Recommendation A95-10

Reassessment of responses to Aviation Safety Recommendation A95-10

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Ground proximity warning systems (GPWS)

Background

The flight departed Winnipeg, Manitoba, at 1438 Central standard time for Sandy Lake, Ontario. On arrival at Sandy Lake at approximately 1549, the crew attempted to land but were unable to because of the low ceiling and visibility. They then diverted to St. Theresa Point, Manitoba, landing at 1630. After a normal turnaround, the flight returned to Sandy Lake and landed at approximately 1745. The aircraft took off from Runway 29 at Sandy Lake at approximately 1805 and immediately entered a right turn. After turning through about 120 degrees, the aircraft descended into 100-foot trees and crashed. All seven occupants of the aircraft were fatally injured, and the aircraft was destroyed.

The Board determined that, after take-off, the crew most likely lost situational awareness and, as a result, did not detect the increasing deviation from their intended flight path. Contributing to the loss of situational awareness was the lack of alternating current (AC) power to some of the flight instruments; the reason for the lack of AC power could not be determined.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A93H0023 on 14 March 1995.

Board Recommendation A95-10 (14 March 1995)

In an effort to reduce controlled flight into terrain (CFIT) accidents in commercial operations, the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) made ground proximity warning systems (GPWS) mandatory on all turbine-powered (that is, both turbo-jet and turbo-prop) aircraft capable of carrying 10 or more passengers, effective 20 April 1994. It is understood that similar measures are not being contemplated at this time for Canadian-registered turbo-prop aircraft.

Over the preceding 11 years, 68 commercially operated aircraft were involved in CFIT accidents; 13 of these were turbo-prop aircraft. The Board believes that the increased level of safety provided by GPWS should not be related to an aircraft's type of propulsion. Rather, GPWS installation should be based on the role of the aircraft and its passenger-carrying capacity. The Board commends the initiative of some operators to install GPWS in their aircraft, even though it is not required by Canadian regulations. However, most turbo-prop aircraft, some carrying dozens of passengers, continue to operate without the added safety protection of GPWS. Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport require the installation of GPWS on all turbine-powered, IFR-approved, commuter and airline aircraft capable of carrying 10 or more passengers.
A95-10

Response to A95-10 (14 June 1995)

In its response of 14 June 1995, Transport Canada (TC) noted that the current Canadian regulations with respect to GPWS state that no person shall operate a turbo-jet powered aeroplane that has a maximum certificated take-off weight of more than 15 000 kg (33 069 pounds) or for which a type certificate has been issued authorizing the carriage of 10 or more passengers unless the aircraft is equipped with GPWS. These provisions are contained in the draft Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

This regulatory requirement does not include all turbine-powered aeroplanes in the commuter and airline category. TC reported that it will refer the recommendation to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC), Part VII Technical Committee for analysis. The CARAC Regulatory Committee will review the analysis before making a decision on whether the regulations should be expanded to include all commuter and airline aircraft.

Board assessment of the response to A95-10 (04 July 1995)

The reply does not indicate whether TC accepts or rejects this recommendation, but does promise to send it to the CARAC for analysis. The CARAC Regulatory Committee will decide whether the regulations should be expanded to include all turbine-powered aircraft.

TC has not provided rationale for its continued differentiation between turbo-jet and turbo-prop aircraft for GPWS installations, especially considering that large turbo-prop aircraft are comparable in most respects to their pure jet counterparts in the airline category.

The deficiency behind Recommendation A95-10 will apparently continue for the foreseeable future.

Therefore, the reply is assessed as Unsatisfactory.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Response to A95-10 (14 December 2005)

In its 14 December 2005 response, TC noted that Terrain Awareness Warning System (TAWS) is the technology, which supersedes GPWS, and is certified to overcome the deficiencies inherent in GPWS.

Notices of Proposed Amendment (NPAs) for TAWS were presented at the Part VII Technical Committee's meeting in February and June of 2003. Dissents to these NPAs were dispositioned by the CARAC on 29 October 2003. The NPAs then advanced to the legal drafting stage. There is a strong possibility that the regulations will be published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in late 2005 or early 2006.

The proposed regulations will require TAWS installations regardless of power-plant type. Air Taxi (CAR 703) and Commuter (CAR 704) aeroplanes will require Class B TAWS when configured between 6 to 9 passenger seats. Any turbine-powered aeroplanes meeting these criteria will be required to be equipped with TAWS equipment. Commuter (CAR 704) aeroplanes configured with more than 10 passenger seats will require Class A TAWS and a Terrain Awareness Display (TAD). Most of these aeroplanes are turbine-powered. Aeroplanes in Airline (CAR 705) operations will require a Class A TAWS and a TAD. Most aeroplanes under CAR 705 operations are turbine-powered.

In the package of new regulations, there are also regulations under CAR 605 requiring turbine-powered aeroplanes configured with more than 6 passenger seats to be equipped with Class B TAWS.

The proposed regulations require that TAWS provide accurate alerting despite temperature and pressure deviations from standard atmosphere, which are common conditions in the Canadian operating environment, particularly during winter. The proposed regulations also provide alleviations for equipage to operators who operate exclusively under day visual flight rules conditions.

Board reassessment of the response to A95-10 (12 July 2006)

On 14 December 2005, TC noted that TAWS will overcome the deficiencies of GPWS technology. TAWS-related NPAs were approved by the CARAC in February 2003 and advanced to the legal drafting stage. TC indicated a strong possibility that the regulations would be published in Canada Gazette by early 2006. A May 2006 review of the NPAs indicated that they were still either pending legal editing or publication in Canada Gazette.

Since 1995, there have been six TSB investigations (10 fatalities) involving aircraft not fitted, nor required to be fitted, with GPWS (TAWS), and in which the TSB's findings indicated that the use of GPWS (TAWS) could possibly have prevented the occurrences.

The Board is concerned that, until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency continues to exist. Because this proposed regulatory change, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A95-10, the assessment is Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Response to A95-10 (07 February 2007)

Notices of Proposed Amendment (NPA) for TAWS were presented at the Part VII technical committee's in February and June of 2003. Dissents to these NPAs were considered by CARC on October 29, 2003. The NPAs then advanced to the legal drafting stage. As of December 2006, the drafting of the regulations is complete. The regulations were expected to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette Part I by April or May 2007, but this date has been pushed back to sometime in the fall of 2007.

Board reassessment of the response to A95-10 (24 July 2007)

The Board continues to be concerned that until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency will persist. This proposed regulatory change, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A95-10, and thus the assessment is Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Response to A95-10 (6 March 2008)

In its 6 March 2008 update, TC notes that the proposed regulations are still in the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) process, and states that it is possible that the regulations may be pre-published in the Canada Gazette Part I in 2008.

Board reassessment of the response to A95-10 (13 August 2008)

The Board continues to be concerned that until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency will persist. This proposed regulatory change, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A95-10.

Therefore, the assessment is Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Response to A95-10 (15 February 2010)

TC's latest response indicates that its CARAC consultation of the TAWS-related NPAs and the drafting of regulations by the Department of Justice are complete.

Presently it is working towards attaining Treasury Board Secretariat's approval of the proposed Regulation. A cost/benefit analysis is in progress and once completed (estimated fall 2010) will be submitted to Treasury Board for approval as part of TC's Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement.

Board reassessment of the response to A95-10 (28 July 2010)

The Board continues to be very concerned that until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency will persist. This is why this safety issue is included on the Board's Watchlist. This regulatory change is required to substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A95-10.

Therefore, the assessment remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Transport Canada response to A95-10 (21 January 2011)

TC advises that the proposed regulatory changes have been drafted by the Department of Justice and after approval of the Minister of Transport and Treasury Board, are expected to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1 by spring 2011.

Board reassessment of the response to A95-10 (09 March 2011)

This safety issue is included on the Board's Watchlist and the Board continues to be very concerned that until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency will persist. This regulatory change is required to substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A95-10.

Therefore, the assessment remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will monitor TC's activity with respect to the progress and content of the proposed regulatory changes which are intended to address the risks associated with Recommendation A95-10.

Transport Canada’s response to A95-10 (03 December 2011)

May 2011 Input
April 27, 2011 - Transport Canada is pleased to confirm that proposed regulations will be published in the Canada Gazette Part I over the next few months.  The proposed amendments will introduce requirements for the installation of TAWS in private turbine-powered aeroplanes configured with six or more seats, excluding pilot seats, and in commercial aeroplanes configured with six or more seats excluding pilot seats. These proposed amendments will also introduce requirements for the installation of an Enhanced Altitude Accuracy (EAA) function in airline and commuter aeroplanes with ten or more seats, excluding pilot seats."

In an email dated 05 December 2011, TC informed the TSB that proposed regulatory amendments for TAWS have been pre-published on 03 December 2011, in the Canada Gazette, Part 1, Volume 145, No. 49. 

Board assessment of Transport Canada’s response to A95-10 (07 March 2012)

In its response, TC advises that the proposed regulatory changes were pre-published on 03 December 2011, in the Canada Gazette, Part 1, Volume 145, No. 49. The proposed regulatory amendments would introduce requirements for the installation of Terrain Awareness Warning Systems (TAWS) in private and commercial aircraft of a certain size. Operators would have two years from the date on which the regulations come into force to equip their aeroplanes with TAWS and five years to equip with EAA.

The proposed regulatory amendment brought forward by TC, if adopted and implemented, will exceed the criteria of this recommendation and will substantially reduce the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A95-10.

The response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB will monitor the progress of the proposed Regulations.

The deficiency file is assigned an Active status.

Transport Canada’s response to A95-10 (04 July 2012)

Canadian Aviation Regulations Amendments were published on 04 July 2012, in the Canada Gazette, Part 2, Volume 146, No. 14. These regulatory amendments introduce requirements for the installation of Terrain Awareness Warning Systems (TAWS) equipped with an Enhanced Altitude Accuracy (EAA) function in private turbine-powered aircraft configured with six or more passenger seats, excluding pilot seats, and in commercial aircraft configured with six or more passenger seats, excluding pilot seats.

Board assessment of Transport Canada’s response to A95-10 (05 September 2012)

TC advises that amendments to the Canadian Aviation Regulations were published on 04 July 2012, in the Canada Gazette, Part 2, Volume 146, No. 14. The regulatory amendments require the installation of Terrain Awareness Warning Systems (TAWS) in private and commercial aircraft of a certain size. Operators have two years from the date on which the regulations come into force to equip their aircraft with TAWS and five years to equip them with Enhanced Altitude Accuracy (EAA) systems.

The regulatory amendment brought forward by TC exceeds the criteria of this recommendation and will substantially reduce the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A95-10.

The response is considered Fully Satisfactory.

TSB action (05 September 2012)

The deficiency file is assigned an Inactive status.

Recommandation aérienne A95-10

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A95-10

Dispositifs avertisseurs de proximité du sol (gpws)

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

L'avion part de Winnipeg (Manitoba) à 14 h 38, heure normale du Centre, à destination de Sandy Lake (Ontario). L'équipage arrive à Sandy Lake vers 15 h 49 et tente d'atterrir, mais il en est incapable à cause du plafond bas et de la mauvaise visibilité. Il se déroute donc sur St. Theresa Point (Manitoba) où il se pose à 16 h 30. Après une escale normale, l'avion retourne à Sandy Lake où il se pose vers 17 h 45. Après avoir décollé de la piste 29 de l'aéroport de Sandy Lake vers 18 h 5, l'avion amorce immédiatement un virage à droite. Après avoir tourné sur environ 120 degrés, il descend dans des arbres de 100 pieds de hauteur et s'écrase. Les sept occupants de l'avion subissent des blessures mortelles; l'avion est détruit.

Le Bureau a déterminé qu'après le décollage, l'équipage a fort probablement perdu conscience de la situation et, par conséquent, ne s'est pas rendu compte de l'écart croissant que prenait l'avion par rapport à la trajectoire de vol prévue. Le fait que certains instruments de vol n'étaient pas alimentés en courant alternatif (c.a.) a contribué à cette perte de conscience de la situation; la raison pour laquelle il y a eu cette panne de c.a. n'a pu être déterminée.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête. Le rapport d'enquête A93H0023 a été publié le 14 mars 1995.

Recommandation A95-10 (14 mars 1995)

Dans l'espoir de réduire les accidents CFIT (impact sans perte de contrôle) mettant en cause des avions effectuant des vols commerciaux, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis a exigé le 20 avril 1994 que tous les aéronefs à turbine, c'est-à-dire les turbopropulseurs et les turboréacteurs, pouvant transporter au moins 10 passagers, soient équipés d'un dispositif avertisseur de proximité du sol (GPWS). On croit savoir que des mesures similaires ne sont pas envisagées à l'heure actuelle pour les avions turbopropulseurs immatriculés au Canada.

Au cours des 11 dernières années, 68 appareils commerciaux ont subi un accident CFIT; 13 d'entre eux étaient des turbopropulseurs. Le Bureau croit que le niveau de sécurité plus élevé qu'offre un GPWS ne devrait pas être lié au mode de propulsion de l'aéronef. L'installation d'un GPWS devrait plutôt se fonder sur l'utilisation qui est faite de l'aéronef et sa capacité en passagers. Le Bureau est heureux de constater que des exploitants ont pris l'initiative d'équiper leurs appareils d'un GPWS, bien que la réglementation canadienne ne l'exige pas. Or, la plupart des avions à turbopropulseurs, certains transportant des dizaines de passagers, continuent de voler sans la protection supplémentaire qu'offre un GPWS. Par conséquent, le Bureau a recommandé que :

le ministère des Transports exige que tous les aéronefs de ligne et de transport régional propulsés par turbine à gaz et approuvés pour le vol IFR, et pouvant transporter au moins 10 passagers, soient équipés d'un GPWS.

Recommandation A95-10 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (14 juin 1995)

Dans sa réponse du 14 juin 1995, Transports Canada a rappelé que les règlements canadiens actuels en matière de GPWS interdisent l'exploitation d'un avion à turboréacteurs dont la masse maximale certifiée au décollage ne dépasse pas 15 000 kg (33 069 livres) ou pour lequel un certificat type a été délivré autorisant le transport de 10 passagers ou plus, à moins que l'appareil soit équipé d'un GPWS. Ces dispositions apparaissent dans l'ébauche du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Cette disposition réglementaire ne vise pas tous les avions à turboréacteurs dans les catégories des avions de transport régional et des avions de ligne. Transports Canada a annoncé qu'il soumettra cette recommandation à l'analyse du Comité technique sur la partie VII du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC). Le Comité réglementaire du CCRAC passera l'analyse en revue, puis décidera si le règlement doit inclure tous les avions de transport régional et avions de ligne.

Évaluation du Bureau (4 juillet 1995)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada n'indique pas s'il accepte ou rejette cette recommandation, mais il promet de la soumettre au CCRAC pour analyse. Le Comité réglementaire du CCRAC décidera si le règlement doit inclure tous les avions à turboréacteurs.

Transports Canada n'a pas expliqué pourquoi il maintenait une distinction entre les avions à turbopropulseurs et les avions à turboréacteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de dispositifs de GPWS. Cette distinction est d'autant plus intrigante que les avions turbopropulseurs gros porteurs sont comparables, sous la plupart des aspects, à leurs équivalents à réaction dans la catégorie des avions de ligne.

La lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10 ne sera pas réglée dans un avenir prévisible.

C'est pourquoi le Bureau estime qu'une attention non satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (4 juillet 1995)

Le personnel du BST surveillera les activités de Transports Canada en ce qui a trait aux risques décrits dans la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada (14 décembre 2005)

Dans sa réponse du 14 décembre 2005, Transports Canada souligne que le système d'avertissement et d'alarme d'impact (TAWS), une technologie qui surpasse le GPWS, comblera certainement les lacunes inhérentes au GPWS.

Des avis de propositions de modifications (APM) relatifs au TAWS ont été présentés à l'occasion de la rencontre du Comité technique de la partie VII, en février et en juin 2003. Les opinions divergentes à ces APM ont été rejetées par le CCRAC le 29 octobre 2003. Les APM sont ainsi passés au stade de la rédaction du texte juridique. Il est fort possible que les règlements qui en résulteront soient publiés dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à la fin de 2005 ou au début de 2006.

La réglementation proposée rendra l'installation de TAWS obligatoire, peu importe le type de motorisation. Les taxis aériens (RAC 703) et les avions de transport régional (RAC 704) devront être équipés de TAWS de classe B lorsqu'ils seront configurés pour recevoir de 6 à 9 passagers. Tous les avions à moteurs à turbine qui correspondront à ces critères devront être équipés d'un TAWS. Les avions de transport régional (RAC 704) configurés pour accueillir au moins 10 passagers devront être équipés de TAWS de classe A et d'un dispositif d'affichage d'avertissement du relief (TAD). La plupart de ces avions sont équipés de moteurs à turbine. Les avions de ligne (RAC 705) devront être équipés de TAWS de classe A et d'un TAD. La plupart des avions soumis au RAC 705 sont équipés de moteurs à turbine.

L'ensemble des nouvelles dispositions réglementaires comprend également des dispositions qui, en vertu du RAC 605, exigeront que les avions équipés de moteurs à turbine configurés pour accueillir plus de 6 passagers soient équipés d'un TAWS de classe B.

La réglementation proposée exige que les TAWS fournissent des avertissements exacts malgré les écarts de température et de pression par rapport à l'atmosphère standard, puisque ces écarts sont courants dans l'espace aérien canadien, surtout l'hiver. De plus, la réglementation proposée prévoit des dispenses pour les exploitants qui n'effectuent que des vols selon les règles de vol à vue de jour.

Réévaluation du Bureau (12 juillet 2006)

Le 14 décembre 2005, Transports Canada a indiqué que les TAWS combleraient les lacunes inhérentes à la technologie du GPWS. Le CCRAC a approuvé, en février 2003, des APM traitant du TAWS, et les a conduits à l'étape de la rédaction des textes juridiques. Transports Canada a indiqué qu'il était fort probable que ces règlements soient publiés dans la Gazette du Canada au plus tard au début de 2006. Une analyse des APM effectuée en mai 2006 a permis d'apprendre qu'ils en étaient soit à l'étape de la rédaction des textes juridiques, soit en voie d'être publiés dans la Gazette du Canada.

Depuis 1995, on dénombre six enquêtes du BST (10 décès) mettant en cause des avions qui n'étaient pas équipés de GPWS (TAWS) et pour lesquels il n'y avait aucune obligation à cet effet. Dans toutes ces enquêtes, le BST a conclu que l'utilisation de GPWS (TAWS) aurait pu empêcher les accidents.

Le Bureau craint que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires soient promulgués, la lacune de sécurité persiste. Étant donné que la modification proposée à la réglementation, si elle était entièrement mise en œuvre, réduirait considérablement ou éliminerait la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (12 juillet 2006)

Le personnel du BST suivra les activités de Transports Canada en ce qui touche les risques décrits dans la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada (7 février 2007)

Des APM relatifs au TAWS ont été présentés à l'occasion de la rencontre du Comité technique de la partie VII, en février et en juin 2003. Des opinions divergentes à ces APM ont été prises en considération par le CCRAC le 29 octobre 2003. Les APM sont ensuite passés au stade de la rédaction du texte juridique qui a été terminée en décembre 2006. Les règlements devaient être publiés dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada en avril ou mai 2007, mais cette date a été reportée à l'automne 2007.

Réévaluation du Bureau (24 juillet 2007)

Le Bureau craint toujours que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires soient promulgués, la lacune de sécurité persiste. Cette modification, si elle était entièrement mise en œuvre, réduirait considérablement ou éliminerait la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10. En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (24 juillet 2007)

Le personnel du BST suivra les activités de Transports Canada en ce qui touche les risques décrits dans la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada (6 mars 2008)

Dans sa mise à jour du 6 mars 2008, Transports Canada souligne que les règlements proposés sont encore dans le processus du CCRAC et dit qu'il est possible que les règlements soient publiés dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada en 2008.

Réévaluation du Bureau (13 août 2008)

Le Bureau craint toujours que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires soient promulgués, la lacune de sécurité persiste. Cette modification, si elle était entièrement mise en œuvre, réduirait considérablement ou éliminerait la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (13 août 2008)

Le personnel du BST suivra les activités de Transports Canada en ce qui touche les risques décrits dans la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada (15 février 2010)

Dans sa dernière réponse, Transports Canada indique que les consultations du CCRAC sur les APM relatifs au TAWS et la rédaction de la réglementation par le ministère de la Justice sont terminées.

Le Ministère s'occupe actuellement de faire approuver la réglementation proposée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Une analyse coûts/avantages est en cours et, une fois terminée (vraisemblablement durant l'automne 2010), elle sera soumise à l'approbation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor dans le cadre du Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation soumis par Transports Canada.

Réévaluation du Bureau (28 juillet 2010)

Le Bureau craint toujours fortement que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires soient promulgués, la lacune de sécurité persiste. C'est pourquoi cette question de sécurité se trouve sur la Liste de surveillance du Bureau. Cette modification réglementaire est nécessaire pour réduire considérablement ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (28 juillet 2010)

Le personnel du BST suivra les activités de Transports Canada en ce qui touche les risques décrits dans la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-10 (21 janvier 2011)

TC mentionne que les modifications réglementaires proposées ont été rédigées par le ministère de la Justice et, après leur approbation par le ministre des Transports et le Conseil du Trésor, elles sont censées être publiées dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada avant la fin du printemps 2011.

Réévaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-10 (9 mars 2011)

Cette question de sécurité se trouve sur la Liste de surveillance du Bureau, et ce dernier craint toujours fortement que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires soient promulgués, la lacune de sécurité persiste. Cette modification réglementaire est nécessaire pour réduire considérablement ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-10.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (9 mars 2011)

Le personnel du BST surveillera les activités de TC relativement à l'évolution et au contenu des modifications réglementaires proposées qui sont censées gérer les risques associés à la recommandation A95-10.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-10 (mai et décembre 2011)

Apport de mai 2011
Le 27 avril 2011 - Transports Canada est heureux de confirmer que la réglementation proposée sera publiée dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au cours des prochains mois. Les modifications proposées vont présenter les exigences concernant l'installation d'un système d'avertissement et d'alarme d'impact (TAWS) à bord d'aéronefs à turbines privés comptant six sièges ou plus, excluant ceux des pilotes, et à bord d'avions commerciaux comptant six sièges ou plus, excluant ceux des pilotes. Ces modifications proposées présenteront également des exigences concernant l'installation d'une fonction de prévision renforcée de l'altitude (EAA) à bord des avions de sociétés aériennes et des avions-navettes comptant dix sièges ou plus, excluant ceux des pilotes. 

Dans un courriel daté du 5 décembre 2011, TC informait le BST que les modifications réglementaires proposées concernant les TAWS avaient fait l'objet d'une prépublication, le 3 décembre 2011, dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, Volume 145, no 49. 

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-10 (7 mars 2012)

Dans sa réponse, TC informe le Bureau que les modifications réglementaires proposées avaient fait l'objet d'une prépublication, le 3 décembre 2011, dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, Volume 145, no 49. Celles-ci présenteraient des exigences concernant l'installation de systèmes d'avertissement et d'alarme d'impact (TAWS) à bord d'avions privés et commerciaux d'une certaine taille. Les exploitants auraient un délai de deux ans à partir de la date d'entrée en vigueur de ce règlement pour doter leurs avions d'un système TAWS, et d'un délai de cinq ans pour les doter de la fonction de prévision renforcée de l'altitude (EAA).

La modification réglementaire proposée mise de l'avant par TC, si elle était adoptée et mise en œuvre, dépassera les critères de la présente recommandation et corrigera dans une grande mesure la lacune de sécurité relevée par la recommandation A95-10.

Le BST estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (7 mars 2012)

Le BST continuera de surveiller les progrès de la réglementation proposée.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-10 (4 juillet 2012)

Les modifications proposées au Règlement de l’aviation canadien ont été publiées le 4 juillet 2012 dans la partie 2 de la Gazette du Canada, Volume146, no 14. Ces modifications au règlement mettent en place des exigences concernant l’installation de systèmes d’avertissement et d’alarme d’impact (TAWS) dotés d’une fonction de prévision renforcée de l’altitude (EAA) à bord d’aéronefs privés propulsés par turbines et configurés pour recevoir six passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion des sièges de pilotes, et à bord d’aéronefs commerciaux configurés pour recevoir six passagers ou plus, à l’exclusion des sièges de pilotes.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-10 (5 septembre 2012)

TC avise que les modifications proposées au Règlement de l’aviation canadien ont été publiées le 4 juillet 2012 dans la partie 2 de la Gazette du Canada, Volume 146, no 14. Les modifications au règlement exigent l’installation de systèmes d’avertissement et d’alarme d’impact (TAWS) à bord d’aéronefs privés et commerciaux d’une certaine taille. Les exploitants disposent d’un délai de deux ans à partir de la date d’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle réglementation pour doter leurs aéronefs de systèmes TAWS, et d’un délai de cinq ans pour les doter de systèmes de prévision renforcée de l’altitude (EAA).

Les modifications au règlement mises de l’avant par TC dépassent les critères de la présente recommandation et vont corriger dans une mesure considérable la lacune de sécurité énoncée dans la recommandation A95-10.

Le BST estime que la réponse est entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (5 septembre 2012)

Le présent dossier est classé inactif.