Figure 3. The damage to the Apollo's bow visor (Source: Alexandre Boudreau)
The damage to the Apollo's bow visor (Source: Alexandre Boudreau)

At around 1500, the Apollo was inspected by 2 Transport Canada marine safety inspectors. Following the inspection, the ship was allowed to proceed to Matane for repairs. At 1600, the Apollo departed Godbout without any passengers on board, escorted by the Canadian Coast Guard vessel Des Groseilliers. The Apollo arrived in Matane at 1930.

Environmental conditions

On 25 February, at the time of the occurrence, it was snowing and visibility was about 1 NM in Godbout, Quebec. The wind was from the northeast at 25 to 30 knots. The air temperature was approximately −6 °C. The ice coverage was 8/10.

Master's experience

The master of the Apollo joined the STQ fleet in 2015 as a second officer and as a relief chief officer. In November 2016, after obtaining a Master, Near Coastal certificate of competency, he began sailing as a relief master. He became a permanent master for the STQin March 2017. Since his employment, he had completed approximately 400 landings in Godbout, many of which in winter conditions, on other STQ vessels without any incident.

The master was part of the STQ team sent to Newfoundland and Labrador to take possession of the Apollo. The former owner's crew was in charge of the vessel transit from St. Barbe, Newfoundland and Labrador, to Matane, Québec. The master's familiarization with the vessel took place during this voyage. Additionally, as part of his training, sea trials were made outside of Matane and a landing exercise in Baie-Comeau and Godbout was performed to verify the compatibility of the vessel with the modifications that the STQ had recently made to its shore infrastructures.

Before the date of the occurrence, the master had completed 7 round trips from Matane to Baie-Comeau with the Apollo. On the day of the occurrence, the master was on his first voyage from Matane to Godbout with passengers on board.

Description of the vessel's propulsion and manoeuvring systems

Built in 1970, the Apollo was equipped with a conventional propulsion system consisting of two 4-stroke, single-acting diesel engines each rated to deliver 3330 kW, reduction gears, and 2 screw shafts each driving a variable-pitch propeller. The vessel was equipped with a fixed pitch electrical bidirectional bow thruster.

In 2005, the vessel's port engine was replaced by a main engine rated at 4000 kW. The response time of the new engine is faster than that of the starboard engine, which is older. The difference in response times must be taken into consideration when manoeuvring the vessel.

The vessel's steering is provided by 2 semi-balancedFootnote 6 rudders. Generally, all rudders experience decreased efficiency during low speed manoeuvring operations. This is caused by a decrease of water flow at the stern which affects the pressure acting on the rudders.

The Apollo's electrical power is supplied by 3 auxiliary engines generating 3-phase alternating current with a nominal power output of 500 kW each. The mechanical condition of the generators' diesel engines is such that they cannot operate at more than 50% of their load.

The 478 kW electrical transverse fixed-pitch bow thruster is designed to operate at 3 different speeds and provides the Apollo with transverse thrust during low speed manoeuvres. In spite of its design, the thruster can only be operated on its first speed for about 1 minute, and on its second speed for 15 seconds. The thruster's third speed is unusable given the limitations of the electrical supply. Prolonged use of the bow thruster causes the auxiliary engines to overheat, which in turn causes their overheat protection to automatically shut them down, creating a possible blackout situation on board. The inability to use the bow thruster to its full design capacity is an additional constraint on the master's ability to manoeuvre the vessel.

The vessel's navigation bridge consists of a wheelhouse that contains all the navigation instruments and controls, and of 2 open bridge wings. Each bridge wing is equipped with a console that has controls for the bow thruster, rudders, and engines. From the bridge wings, the navigation personnel have a full view of the wharf to aid in the docking manoeuvres.

Safety message

This investigation revealed the following conditions on board the Apollo:

  • The 2 main engines had different power outputs and response times. The slower response of the starboard engine reduced the counteracting torque required during the approach manoeuvre.
  • The inability of the auxiliary engines to operate at more than 50% of their nominal power rating prompted the master to minimize the use of the bow thruster while manoeuvring the vessel.
  • The master's limited training and experience in manoeuvring the newly acquired vessel led to an incorrect assessment of the vessel's speed and course, and of the effects of ice and wind when approaching the Godbout ferry wharf.

For the safety of the vessel, its passengers, and the environment, it is important that all machinery designed to assist the master in manoeuvring the vessel be fully operational, and that the master be familiar with the machinery's responses and operational limitations.

About the investigation

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Terms of use

Non-commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may reproduce this investigation report in whole or in part for non‑commercial purposes, and in any format, without charge or further permission, provided you do the following:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced.
  • Indicate the complete title of the materials reproduced and name the Transportation Safety Board of Canada as the author.
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of the version available at [URL where original document is available].

Commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may not reproduce this investigation report, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution without prior written permission from the TSB.

Materials under the copyright of another party

Some of the content in this investigation report (notably images on which a source other than the TSB is named) is subject to the copyright of another party and is protected under the Copyright Act and international agreements. For information concerning copyright ownership and restrictions, please contact the TSB.

Citation

Transportation Safety Board of Canada, Marine Transportation Safety Investigation Report M19C0043 (released 01 November 2019).

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M19C0043

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Liens connexes (M19C0043)

Heurt d'un quai
Transbordeur roulier à passagers Apollo
Godbout (Québec)

Historique du navire

L'Apollo (numéro OMI [Organisation maritime internationale] 7006314, figure 1) est un transbordeur roulier à passagersNote de bas de page 1 immatriculé au Canada et construit en Allemagne en 1970. La plus grande partie des années de service de l'Apollo ont été passées en Europe du Nord à naviguer sur les mers Baltique et du Nord. Au fil des ans, ce navire a appartenu à différentes compagnies et a porté plusieurs noms avant qu'il soit renommé Apollo en 1995. En 2001, Labrador Marine Inc., entreprise basée à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a fait l'acquisition de l'Apollo. Pendant 18 ans, ce navire a fait la navette entre Blanc-Sablon (Québec) et St. Barbe (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), jusqu'à ce qu'il soit vendu à la Société des traversiers du Québec (STQ) en 2019. Par mesure d'urgence afin de rétablir le lien maritime entre Matane, Baie-Comeau et Godbout (Québec), la STQ a acquis ce navire pour remplacer le transbordeur roulier à passagers F.-A.-Gauthier, qui est hors service.

Au moment de l'événement à l'étude, le navire était certifié par la société de classification Bureau Veritas, sous l'autorité de Transports Canada, pour transporter 240 passagers et 30 membres d'équipage.

Figure 1. L'Apollo (Source : Richard Bélanger)
L'Apollo (Source : Richard Bélanger)

Déroulement de l'événement

Le 25 février 2019 à 8 hNote de bas de page 2, l'Apollo a quitté le port de Matane à destination de Godbout (Québec), avec 100 passagers et 28 membres d'équipage à son bord. Le pont des véhicules du navire était chargé, au maximum de sa capacité, de voitures et de camions. Le voyage s'est déroulé de la façon habituelle.

Vers 10 h, au moyen du téléphone à la passerelle, le timonier a appelé le capitaine en prévision de l'arrivée. Le capitaine est arrivé à la timonerie vers 10 h 08. Le navire se trouvait à environ 2 milles marins (NM) de Godbout et naviguait à quelque 15 nœuds en mode pilotage automatique. Prenant en considération des vents du nord-est soufflant à 25 nœuds par le travers tribord, le capitaine a décidé de maintenir la vitesse pour manœuvrer le navire tout en conservant une distance sécuritaire par rapport au quai du traversier à GodboutNote de bas de page 3. À 10 h 12, le capitaine a donné l'ordre au timonier de couper le mode pilotage automatique et de prendre la commande manuelle.

Vers 10 h 17, le navire est entré dans la baie de Godbout. Le capitaine a immédiatement ralenti la vitesse du navire à 11,7 nœuds; il a donné l'ordre au timonier de mettre la barre à bâbord et de gouverner le navire en direction du quai Saint-RégisNote de bas de page 4, puis vers le débarcadère. Le navire a viré vers le quai du traversier plus vite que prévu en réponse à la manœuvre. Alors que le navire virait rapidement, le capitaine a pris la commande du navire sur l'aileron extérieur bâbord. Il a immédiatement mis la barre à tribord toute et a de nouveau réduit la vitesse tout en maintenant une vitesse minimale vers l'avant pour conserver la capacité de gouverne du navire.

Figure 2. Lieu de l'événement (Source de l'image principale : Service hydrographique du Canada, carte CA1236, avec annotations du BST. Source de l'image insérée : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
Lieu de l'événement (Source de l'image principale : Service hydrographique du Canada, carte CA1236, avec annotations du BST. Source de l'image insérée : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST

Le navire n'a pas réagi comme prévu en raison des réductions successives de la vitesse du navire, ce qui a causé une diminution de l'écoulement de l'eau sur les gouvernails. Pour compenser, le capitaine a inversé la propulsion à tribord, tout en maintenant la propulsion bâbord vers l'avant, et a simultanément activé le propulseur d'étrave. Le navire a cessé de virer à bâbord, mais a continué d'avancer. Lorsque le capitaine s'est rendu compte qu'une collision avec l'extrémité du quai du traversier était inévitable, pour réduire au minimum la force du choc et tout dommage subséquent, il a inversé le moteur bâbord de manière à ce que les deux moteurs fassent marche arrière. Le navire a continué d'avancer lentement, et la glace griseNote de bas de page 5 qui couvrait le port l'a fait dévier vers le quai du traversier.

À 10 h 18, le navire a percuté l'extrémité du quai du traversier (figure 2). À 10 h 19, à la suite de l'impact, l'équipage a brièvement inspecté le navire pour déterminer l'ampleur des dommages. L'inspection a révélé un trou dans la visière d'étrave d'environ 1 m de hauteur et de 2 m de largeur, avec des déformations sur une surface de quelque 9 m². À 10 h 45, le navire a été amarré au quai du traversier, et les passagers ont débarqué. Malgré les dommages causés par l'impact, l'équipage a pu relever la visière et a déchargé le pont des véhicules.

Figure 3. Dommages à la visière d'étrave de l'Apollo (Source : Alexandre Boudreau)
Dommages à la visière d'étrave de l'Apollo (Source : Alexandre Boudreau)

Vers 15 h, 2 inspecteurs de la sécurité maritime de Transports Canada ont inspecté l'Apollo. Après l'inspection, le navire a été autorisé à se rendre à Matane pour y subir des réparations. À 16 h, l'Apollo a quitté Godbout sans passagers à bord et escorté par le navire de la Garde côtière canadienne Des Groseilliers. L'Apollo est arrivé à Matane à 19 h 30.

Conditions environnementales

Le 25 février, au moment de l'événement à l'étude, il neigeait, et la visibilité était d'environ 1 NM à Godbout (Québec). Le vent soufflait du nord-est à une vitesse de 25 à 30 nœuds. La température de l'air était d'environ −6 °C. La couverture de glace était de 8/10.

Expérience du capitaine

Le capitaine de l'Apollo est entré au service de la STQ en 2015 à titre de deuxième officier et de premier officier de pont de relève. En novembre 2016, après avoir obtenu un brevet de capitaine à proximité du littoral, il a commencé à naviguer comme capitaine de relève. Il est devenu capitaine permanent à la STQ en mars 2017. Depuis son embauche, il avait réalisé quelque 400 débarquements à Godbout, dont plusieurs en conditions hivernales, aux commandes d'autres navires de la STQ sans incident.

Le capitaine faisait partie de l'équipe de la STQ dépêchée à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador pour prendre possession de l'Apollo. L'équipage de l'ancien propriétaire a été responsable du déplacement du navire, de St. Barbe (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) à Matane (Québec). C'est durant ce voyage que le capitaine s'est familiarisé avec le navire. En outre, dans le cadre de sa formation, des essais en mer ont eu lieu au large de Matane, et il y a eu un exercice de débarquement à Baie-Comeau et à Godbout pour vérifier la compatibilité du navire avec les modifications que la STQ avait récemment apportées à ses infrastructures terrestres.

Avant la date de l'événement à l'étude, le capitaine avait effectué 7 voyages aller-retour de Matane à Baie-Comeau aux commandes de l'Apollo. Le jour de l'événement, le capitaine effectuait son premier voyage de Matane à Godbout avec des passagers à bord.

Description des systèmes de propulsion et de manœuvre du navire

Construit en 1970, l'Apollo était équipé d'un système de propulsion conventionnel composé de 2 moteurs diesels à 4 temps et à simple effet, chacun d'une puissance nominale pouvant atteindre 3330 kW, d'engrenages réducteurs et de 2 arbres porte-hélice, chacun entraînant une hélice à pas variable. Le navire était équipé d'un propulseur d'étrave électrique bidirectionnel à pas fixe.

En 2005, le moteur bâbord du navire a été remplacé par un moteur principal d'une puissance nominale de 4000 kW. Le temps de réaction du nouveau moteur est plus rapide que celui du moteur tribord, qui est plus âgé. Il faut tenir compte de la différence entre ces temps de réaction durant la manœuvre du navire.

La gouverne du navire est assurée par 2 gouvernails partiellement compensésNote de bas de page 6. En général, tous les gouvernails subissent une baisse d'efficacité durant les manœuvres à basse vitesse. Cette baisse est attribuable à une réduction de l'écoulement d'eau près de l'étambot, ce qui influe sur la pression exercée sur les gouvernails.

L'alimentation électrique à bord de l'Apollo provient de 3 moteurs auxiliaires générant un courant alternatif triphasé d'une puissance nominale de sortie de 500 kW chacun. L'état mécanique des moteurs diesels des génératrices est tel qu'ils ne peuvent fonctionner à plus de 50 % de leur charge nominale.

Le propulseur d'étrave électrique transversal à pas fixe, d'une puissance de 478 kW, est conçu pour fonctionner à 3 vitesses différentes et procure à l'Apollo une poussée latérale durant les manœuvres à basse vitesse. Malgré sa conception, le propulseur ne peut fonctionner à sa première vitesse que pendant environ 1 minute, et à sa deuxième vitesse que pendant 15 secondes. La troisième vitesse du propulseur est inutilisable, étant donné l'alimentation électrique limitée. Une utilisation prolongée du propulseur d'étrave entraîne une surchauffe des moteurs auxiliaires, ce qui déclenche la protection de surchauffe et les éteint automatiquement, avec risque d'une potentielle panne totale de courant à bord. L'incapacité d'utiliser la pleine capacité nominale du propulseur d'étrave est une contrainte supplémentaire sur la capacité du capitaine à manœuvrer le navire.

La passerelle de navigation du navire est constituée d'une timonerie qui contient les instruments et les commandes de navigation, et de 2 ailerons extérieurs. Chaque aileron est muni d'une console qui comprend des commandes pour le propulseur d'étrave, les gouvernails et les moteurs. À partir des ailerons, le personnel de navigation a une vue entièrement dégagée du quai pour l'aider dans ses manœuvres d'accostage.

Message de sécurité

L'enquête a permis de révéler les conditions suivantes à bord de l'Apollo :

  • Les 2 moteurs principaux étaient de puissances différentes et avaient des temps de réaction différents. La réaction plus lente du moteur tribord a réduit le couple requis pour contrer la giration du navire lors de la manœuvre d'approche.
  • L'incapacité des moteurs auxiliaires de fonctionner à plus de 50 % de leur puissance nominale a contraint le capitaine à réduire au minimum l'utilisation du propulseur d'étrave pendant qu'il manœuvrait le navire.
  • Le peu d'expérience du capitaine à manœuvrer le navire acquis récemment ainsi que la formation limitée qu'il a reçue à cet égard ont mené à une évaluation erronée de la vitesse et du cap du navire, et des effets de la glace et du vent à l'approche du quai du traversier à Godbout.

Pour la sécurité du navire, de ses passagers et de l'environnement, il est important que toute machine conçue pour aider le capitaine à manœuvrer le navire soit en bon état de fonctionnement, et que le capitaine connaisse bien la réaction des machines ainsi que leurs limitations opérationnelles.

À propos de ce rapport d'enquête

Ce rapport est le résultat d’une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Pour de plus amples renseignements, se référer à la Politique de classification des événements.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Vous pouvez utiliser et reproduire ce document selon les conditions indiquées dans les Avis.

Conditions d'utilisation

Reproduction non commerciale

À moins d'avis contraire, vous pouvez reproduire ce rapport d'enquête en totalité ou en partie à des fins non commerciales, dans un format quelconque, sans frais ni autre permission, à condition :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable quant à la précision du contenu reproduit;
  • de préciser le titre complet du contenu reproduit, ainsi que de stipuler que le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada est l'auteur;
  • de préciser qu'il s'agit d'une reproduction de la version disponible au [URL où le document original se trouve].

Reproduction commerciale

À moins d'avis contraire, il est interdit de reproduire ce rapport d'enquête, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins de diffusion commerciale sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission écrite du BST.

Contenu faisant l'objet du droit d'auteur d'une tierce partie

Une partie du contenu de ce rapport d'enquête (notamment les images pour lesquelles une source autre que le BST est citée) fait l'objet du droit d'auteur d'une tierce partie et est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur et des ententes internationales. Pour des renseignements sur la propriété et les restrictions en matière des droits d'auteurs, veuillez communiquer avec le BST.

Citation

Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada, Rapport d'enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M19C0043 (publié le 1er novembre 2019).

This report is also available in English.

Date de modification :