Air transportation safety investigation A19P0176

The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 27 July 2020.

Table of contents

Loss of control and collision with terrain

Privately registered
Piper Aerostar PA-60-602P, C-FQYW
Gabriola Island, British Columbia

View final report

The occurrence

A Piper PA-60-602P aircraft was on a private/pleasure flight from Eastern Sierra Regional Airport (KBIH) in Bishop, California to Nanaimo Airport, British Columbia (CYCD). While on an instrument approach to Nanaimo Airport, the aircraft collided with terrain on Gabriola Island, British Columbia. All 3 people aboard were fatally injured.


Media materials

News release

2020-07-27

Investigation report: December 2019 collision with terrain of an aircraft in Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2019-12-11

TSB deploys a team following a piston twin-engine aircraft accident on Gabriola Island, British Columbia

Richmond, British Columbia, 11 December 2019 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of an accident involving a piston twin-engine aircraft on Gabriola Island, British Columbia. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence




Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Dan Clarke

Dan Clarke joined the TSB’s Air Investigations Branch as a Senior Technical Investigator in the Pacific Region in 2018. During his career, Mr. Clarke worked as an aircraft maintenance engineer – structures, for several fixed wing and rotary wing operations.

Mr. Clarke also has several years’ experience as a Quality Assurance Manager. Prior to joining the TSB, he worked for Transport Canada's Civil Aviation Branch for nine years, the first four years as an Airworthiness Inspector and the last five years as a Technical Team Lead.


Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These investigations are limited in scope, and while the final reports may contain limited analysis, they do not contain findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 220 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19P0176

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 27 juillet 2020.

Table des matières

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le relief

Piper Aerostar PA-60-602P, C-FQYW
Immatriculation privée
Île Gabriola (Colombie-Britannique)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Un avion Piper PA-60-602P effectuait un vol privé/d’agrément de l'aéroport régional de Eastern Sierra (KBIH) à Bishop (Californie) à l’aéroport de Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique) (CYCD). Pendant une approche aux instruments à l’aéroport de Nanaimo, l’avion est entré en collision avec le relief sur l’île Gabriola (Colombie-Britannique). Les 3 personnes à bord ont été mortellement blessées.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2020-07-27

Rapport d’enquête : collision avec le relief d’un avion à l’île Gabriola (Colombie-Britannique) en décembre 2019
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2019-12-11

Le BST envoie une équipe suite à un accident d’un aéronef bimoteur à piston survenu sur l’île Gabriola (Colombie-Britannique)

Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 11 décembre 2019 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident mettant en cause un petit aéronef bimoteur à piston sur l’île Gabriola en Colombie-Britannique. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région




Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Dan Clarke

Dan Clarke s’est joint à la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques du BST comme enquêteur technique principal dans la région du Pacifique en 2018. Au cours de sa carrière, M. Clarke a travaillé comme technicien d’entretien d’aéronefs pour plusieurs types d’appareils à voilure fixe et à voilure tournante.

M. Clarke a également plusieurs années d’expérience comme gestionnaire de l’assurance qualité. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Clarke a travaillé pendant neuf ans au sein de la Direction générale de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada, les quatre premières années comme inspecteur de la navigabilité aérienne et les cinq dernières comme chef d'équipe technique.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes ont une portée limitée et, bien que leur rapport final puisse contenir une analyse succincte, il ne contient ni de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 220 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: