Air transportation safety investigation report A19C0026

Associated links

Wing lift strut assembly failure and collision with terrain
Piper J3C-65, C-FLDQ (privately registered)
Snowshoe Lake, Ontario

History of the flight

On 30 March 2019, a privately registered, ski-equipped Piper J3C-65 aircraft (registration C-FLDQ, serial number 16839) was conducting a visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Gun Lake, Ontario, to Snowshoe Lake, Ontario, approximately 53 nautical miles (NM) northwest of Kenora Airport (CYQK), Ontario, with the pilot and 1 passenger on board. The purpose of the flight was to transport the passenger to a hunting and fishing outpost lodge to complete some renovations. The passenger was an employee of the pilot, who owned both the aircraft and the lodge.

On arrival at Snowshoe Lake, at approximately 1319,Footnote 1 the pilot conducted a low pass from a north-northwest direction, near the outpost lodge, to advise lodge guests of their arrival. During the low pass, control of the aircraft was lost and the aircraft struck the frozen surface of the lake. Bystanders at the lodge responded immediately and called for emergency services.

The pilot was fatally injured. The passenger received serious injuries and died 6 days later. The aircraft was destroyed; there was no post-impact fire. The aircraft was not equipped with an emergency locator transmitter (ELT), though one was required by regulation.

Aircraft information

The occurrence Piper J3C-65 was a single-engine, high-wing, 2-place (tandem) airplane with a conventional landing gear and was manufactured by the Piper Aircraft Corporation in 1946. The aircraft was later modified with a Continental C90-12F engineFootnote 2 and was equipped with skis for operation on snow and ice surfaces. It had a total fuel capacity of 12 U.S. gallons and was certified for day-VFR operations only.

The occurrence aircraft was subject to U.S. Federal Aviation Administration Airworthiness Directive (AD)Footnote 3 2015-08-04Footnote 4, which required inspection of the main spar wing lift strut assemblies for corrosion. The AD became effective in June 2015 and is required to be complied with every 24 months. A review of the aircraft's maintenance records did not find any record of compliance with AD 2015-08-04.

Weight and balance

The aircraft had an empty weight of 741 pounds and a maximum take-off weight of 1220 pounds (on skis). The investigation was unable to determine how much fuel was on board the aircraft at the time of the accident. A review of the aircraft empty and operational weight and balance determined that the aircraft was operated within the specified weight and centre of gravity limitations.

Pilot information

The pilot held a Canadian commercial pilot licence – aeroplane, which had been issued on 04 September 1990, and a valid Category 3 medical certificate. Information gathered during the investigation indicated he had accumulated approximately 3000 hours total flight time, of which approximately 2500 hours were on the occurrence aircraft. Records indicated that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

Weather information

The aerodrome routine weather report (METAR) issued at CYQK—the nearest source of aviation weather, located 53 NM southeast of Snowshoe Lake—indicated that the weather at 1300 (approximately 19 minutes before the accident) was as follows:

  • winds from 320° true (T), varying from 280°T to 360°T, at 12 knots, gusting to 19 knots;
  • visibility 15 statute miles;
  • few clouds at 4300 feet above ground level (AGL) and broken ceiling at 7200 feet AGL;
  • temperature −4 °C.

The weather was not considered a contributing factor in the occurrence.

Wreckage examination

The aircraft struck the frozen surface of the lake in an inverted position and at a shallow angle, with a high rate of vertical descent and at high forward speed. The aircraft came to rest in an upright position approximately 125 feet from the initial point of impact, facing north (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Wreckage site (Source: TSB)
Wreckage site (Source: TSB)

The pilot flew the aircraft from the front seat and the passenger was seated in the rear of the aircraft. Only the front seat was equipped with a flight control stick. The aircraft was equipped with front and rear lap belts, and did not have the rear passenger seat installed. The investigation determined that the pilot and passenger were not wearing their lap belts at the time of the occurrence.

The aircraft was loaded with miscellaneous items that had not been secured.

An inspection of all flight control cables did not reveal any pre-impact anomalies. Damage to the engine and propeller suggests that the propeller was rotating and that the engine was producing substantial power at the time of impact.

An inspection of the airframe at the site revealed that the left main spar wing lift strut assembly separated near the lower fork end attachment (Figure 2). A visual examination of the wing lift strut assembly revealed excessive corrosion in the area of the separation. The failed wing lift strut assembly was sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario, for further analysis.

Figure 2. Damage on the upper half of the left main spar wing lift strut assembly (Source: TSB)
Damage on the upper half of the left main spar wing lift strut assembly (Source: TSB)

Aircraft wing structure

The aircraft wing structure consists of a front and rear aluminium spar, aluminium leading edge and several aluminum rib assemblies, and is covered in fabric. The wings are attached to the top of the fuselage structure and supported approximately mid-span on each wing by front and rear wing lift strut assemblies. The wing lift strut assemblies are attached from the lower fuselage structure to each front and rear spar assembly of the wing. Wing lift struts transfer flight loads to the wings and are in tension during flight. Conversely, the wing lift struts are in compression when the aircraft is on the ground.

The Piper J3 series of aircraft was originally manufactured with wing lift struts equipped with 3/8-inch threaded fork ends. However, shortly after, the wing lift strut fork ends were increased in size to 7/16-inch threaded fork ends. Both types of wing lift struts were made of carbon steel and open at either end when the fork ends are removed. The occurrence aircraft was equipped with open-ended wing lift struts (part number 13233-4 for the main spar and part number 12352-4 for the rear spar) and 7/16-inch threaded fork ends.

In 1989, new sealed carbon steel wing lift strut assemblies were manufactured using 5/8-inch threaded fork ends. Installation of the new sealed wing lift strut assemblies terminates the recurring 24 month inspection requirement of AD 2015-08-04.

Wing lift strut examination

The TSB Engineering Laboratory's analysis of the failed wing lift strut assembly revealed that the failure was initiated by excessive corrosion and thinning of the load-bearing wall inside the wing lift strut, followed by fatigue, and eventual overload failure.

AD 2015-08-04 stipulates that either a punch test method outlined in the Piper Mandatory Service Bulletin (MSB) 528D or an ultrasonic method described in the AD itself may be used to inspect the wing lift strut assemblies to satisfy its requirements. If either of these tests identify significant corrosion, the AD requires that the wing lift strut assembly be replaced. The AD also allows for the replacement of the wing lift strut assembly instead of conducting one of the two permissible inspection methods.

The TSB Engineering Laboratory conducted further examination of the failed wing lift strut assembly and completed the punch test inspection prescribed in the MSB 528D, which states that if the punch test procedure creates a perceptible dentFootnote 5 using a punch tester,Footnote 6 then the wing lift strut assembly metal is corroded beyond specified limits and the wing lift strut assembly is to be replaced before further flight. If no perceptible dent is evident then the wing lift strut assembly can remain in service. Representatives of Piper Aircraft Inc. and Transport Canada (TC) observed the tests. Several punch tests were completed in areas immediately surrounding, and further from, the fractured area on both the lower and upper halves of the failed wing lift strut assembly.

The alternative inspection method described by the AD is the ultrasonic method. Whereas the typical thickness of an exemplar wing lift strut assembly wall is between 0.034 and 0.041 inch, the ultrasonic inspection procedure specifies that wall thickness measurements of 0.024 inch or less require replacement of the wing lift strut assembly prior to further flight. Although an ultrasonic inspection was not completed on the failed wing lift strut assembly, an examination using a scanning electron microscope was accomplished to take accurate measurements of wall thickness. This examination determined the following:

  • the heavily corroded area on the lower half of the failed wing lift strut assembly had a remaining wall thickness between 0.002 and 0.019 inch, well below the required minimum. Punch tests applied to this area revealed one perceptible dent.
  • the corroded area of the upper half of the failed wing lift strut assembly had a remaining wall thickness between 0.021 and 0.031 inch; therefore, some areas were below the required minimum. Punch tests applied to these areas did not produce any perceptible dents.

Safety action taken

On 31 July 2019, the TSB issued a safety advisoryFootnote 7 to regulators and the manufacturer of the occurrence aircraft advising them of the risk associated with the use of the punch test method mentioned in AD 2015-08-04 and prescribed in the MSB 528D.

Safety messages

Maintaining aircraft in accordance with the required airworthiness standards is important to ensure that they are safe and fit for flight.

Ensuring that aircraft are equipped with a seat for every person on board is one way aircraft owners and operators can enhance the safety of flight. In addition, a restraint system is an important part of the safety equipment installed in aircraft that, when worn, can reduce the risk of injury or death in an accident.

Baggage and cargo carried on board should be properly secured to avoid shifting in flight and possible injury to pilots and passengers.

In this occurrence, eyewitnesses saw the accident happen and called for help immediately. When there are no eyewitnesses to an accident, ELTs are essential to alerting search and rescue organizations quickly.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on . It was officially released on .

About the investigation

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. For more information, see the Occurrence Classification Policy.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Terms of use

Non-commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may reproduce this investigation report in whole or in part for non‑commercial purposes, and in any format, without charge or further permission, provided you do the following:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced.
  • Indicate the complete title of the materials reproduced and name the Transportation Safety Board of Canada as the author.
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of the version available at [URL where original document is available].

Commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may not reproduce this investigation report, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution without prior written permission from the TSB.

Materials under the copyright of another party

Some of the content in this investigation report (notably images on which a source other than the TSB is named) is subject to the copyright of another party and is protected under the Copyright Act and international agreements. For information concerning copyright ownership and restrictions, please contact the TSB.

Citation

Transportation Safety Board of Canada, Air Transportation Safety Investigation Report A19C0026 (released 08 October 2019).

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19C0026

Lien connexe

Défaillance de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure et collision avec le relief
Piper J3C-65, C-FLDQ (privé)
Lac Snowshoe (Ontario)

Déroulement du vol

Le 30 mars 2019, un Piper J3C-65 en exploitation privée monté sur skis (immatriculation C-FLDQ, numéro de série 16839) effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) du lac Gun (Ontario) au lac Snowshoe (Ontario), à environ 53 milles marins (NM) au nord-ouest de l'aéroport de Kenora  (CYQK) (Ontario), avec le pilote et 1 passager à bord. Le but de ce vol était d'amener le passager à un camp de chasse et de pêche éloigné pour y faire des travaux de rénovation. Le passager était un employé du pilote, lui-même propriétaire de l'avion et du camp.

À l'arrivée au lac Snowshoe, vers 13 h 19Note de bas de page 1, le pilote a fait un passage à basse altitude en provenance du nord-nord-ouest, près du camp, pour attirer l'attention des occupants du camp sur leur arrivée. Durant le passage, le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'avion et a percuté la surface glacée du lac. Les témoins au camp ont immédiatement réagi et appelé les services d'urgence.

Le pilote a été mortellement blessé. Le passager a été grièvement blessé et a succombé à ses blessures 6 jours plus tard. L'avion a été détruit; aucun incendie ne s'est déclaré après l'impact. L'avion n'avait pas de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT), même si la loi l'exigeait.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Le Piper J3C-65 en cause dans cet événement était un avion monomoteur à ailes hautes à 2 places (en tandem) muni d'un train d'atterrissage classique. Il avait été construit par Piper Aircraft Corporation en 1946. Ultérieurement, l'avion a été équipé d'un moteur Continental C90-12FNote de bas de page 2 et de skis pour pouvoir être utilisé sur la neige et la glace. Sa capacité totale de carburant était de 12 gallons américains et il était certifié pour les vols VFR de jour seulement.

Conformément à la norme 625.86 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), l'aéronef en cause, sous exploitation privée, devait être entretenu selon le programme d'inspection annuel stipulé à la partie I de la norme 625, annexe B du RAC. On a appris à l'examen du carnet de route d'aéronef que la dernière entrée avait été faite le 16 octobre 2017, et que l'avion avait accumulé 6478 heures d'utilisation depuis la mise en service initiale de la cellule. Selon les dossiers de maintenance, la dernière inspection annuelle de l'avion remontait au 19 mai 2017, soit après 6450 heures d'utilisation depuis la mise en service initiale de la cellule. L'enquête a permis de déterminer qu'au moment de l'événement, l'avion avait volé en moyenne 35 heures par année au cours des 5 années précédentes et qu'il avait accumulé environ 6528 heures d'utilisation depuis la mise en service initiale de la cellule.

L'avion en cause était visé par la consigne de navigabilité (CN)Note de bas de page 3 2015-08-04Note de bas de page 4, de la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis, exigeant l'inspection de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure du longeron principal pour repérer tout signe de corrosion. Cette CN était entrée en vigueur en juin 2015 et devait être respectée tous les 24 mois. Rien dans les dossiers de maintenance de l'avion n'indique que la CN 2015-08-04 a été suivie.

Masse et centrage

L'avion avait une masse à vide de 741 livres et une masse maximale au décollage de 1220 livres (sur les skis). L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer la quantité de carburant à bord au moment de l'événement. Un examen de la masse et du centrage à vide et pour le vol à l'étude a révélé que l'avion était exploité conformément aux limites de masse et de centrage fixées.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel – avion délivrée le 4 septembre 1990, et d'un certificat médical de catégorie 3 valide. Selon l'information recueillie au cours de l'enquête, il avait accumulé quelque 3000 heures de vol, dont environ 2500 sur l'avion en cause dans l'événement à l'étude. Les dossiers indiquaient que le pilote avait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.

Renseignements météorologiques

Selon le message d'observation météorologique régulière d'aérodrome (METAR) émis à CYQK – la source la plus proche de données météorologiques pour l'aviation, à 53 NM au sud-est du lac Snowshoe – les conditions à 13 h (soit environ 19 minutes avant l'accident) étaient les suivantes :

  • vents : 320° vrai (V), variables de 280 °V à 360 °V, soufflant à 12 nœuds avec rafales à 19 nœuds;
  • visibilité : 15 milles terrestres;
  • quelques nuages à 4300 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (AGL), plafond de nuages fragmentés à 7200 pieds AGL;
  • température : −4 °C.

Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été considérées comme un facteur contributif dans cet événement.

Examen de l'épave

L'avion a percuté la surface glacée du lac en position renversée à faible inclinaison; sa vitesse verticale de descente et sa vitesse de déplacement étaient élevées. L'avion s'est immobilisé à l'endroit et orienté vers le nord, à environ 125 pieds du point d'impact initial (figure 1).

Figure 1. Site de l'épave (Source : BST)
Site de l'épave (Source : BST)

Le pilote occupait le siège avant et le passager était assis à l'arrière de l'avion. Seul le siège avant était équipé d'un manche à balai. L'avion avait des ceintures sous-abdominale avant et arrière, mais pas de siège passager installé à l'arrière. L'enquête a permis de déterminer que le pilote et le passager ne portaient pas leur ceinture sous-abdominale au moment de l'accident.

L'avion transportait divers articles qui n'avaient pas été arrimés.

Une inspection des câbles de commandes de vol n'a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact. Les dommages subis par le moteur et l'hélice laissent croire que l'hélice tournait et que le moteur produisait une puissance relativement élevée au moment de l'impact.

Une inspection de la cellule sur les lieux de l'accident a révélé que l'ensemble de mâts de voilure du longeron principal gauche s'était séparé près de la chape inférieure de l'attache (figure 2). Un examen visuel de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure a révélé une corrosion excessive dans la zone où la séparation s'est produite. L'ensemble de mâts rompu a été envoyé au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST à Ottawa (Ontario) à des fins d'analyse.

Figure 2. Dommages à l'ensemble de mâts de voilure du longeron principal gauche (Source : BST)
Dommages à l'ensemble de mâts de voilure du longeron principal gauche (Source : BST)

Structure des ailes de l'avion

La structure des ailes de l'avion est recouverte de tissu et est composée de longerons d'aile avant et arrière, d'un bord d'attaque et de plusieurs nervures en aluminium. Les ailes sont fixées à la partie supérieure de la structure du fuselage; chaque aile est soutenue approximativement à la mi-longueur par des ensembles de mâts de voilure avant et arrière. Les ensembles de mâts de voilure relient la structure inférieure du fuselage à chaque ensemble de longeron avant et arrière de l'aile. Les mâts de voilure transfèrent les charges de vol aux ailes et sont sous tension pendant le vol. Inversement, lorsque l'avion est au sol, les mâts de voilure subissent une compression.

À l'origine, les avions Piper de la série J3 avaient des mâts de voilure se terminant par des chapes filetées de 3/8 pouce. Toutefois, la taille des chapes filetées des mâts de voilure a peu après été portée à 7/16 pouce. Les deux types de mâts de voilure étaient faits d'acier ordinaire et ouverts aux 2 bouts une fois les chapes retirées. L'avion à l'étude avait des mâts de voilure à bouts ouverts (numéro de pièce 13233-4 pour le longeron principal et numéro de pièce 12352-4 pour le longeron arrière) avec des chapes filetées de 7/16 pouce.

En 1989, de nouveaux ensembles de mâts de voilure fermés en acier ordinaire ont été fabriqués avec des chapes filetées de 5/8 pouce. Une fois les nouveaux ensembles de mâts de voilure fermés installés, l'inspection aux 24 mois prescrite par la CN 2015-08-04 n'est plus requise.

Examen des mâts de voilure

L'analyse de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure défectueux par le Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST a révélé que la défaillance était attribuable à une corrosion et à un amincissement excessifs de la surface intérieure portante du mât. Cet état a provoqué une fatigue et finalement, une rupture en surcharge.

La CN 2015-08-04 stipule que, pour satisfaire à ses exigences, on peut inspecter l'ensemble des mâts de voilure soit par essai de perforation, méthode décrite dans le bulletin de service obligatoire (BSO) 528D publié par Piper, soit par ultrasons, méthode décrite dans la CN même. Si l'un ou l'autre de ces essais révèle une importante corrosion, la CN exige le remplacement de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure. La CN donne aussi le choix de remplacer l'ensemble de mâts de voilure au lieu d'effectuer l'une des deux méthodes d'inspection admissibles.

Le Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST a réalisé des examens plus approfondis de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure rompu ainsi que l'essai de perforation prescrit dans le BSO 528D. D'après ce bulletin, si l'essai de perforation produit un enfoncement apparentNote de bas de page 5 au moyen d'un pointeauNote de bas de page 6, le métal de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure est corrodé au-delà de la limite spécifiée, et l'ensemble doit être remplacé avant que l'avion puisse voler de nouveau. Si aucun enfoncement n'est apparent, l'ensemble de mâts de voilure peut demeurer en service. Des représentants de Piper Aircraft Inc. et Transports Canada (TC) ont observé les essais. Plusieurs essais de perforation ont été faits tout près et plus loin de la zone de rupture, sur les moitiés supérieure et inférieure de l'ensemble de mâts de voilure rompu.

L'autre méthode décrite dans la CN consiste en une inspection aux ultrasons. L'épaisseur typique de la paroi d'un mât de voilure de référence est entre 0,034 et 0,041 pouce. D'après la procédure d'inspection aux ultrasons, si l'épaisseur d'une paroi est de 0,024 pouce ou moins, l'ensemble de mâts de voilure doit être remplacé avant que l'avion puisse voler de nouveau. Aucune inspection aux ultrasons n'a été faite sur l'ensemble de mâts de voilure rompu. Toutefois, on a réalisé un examen de la pièce au microscope électronique à balayage pour mesurer avec exactitude l'épaisseur de la paroi. Cet examen a permis de déterminer ce qui suit :

  • Dans la zone très corrodée de la moitié inférieure du mât de voilure rompu, l'épaisseur de la paroi n'était plus que de 0,002 à 0,019 pouce, soit largement inférieure au minimum requis. Des essais de perforation effectués dans cette zone ont produit un enfoncement apparent;
  • Dans la zone corrodée de la moitié supérieure du mât de voilure rompu, l'épaisseur de la paroi était de 0,021 à 0,031 pouce; ainsi, l'épaisseur à certains endroits était inférieure au minimum requis. Des essais de perforation effectués dans cette zone n'ont produit aucun enfoncement apparent.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Le 31 juillet 2019, le BST a émis un avis de sécuritéNote de bas de page 7 pour informer les organismes de réglementation et le constructeur de l'avion en cause des risques associés à l'utilisation de la méthode d'inspection par essai de perforation mentionnée dans la CN 2015-08-04 et prescrite par le BSO 528D.

Messages de sécurité

L'entretien d'un aéronef conformément aux normes de navigabilité pertinentes est important pour s'assurer qu'il est sécuritaire et en état de vol.

Veiller à ce que les aéronefs soient munis d'un siège pour chaque occupant est l'une des mesures que peuvent prendre les propriétaires et exploitants pour améliorer la sécurité de vol. En outre, les dispositifs de retenue sont des éléments importants de l'équipement de sécurité embarqué, et leur port peut réduire les risques de blessure ou de mort en cas d'accident.

Les bagages et marchandises à bord des aéronefs devraient être bien arrimés pour empêcher qu'ils se déplacent et blessent les pilotes et les passagers.

Dans l'événement à l'étude, des témoins oculaires de l'accident ont immédiatement appelé les secours. Lorsque personne n'est témoin d'un accident, les ELT sont essentielles pour alerter rapidement les organismes de recherche et sauvetage.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le . Il a été officiellement publié le .

À propos de ce rapport d'enquête

Ce rapport est le résultat d’une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Pour de plus amples renseignements, se référer à la Politique de classification des événements.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Vous pouvez utiliser et reproduire ce document selon les conditions indiquées dans les Avis.

Conditions d'utilisation

Reproduction non commerciale

À moins d'avis contraire, vous pouvez reproduire ce rapport d'enquête en totalité ou en partie à des fins non commerciales, dans un format quelconque, sans frais ni autre permission, à condition :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable quant à la précision du contenu reproduit;
  • de préciser le titre complet du contenu reproduit, ainsi que de stipuler que le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada est l'auteur;
  • de préciser qu'il s'agit d'une reproduction de la version disponible au [URL où le document original se trouve].

Reproduction commerciale

À moins d'avis contraire, il est interdit de reproduire ce rapport d'enquête, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins de diffusion commerciale sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission écrite du BST.

Contenu faisant l'objet du droit d'auteur d'une tierce partie

Une partie du contenu de ce rapport d'enquête (notamment les images pour lesquelles une source autre que le BST est citée) fait l'objet du droit d'auteur d'une tierce partie et est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur et des ententes internationales. Pour des renseignements sur la propriété et les restrictions en matière des droits d'auteurs, veuillez communiquer avec le BST.

Citation

Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada, Rapport d'enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19C0026 (publié le 8 octobre 2019).

This report is also available in English.

Date de modification :