Commercial fishing safety

 View document
in PDF

Every year, safety deficiencies onboard fishing vessels continue to put at risk the lives of thousands of Canadian fish harvesters and the livelihoods of their families and communities. Various initiatives have sparked the development of a safety culture within the industry, but progress has been slow, sporadic, and localized.

The situation

The fishing industry—in Canada as abroad—has long registered disproportionately large numbers of accidents and fatalities.Footnote 1 Since 1992, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) has made 48 recommendationsFootnote 2 to address safety deficiencies, 13 (27%) of which are still outstanding. Fishing safety has been on the Watchlist since 2010.

In 2012, the TSB released a safety issues investigationFootnote 3 on the root causes of fatal fishing vessel accidents. Findings highlighted a number of systemic factors requiring attention, in particular: vessel modifications and their impact on stability; the lack of or failure to use lifesaving equipment, such as personal flotation devices (PFDs), immersion suits and emergency signaling devices; unsafe work practices; and inadequate regulatory oversight.

Number of occurrences in Canada

From 2011 to 2017, the TSB conducted 24 investigations where these systemic factors were associated with findings as to risk.Footnote 4 As shown in Table 1 below, the same period witnessed 63 fishing fatalities—an average of 9 fatalities per year—resulting from 47 fishing vessel accidents. Nearly 43% of those fatalities were due to falling overboard, and 35% to stability-related issues. The use of PFDs could not be ascertained in about 80% of the fatalities. No emergency signal was received by authorities in nearly half of the fatalities (44%).

Table 1. Fishing vessel fatalities by year and accident type, Canada, 2011–2017
  2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Total Fatalities by accident type as a percentage of all fatalities
Person(s) falling overboard 9 2 3 6 5 0 2 27 43%
Stability-related 0 1 6 2 6 6 1 22 35%
Accident on board 0 4 3 0 0 2 0 9 14%
Grounding 1 0 3 0 0 0 0 4 6%
Fire 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2%
Total 11 7 15 8 11 8 3 63 100%
Table 2. Fishing vessel fatalities in which PFD use was confirmed and/or in which there was no emergency signal, Canada, 2011–2017
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Total Percent
Total fatalities (all accident types) 11 7 15 8 11 8 3 63 100%
Fatalities in which PFD use was confirmed 0 4 3 0 3 4 1 15 *24%
Fatalities in which there was no emergency signal 5 1 7 3 8 4 0 28 *44%

Note:
* In some of the fatalities, there may have been both PFD use and no emergency signal.

Figure 1 shows the number of fishing fatalities over the last 15 years against the wider backdrop of commercial fishing activity in Canada in the same period (figure 2 and figure 3). Despite various safety initiatives, the number of fatalities continues to fluctuate widely from year to year without showing any sign of a downward trend. From 3 fatalities in 2017, the number increased to 17 in the first 10 months of 2018.

Figure 1. Number of fishing vessel fatalities, Canada, 2004–2018*
Number of fishing vessel fatalities, Canada, 2004–2018

* Number of fatalities at 19 October 2018. Source: TSB database.

Figure 2. Number of registered fish harvesters, Canada, 2004-2016**
Number of registered fish harvesters, Canada, 2004-2016

** Data for 2017 and 2018 not yet available. Source: Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Figure 3. Number of commercial fishing vessels landing a catch, Canada, 2004-2016**
Number of commercial fishing vessels landing a catch, Canada, 2004-2016

** Data for 2017 and 2018 not yet available. Source: Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The risks to fish harvesters, their operations, and their livelihoods

Safety deficiencies in the fishing industry put at risk the lives of fish harvesters, the efficiency and continuity of their operations, and the livelihoods of their families and communities. Those risks will remain until concerted and coordinated actions by federal and provincial authorities, industry leaders and safety advocates effectively influence and reinforce changes in behaviours and attitudes.

Developing and sustaining a strong safety culture is required to foster greater compliance with regulations, in particular with respect to vessel stability and the use of life-saving equipment. Addressing these two safety deficiencies would contribute to a significant reduction in the number of fishing-related fatalities given the number of deaths currently associated with falling overboard or stability/capsizing events.

Actions taken

In 2017, Transport Canada introduced the first phase of the new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations (for vessels up to 24.4 metres in length). It has implemented a number of oversight and education activities, by developing and delivering policy documents, inspector training, and guidance on the application of regulations. Transport Canada has also provided the fishing industry across the country with information and opportunities to participate in consultation sessions. In addition, it has implemented a program to help owners and operators ensure their vessels meet applicable regulations

Leadership from industry and communities

Some fishing associations have taken increasing leadership in developing guidelines for vessel modifications and stability. Some workers compensation boards have imposed fines to encourage safe work practices, and various organizations have launched education initiatives. As a result, there are signs of behavioural change among fish harvesters, but it is not consistent across regions and fisheries. Unlike other provinces, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island still do not have workplace legislation that is applicable to fishing vessels. Cultural change takes time, and it is slowly evolving one wharf and one fish harvester at a time.

Engaging parliamentarians

In 2018, TSB officials appeared twice before parliamentary committees to comment on recent investigation reports into fatal accidents involving small fishing vesselsFootnote 5 and to discuss improvements needed to make Canada's commercial fishing industry safer.

Actions required

This issue will remain on the Watchlist until there are sufficient indications that a sound safety culture has taken root throughout the industry and in fishing communities across the country, namely:

  • Federal and provincial authorities coordinate regulatory oversight of commercial fisheries to eliminate any existing gaps.
  • Transport Canada publishes and promotes user-friendly guidelines on vessel stability designed to reduce unsafe practices.
  • Fish harvesters are familiar with and adopt the new stability guidelines and the 2017 Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations to the extent that their change in practice is reflected in TSB investigations and focus group consultations with the industry.
  • Spurred by the leadership of industry and safety advocates, there is marked and widespread evidence—notably in TSB investigations— of behavioural changes among fish harvesters with respect to the use of flotation devices, immersion suits, emergency signaling devices, and safe work practices.
Date modified:

Sécurité de la pêche commerciale

 Consulter
le document en PDF

Chaque année, les lacunes de sécurité à bord de bateaux de pêche continuent de mettre en péril la vie de milliers de pêcheurs canadiens ainsi que les moyens de subsistance de leur famille et de leur communauté. Diverses initiatives ont favorisé le développement d’une culture de sécurité au sein de l’industrie, mais les progrès jusqu’ici ont été lents, sporadiques et localisés.

Contexte

L'industrie de la pêche, au Canada comme ailleurs, affiche depuis longtemps un nombre disproportionnellement élevé d'accidents et de décèsNote de bas de page 1. Depuis 1992, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a émis 48 recommandationsNote de bas de page 2 pour remédier aux lacunes de sécurité, dont 13 (27 %) sont toujours en suspens. La sécurité de la pêche figure sur la Liste de surveillance depuis 2010.

En 2012, le BST a publié une enquête sur les causes sous-jacentes des accidents mortels à bord des bateaux de pêcheNote de bas de page 3. Les constatations ont fait ressortir plusieurs facteurs systémiques dignes d'attention, notamment : les modifications apportées aux bateaux et leurs répercussions sur la stabilité; l'absence ou la non-utilisation de dispositifs de sauvetage, comme les vêtements de flottaison individuels (VFI), les combinaisons d'immersion et les appareils de signalement d'urgence; les pratiques de travail non sécuritaires; et une surveillance réglementaire inadéquate.

Nombre d'événements au Canada

De 2011 à 2017, le BST a mené 24 enquêtes dans lesquelles ces facteurs systémiques se sont retrouvés parmi les faits établis quant aux risquesNote de bas de page 4. Comme l'indique le tableau 1 ci-dessous, la même période a connu 63 décès parmi les pêcheur—soit une moyenne de 9 par année—dus à 47 accidents impliquant des bateaux de pêche. Près de 43 % de ces décès sont attribuables à des chutes par-dessus bord et 35 %, au manque de stabilité du navire. Il n'a pas été possible de confirmer le port du VFI pour environ 80 % des décès. Dans près de la moitié des cas (44 %), les autorités n'ont reçu aucun signal de détresse.

Tableau 1. Décès dans la pêche commerciale par année et par type d'accident, Canada, 2011–2017
  2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Total Décès par type d'accident en % de tous les décès
Personne(s) tombée(s) à la mer 9 2 3 6 5 0 2 27 43 %
Problème de stabilité 0 1 6 2 6 6 1 22 35 %
Accident à bord 0 4 3 0 0 2 0 9 14 %
Échouement 1 0 3 0 0 0 0 4 6 %
Incendie 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 %
Total 11 7 15 8 11 8 3 63 100 %
Tableau 2. Décès dans la pêche commerciale pour lesquels on a confirmé le port d'un VFI  et/ou l'absence d'un signal d'urgence, Canada, 2011–2017
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Total Pourcentage
Total des décès (tous types d'accidents) 11 7 15 8 11 8 3 63 100 %
Décès–port de VFI confirmé 0 4 3 0 3 4 1 15 *24 %
Décès–aucun signal d'urgence 5 1 7 3 8 4 0 28 *44 %

Note :
* Dans certains cas de décès, il est possible qu'on ait confirmé à la fois le port du VFI et l'absence d'un signal d'urgence.

La figure 1 indique le nombre de décès parmi les pêcheurs au cours des 15 dernières années par rapport aux activités de pêche commerciale au Canada pendant la même période (figure 2 et figure 3). Malgré diverses initiatives de sécurité, le nombre de décès continue de fluctuer considérablement d'une année à l'autre sans afficher la moindre tendance à la baisse. De 3 pertes de vie en 2017, ce nombre est passé à 17 au cours des 10 premiers mois de 2018.

Figure 1. Nombre de décès dans la pêche commerciale, Canada, 2004–2018*
Nombre de décès dans la pêche commerciale, Canada, 2004–2018

* Nombre de décès au 19 octobre 2018. Source : base de données du BST.

Figure 2. Nombre de pêcheurs enregistrés, Canada, 2004–2016**
Nombre de pêcheurs enregistrés, Canada, 2004–2016

** Les données pour 2017 et 2018 ne sont pas encore disponibles. Source  Ministère des pêches et océans du Canada.

Figure 3. Nombre de bateaux de pêche commerciale qui ont effectué des débarquements de prises, Canada, 2004-2016**
Nombre de bateaux de pêche commerciale qui ont effectué des débarquements de prises, Canada, 2004-2016

** Les données pour 2017 et 2018 ne sont pas encore disponibles. Source : Ministère des pêches et océans du Canada.

Risques pour les pêcheurs, leurs activités et leurs moyens de subsistance

Les lacunes de sécurité dans l'industrie de la pêche mettent en péril la vie des pêcheurs, l'efficacité et la pérennité de leurs activités, et les moyens de subsistance de leur famille et de leur communauté. Ces risques persisteront jusqu'à ce que les autorités fédérales et provinciales, les chefs de file de l'industrie et les militants pour la sécurité de la pêche prennent des mesures concertées et coordonnées pour influencer et renforcer un changement d'attitude et de comportement.

Il importe de promouvoir et d'appuyer l'instauration d'une solide culture de sécurité afin d'accroître la conformité à la réglementation, notamment en ce qui concerne la stabilité des bateaux et l'utilisation de l'équipement de sauvetage. En remédiant à ces deux lacunes de sécurité, on favorisera une réduction considérable du nombre de décès dans l'industrie vu le nombre de décès liés aux chutes par-dessus bord, aux problèmes de stabilité et au chavirement des bateaux.

Mesures prises

En 2017, Transports Canada a mis en œuvre la première phase du nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bâtiments de pêche (pour les bâtiments jusqu'à 24,4 mètres de longueur). Le ministère a mené plusieurs activités de surveillance et de formation, y compris l'élaboration et la diffusion de documents de politique, la formation des inspecteurs, et des directives sur l'application de la réglementation. Transports Canada a également offert aux membres de l'industrie de l'information et des séances de consultation partout au pays. De plus, le ministère a mis en œuvre un programme pour aider les propriétaires et exploitants à s'assurer que leurs bateaux sont conformes à la réglementation applicable.

Leadership sectoriel et communautaire

Certaines associations de pêcheurs ont fait preuve d'un leadership croissant en élaborant des lignes directrices concernant les modifications et la stabilité des bateaux. Certaines commissions des accidents du travail ont imposé des amendes pour encourager l'adoption de pratiques de travail sécuritaires, et diverses organisations ont lancé des initiatives de formation. Il y a donc des signes de changement dans le comportement des pêcheurs, mais ce changement est inégal d'une région ou d'une pêcherie à l'autre. Contrairement aux autres provinces, le Nouveau-Brunswick et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard n'ont toujours pas une réglementation sur la sécurité au travail applicable aux bateaux de pêche. Tout changement d'ordre culturel prend du temps, et celui-ci progresse lentement, un quai et un pêcheur à la fois.

Présentations auprès des parlementaires

En 2018, les dirigeants du BST ont comparu à deux reprises devant des comités parlementaires pour commenter certains récents rapports d'enquête sur des accidents mortels à bord de petits bateaux de pêche,Note de bas de page 5 et discuter des mesures nécessaires pour améliorer la sécurité de la pêche commerciale au Canada.

Mesures à prendre

Cet enjeu demeurera sur la Liste de surveillance jusqu'à ce qu'il y ait suffisamment d'indices qu'une saine culture de sécurité s'est établie à l'échelle de l'industrie et dans les communautés de pêcheurs partout au pays, notamment :

  • Les autorités fédérales et provinciales coordonnent la surveillance réglementaire des pêcheries commerciales de façon à combler toutes lacunes existantes.
  • Transports Canada publie des lignes directrices conviviales sur la stabilité des bateaux de pêche et en fait la promotion afin de réduire les pratiques non sécuritaires.
  • Les pêcheurs connaissent et suivent les nouvelles lignes directrices sur la stabilité des bateaux de pêche ainsi que le Règlement sur la sécurité des bâtiments de pêche de 2017 dans la mesure où les enquêtes du BST et les consultations auprès de groupes témoins décèlent un changement dans les méthodes de travail.
  • Grâce au leadership provenant de l'industrie et des militants pour la sécurité de la pêche, les pêcheurs doivent manifester un changement de comportement net et généralisé—notamment lors des enquêtes du BST—en ce qui concerne leur utilisation des vestes de flottaison, des vêtements de survie, des dispositifs de signalisation d'urgence et des méthodes de travail sécuritaires.
Date de modification :