Air transportation safety concerns and advisories

Safety concerns provide a marker to the industry and the regulator that the Board has identified a safety deficiency for which it does not yet have sufficient information to make a recommendation. As more data and analysis becomes available, and if the safety deficiency is found to be systemic and not redressed, the safety concern may lead to a recommendation. Safety concerns are usually communicated in final investigation reports.

Safety advisory letters are concerned with safety deficiencies that pose low to medium risks, and are used to inform regulatory or industry stakeholders of unsafe conditions. A safety advisory letter suggests remedial action to reduce risks to safety.

Date issued Subject No. To Related report
2019-08-13 Federal Aviation Administration Airworthiness Directive 2015-08-04 – Reliability of Main Spar Wing Lift Strut Assembly Inspection – Punch Test Method A19C0026-D1-A1 Civil Aviation, Transport Canada A19C0026
2018-11-15 Quad City Challenger II Advanced Ultralight – Bracket Failure A18O0106-D1-A1 Civil Aviation, Transport Canada A18O0106
2019-02-18 Cessna 206 emergency exit – Blocked double cargo door with faps extended A18W0129-D1-A1 Transport Canada A18W0129
2018-07-12 Aircraft landing on the closed portion of reduced-width runways at airports where repair and maintenance work is being conducted A18Q0094-D1-A1 Transport Canada, Civil Aviation A18Q0094
2018-06-01 Fairchild SA227-AC Metro III – Aircraft Flight Manual – Emergency Procedures (Low oil pressure indication) A17C0132-D1-A1 Transport Canada, Helicopter Association of Canada, Air Transport Association of Canada, and Northern Air Transport Association A17C0132
2017-12-21 Unsecured cargo and unrestrained passengers in helicopters A17O0264-D1-A1 Transport Canada, Helicopter Association of Canada, Air Transport Association of Canada, and Northern Air Transport Association A17O0264
2012-04-12 Inadequate Guidance for FDR Maintenance A11H0002-D2-L1 Transport Canada A11H0002
2012-02-08 IFR separation in Class D airspace A11H0002-D2-A1 1 Canadian Air Division Headquarters A11H0002
Date modified:

Préoccupations et avis de sécurité du transport aérien

Une préoccupation liée à la sécurité permet de souligner à l'industrie et à l'organisme de réglementation que le Bureau a relevé une lacune de sécurité pour laquelle, pour le moment, il ne possède pas suffisamment d'éléments de preuve pour formuler une recommandation. À mesure que davantage de données sont recueillies et d'analyses, produites, et si la condition dangereuse se révèle systémique et non rectifiée, la préoccupation liée à la sécurité peut mener à une recommandation. Les préoccupations liées à la sécurité sont habituellement communiquées dans les rapports d'enquête définitifs.

Les avis de sécurité portent sur des lacunes de sécurité qui posent des risques faibles à modérés, et visent à porter des conditions dangereuses à la connaissance des intervenants de la réglementation ou de l'industrie. Un avis de sécurité recommande des mesures correctives aptes à réduire les risques pour la sécurité.

Date d’émission Sujet No  Destinataire Événement connexe
2011-08-20 Espacement IFR dans l'espace aérien de classe D A11H0002-D2-A1 Quartier général de la 1re Division aérienne du Canada A11H0002
2012-04-12 Directives insuffisantes en matière d'entretien des FDR A1H0002-D2-A1 Aviation civile, Transports Canada A11H0002
2017-12-21 Cargaisons non arrimées et passagers sans ceinture de sécurité dans les hélicoptères A17O0264-D1-A1 Transports Canada, Helicopter Association of Canada, Association du transport aérien du Canada, et Northern Air Transport Association A17O0264
2018-06-01 Fairchild SA227-AC Metro III – Manuel de vol – Procédures d’urgence (indication de faible pression d’huile) A17C0132-D1-A1 Transports Canada A17C0132
2018-07-12 Atterrissages hors-piste survenant aux aéroports dont une partie longitudinale de la piste est fermée en raison de travaux de réfection A18Q0094-D1-A1 Aviation civile, Transports Canada A18Q0094
2019-02-18 Issue de secours de Cessna 206 – Porte de soute à deux battants bloquée par les volets sortis A18W0129-D1-A1 Transports Canada A18W0129
2019-08-13 Consigne de navigabilité 2015-08-04 de la Federal Aviation Administration – Fiabilité de l’inspection de l’ensemble de mâts de voilure du longeron principal – Méthode d’essai de perforation A19C0026-D1-A1 Transports Canada, Aviation civile A19C0026
Date de modification :