News release

Associated links (R18Q0046)

Uncontrolled movement led to May 2018 derailment at Sept-Îles Yard, Quebec

Dorval, Quebec, 15 August 2019 — In its investigation report (R18Q0046) released today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) found that accumulated corrosion inside a coupler led to a May 2018 uncontrolled movement and derailment of rolling stock on non-main track at Sept-Îles Yard, in Sept-Îles, Quebec.

On 1 May 2018, at approximately 1425 Eastern Daylight Time, a cut of 17 empty mixed freight cars uncoupled from a yard assignment train at the marshalling yard of the Quebec North Shore and Labrador Railway (QNS&L) in Sept-Îles, Quebec. The cut of cars ran uncontrolled and headed toward the yard shop. The first four of the 17 cars left the track when going over a sliding derail, and rolled onto a concrete surface. The lead car went through the bay door and entered the repair shop, striking a parked track unit, which derailed. The cut of cars travelled a total distance of about 1700 feet. There were no injuries and no dangerous goods were involved.

The TSB’s investigation found that when the movement was coupled to an ore car, the coupler lock likely dropped only partially into position due to the accumulated corrosion. When subsequent movements subjected the coupler to in-train forces, the engaged edges of the lock and the coupler slipped, causing the release of the lock and the unintended opening of the coupler. In addition, switching operations at Sept-Îles Yard that day were being performed while the movement’s brake pipe was not charged with air. The emergency brakes were thus not available.

For the protection of employees, a sliding derail had been installed approximately 60 feet away from the shop on the track leading to the door of bay No. 4, in compliance with industry best practices. The investigation determined that, due to the presence of a concrete surface surrounding the shop, there was only approximately 20 feet of ballast available to trap and stop the derailed cars—an amount that proved insufficient.

Following this occurrence, QNS&L issued a circular stating that rolling stock must be charged with air and have sufficient operational brakes. QNS&L also implemented new lock-out procedures for the protection of employees and initiated a project for the replacement of sliding derails with switch derails.

See the TSB investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Liens connexes (R18V0016)

Un mouvement non contrôlé a mené au déraillement survenu en mai 2018 au triage Sept-Îles (Québec)

Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 15 août 2019 — Dans son rapport d'enquête (R18Q0046) publié aujourd'hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a déterminé qu'une accumulation de corrosion dans un attelage a mené à un mouvement non contrôlé et à un déraillement de matériel roulant sur une voie non principale au triage Sept-Îles, à Sept-Îles (Québec).

Le 1er mai 2018, vers 14 h 25, heure avancée de l'Est, une rame de 17 wagons vides de marchandises mixtes s'est dételée d'un train d'affectation de triage au triage Sept-Îles du Chemin de fer QNS&L à Sept-Îles (Québec). La rame de wagon est partie à la dérive et s'est dirigée vers l'atelier du triage. Les quatre premiers wagons parmi les 17 wagons de la rame ont quitté la voie sur un dérailleur coulissant, puis ont roulé sur une surface bétonnée. Le wagon de tête a pénétré dans l'atelier de réparation après avoir enfoncé la porte de la baie et a ensuite heurté un véhicule d'entretien stationné, qui a déraillé. La rame a parcouru un total d'environ 1700 pieds. Il n'y a eu aucun blessé, et aucune marchandise dangereuse n'a été en cause.

L'enquête du BST a permis de déterminer que lorsque le train a été attelé à un wagon de minerai, il est probable que le verrou de l'attelage ne soit tombé que partiellement en position en raison d'une accumulation de corrosion. Lors des mouvements subséquents, l'attelage a été sollicité par les forces s'exerçant sur le train, et les bords engagés du verrou et de l'attelage ont glissé, ce qui a provoqué le dégagement du verrou et l'ouverture inopinée de la mâchoire. De plus, les opérations d'aiguillage dans le triage Sept-Îles étaient effectuées ce jour-là sans que la conduite générale du train soit alimentée en air. Par conséquent, les freins d'urgence n'étaient pas disponibles.

Pour assurer la protection du personnel, un dérailleur coulissant avait été installé à environ 60 pieds de l'atelier sur la voie qui mène à la porte de la baie no 4, conformément aux pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie. L'enquête a permis de déterminer qu'en raison de la présence d'une surface bétonnée entourant l'atelier, il n'y avait qu'environ 20 pieds de ballast disponibles pour enliser et arrêter les wagons déraillés, ce qui est largement insuffisant.

Après l'événement, QNS&L a émis une circulaire qui stipule que le matériel roulant doit être alimenté en air et avoir suffisamment de freins opérationnels. QNS&L a également mis en œuvre de nouvelles procédures de verrouillage pour assurer la protection des employés et lancé un projet de remplacement des dérailleurs coulissants par des dérailleurs à aiguille.

Voir la page d’enquête pour plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :