Aviation Recommendation A13-01

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A13-01

Requirement for lightweight flight recorder system in commercially operated aircraft not governed by CARS 605.33

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

The Black Sheep Aviation and Cattle Co. Ltd. turbine powered de Havilland DHC-3 Otter (registration C-GMCW, serial number 108) departed Mayo on a 94 statute mile day visual flight rules flight to the Rackla Airstrip, Yukon. At 1507 Pacific Daylight Time, approximately 19 minutes after the aircraft had left Mayo, a 406 MHz emergency locator transmitter alert was received by the Canadian Mission Control Centre. The Joint Rescue Co-ordination Centre Victoria was notified and a commercial helicopter was dispatched from Ross River, Yukon. Aircraft wreckage was located on a hillside 38 nautical miles northeast of Mayo at 1833 Pacific Daylight Time. The wheel-ski equipped aircraft had experienced a catastrophic in-flight breakup and the pilot, who was the sole occupant, had sustained fatal injuries. There was no post-impact fire. Cockpit or data recordings were not available to the investigation and the identification and communication of safety deficiencies to advance transportation safety were precluded.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A11W0048 on 14 May 2013.

Board Recommendation A13-01 (14 May 2013)

Given the combined accident statistics for CARs subparts 702, 703, and 704 operations, there is a compelling case for industry and the regulator to proactively identify hazards and manage the risks inherent in these operations. In order to manage risk effectively, they need to know why incidents happen and what the contributing safety deficiencies may be. Moreover, routine monitoring of normal operations can help these operators both improve the efficiency of their operations and identify safety deficiencies before they result in an accident. In the event that an accident does occur, recordings from lightweight flight recording systems will provide useful information to enhance the identification of safety deficiencies in the investigation.

The Board acknowledges that there are issues that will need to be resolved to facilitate the effective use of recordings from lightweight flight recording systems, including questions about the integration of this equipment in an aircraft, human resource management, and legal issues such as the restriction on the use of cockpit voice and video recordings. Nevertheless, given the potential of this technology combined with FDM to significantly improve safety, the Board believes that no effort should be spared to overcome these obstacles.

Therefore the Board recommends that

the Department of Transport work with industry to remove obstacles to and develop recommended practices for the implementation of flight data monitoring and the installation of lightweight flight recording systems by commercial operators not currently required to carry these systems.
TSB Recommendation A13-01

Transport Canada’s response to A13-01 (14 August 2013)

On 14 August 2013, the TSB received a response to recommendation A13-01 from the Minister of Transport. The response identified that the Department of Transport has initiated discussions with industry during the conduct of a risk assessment (RA) to evaluate alternate approaches to flight data monitoring (FDM) in Canada, which took place earlier this year. The results of this risk assessment will be reviewed by the Civil Aviation Regulatory Committee (CARC) in fall 2013. In addition to the risk assessment, the Department intends to hold a focus group by 31 March 2014, with industry stakeholders to identify obstacles and barriers in regards to FDM to complement the results of the risk assessment and identify areas of best practices.

With respect to lightweight flight recording systems for commercial operators, the review and analysis will be incorporated with the assessment planned for cockpit voice recorders/flight data records, which is currently scheduled to begin in the year 2014-2015.

Board assessment of Transport Canada’s response to A13-01 (19 September 2013)

Transport Canada’s response to recommendation A13-01 contains a clear intent to begin the process of working with industry to remove obstacles and develop recommended practices for flight data monitoring systems and the use of light weight recorders. The TSB is encouraged by the measures TC proposes which, if fully implemented, will enable CARs subparts 702, 703, and 704 operators to proactively identify hazards and manage the risks inherent in their operations.

Therefore, the response is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB will monitor the progress of the implementation of the planned actions and will reassess the deficiency on an annual basis or when otherwise warranted.

Transport Canada’s response to A13-01 (26 November 2013)

October 2013 update

Transport Canada remains on track to convene a focus group with industry by March 2014.

February 2014 update

Please note that following the review of the risk assessment, the Department supports the TSB’s recommendation and has decided to proceed with the development of an Advisory Circular in 2015/16 to describe recommended practices regarding flight data monitoring (FDM) programs. In addition, the Department will consider adding FDM principles in future regulatory initiatives/amendments, which will be consulted through focus groups at that time.

Board assessment of the response to A13-01 (02 April 2014)

The Board notes Transport Canada’s commitment to proceed with the development of an Advisory Circular and to consider adding FDM principles in future regulatory initiatives/amendments. However, TC is silent on the issues of removing obstacles around the installation of lightweight flight data recording systems. Further, TC has not indicated how it will work with industry on these issues.

Given the paucity of information received from TC, the Board is Unable to Assess TC’s response.

Next TSB action

The TSB will continue to monitor the progress of the implementation of the planned actions and will request further information from TC to reassess the deficiency .

The deficiency file is assigned an Active status.

Recommandation aérienne A13-01

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.

Évaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A13-01

Enregistreur de bord léger obligatoire dans les aéronefs exploités à titre commercial non régis par l'article 605.33 du RAC

Contexte

Le de Havilland DHC-3 Otter à propulsion par turbine exploité par Black Sheep Aviation et Cattle Co. Ltd. (immatriculé C-GMCW, numéro de série 108) quitte Mayo pour effectuer un vol de jour de 94 milles terrestres selon les règles de vol à vue à destination de la bande d'atterrissage de Rackla (Yukon). À 15 h 07, heure avancée du Pacifique, environ 19 minutes après le départ de l'aéronef de Mayo, le Centre canadien de contrôle des missions capte un signal de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence de 406 MHz. Le Centre conjoint de coordination de sauvetage de Victoria en est avisé, et un hélicoptère commercial est envoyé de Ross River (Yukon). À 18 h 33, heure avancée du Pacifique, l'épave de l'aéronef est retrouvée sur le flanc d'une colline à 38 milles marins au nord-est de Mayo. L'aéronef équipé de roues et de skis s'est désintégré en vol, et le pilote, qui était seul à bord, a subi des blessures mortelles. Aucun incendie ne s'est déclaré après l'impact. Les enregistrements des conversations dans le poste de pilotage et des données de vol n'étaient pas disponibles lors de l'enquête, ce qui a empêché de déterminer et de communiquer les lacunes au chapitre de la sécurité et ainsi d'améliorer la sécurité des transports.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport A11W0048 le 14 mai 2013.

Recommandation A13-01 du Bureau (14 mai 2013)

Compte tenu des statistiques combinées sur les accidents impliquant les exploitations des sous-parties 702, 703 et 704 du RAC, il existe des arguments convaincants pour que l'industrie et l'organisme de réglementation déterminent les dangers et gèrent les risques inhérents à ces exploitations de façon proactive. Afin d'assurer une gestion efficace du risque, il faut savoir pourquoi les incidents se produisent et quelles pourraient être les lacunes de sécurité qui y ont contribué. En outre, une surveillance régulière des activités normales peut aider ces exploitants à améliorer leur efficacité opérationnelle et à déceler les lacunes de sécurité avant qu'elles ne causent un accident. Si un accident venait à se produire, les enregistrements de systèmes d'enregistrement des données de vol légers fourniraient des renseignements utiles pour permettre de mieux déterminer les lacunes de sécurité dans le cadre de l'enquête.

Le Bureau reconnaît qu'il faudra régler certains enjeux pour faciliter l'utilisation réelle des enregistrements provenant des enregistreurs des données de vol légers, notamment des questions relatives à l'intégration de cet équipement dans un aéronef, à la gestion des ressources humaines et aux enjeux d'ordre juridique, comme la restriction concernant l'utilisation d'enregistrements des conversations et vidéo dans le poste de pilotage. Néanmoins, compte tenu de ce que cette technologie combinée à la surveillance des données de vol offre comme possibilités d'améliorer considérablement la sécurité, le Bureau croit qu'aucun effort ne doit être épargné pour surmonter ces obstacles.

En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec l'industrie, élimine les obstacles et élabore des pratiques recommandées en ce qui a trait à la mise en œuvre du suivi des données de vol et à l'installation de systèmes d'enregistrement des données de vol légers par les exploitants commerciaux qui ne sont pas actuellement tenus de munir leurs aéronefs de ces systèmes. A13-01

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-01 (14 août 2013)

Le 14 août 2013, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a reçu une réponse du ministre des Transports à la recommandation A13-01. Cette réponse stipulait que le ministère des Transports avait engagé des discussions avec l'industrie, plus tôt cette année, dans le cadre d'une évaluation des risques visant à étudier d'autres méthodes de surveillance des données de vol au Canada. Le Comité de réglementation de l'Aviation civile (CRAC) étudiera les résultats de cette évaluation à l'automne 2013. En outre, le ministère souhaite réunir, d'ici au 31 mars 2014, un groupe de discussion composé des intervenants de l'industrie, afin de déterminer les obstacles et les entraves à la surveillance des données de vol, en vue de compléter les résultats de l'évaluation des risques et de définir les meilleures pratiques à adopter.

Dans le cas des enregistreurs des données de vol légers des exploitants commerciaux, la révision et l'analyse seront incorporées à l'évaluation planifiée des enregistreurs de conversations de poste de pilotage et des enregistreurs de données de vol, qui devrait débuter au cours de l'année 2014-2015.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13 01 (19 septembre 2013)

La réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-01 présente une intention claire d'engager le processus de discussion avec l'industrie afin d'éliminer les obstacles et d'élaborer des pratiques recommandées pour les systèmes de surveillance des données de vol et l'utilisation d'enregistreurs légers. Les BST se réjouit des mesures proposées par Transports Canada et est convaincu que leur mise en œuvre intégrale permettra aux exploitants relevant des sous-parties 702, 703 et 704 du RAC de déterminer les dangers et de gérer de façon proactive les risques inhérents à ces exploitations.

En conséquence, le BST évalue que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Prochaine mesure du BST (19 septembre 2013)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) surveillera la progression de la mise en œuvre des mesures proposées et réévaluera cette lacune sur une base annuelle ou lorsque la situation l'exigera.