Air transportation safety investigation report A19W0052

Associated links

Engine power loss and forced landing
Buffalo Airways Ltd.
Douglas DC3C-S1C3G, C-GJKM
Hay River/Merlyn Carter Airport, Northwest Territories

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

History of the flight

At 0741Footnote 1 on 03 May 2019, the Douglas DC3C-S1C3G (registration C-GJKM, serial number 13580), operated by Buffalo Airways Ltd. (Buffalo Airways), departed Hay River/Merlyn Carter Airport (CYHY), Northwest Territories, on an instrument flight rules flight for a scheduled cargo flight to Yellowknife Airport (CYZF), Northwest Territories, with 2 flight crew members on board. The captain was the pilot flying (PF) and the first officer (FO) was the pilot not flying (PNF).

Visibility at the time of departure was 4 statute miles (SM) in light snow. A few minutes later, the visibility decreased to 1½ SM in light snow, with a ceiling of 3500 feet above ground level.Footnote 2

After departure, while the aircraft was climbing through 1200 feet above sea level (ASL)Footnote 3 on the way to a cruising altitude of 5000 feet ASL, the flight crew completed the after-takeoff checklist and applied carburetor heat to 20 °C.

While the FO was applying the carburetor heat, oil pressure was observed decreasing on the left engine (Pratt & Whitney R-1830-92). Moments later, rising cylinder head temperature and oil temperature indications were also observed on the left engine. The captain directed the FO to contact the area control centre to declare a PAN PAN emergencyFootnote 4 and request a return to CYHY, which the FO then did. The aircraft flight manual (AFM) does not contain any procedures for abnormal engine indications.

The aircraft was equipped with a satellite tracking unit that reported the following information every 2 minutes:

  • Average ground speed
  • Average track
  • Average global positioning system (GPS) altitude

Figure 1 shows the aircraft’s track based on the data retrieved from the satellite tracking unit.

Figure 1. Satellite tracking information retrieved from the occurrence flight. The magenta line is the aircraft’s track. (Source: TSB, based on data received from Latitude Technologies Corporation)
Satellite tracking information retrieved from the occurrence flight. The magenta line is the aircraft’s track. (Source: TSB, based on data received from Latitude Technologies Corporation)

As the aircraft reached an altitude of 1969 feet ASL (Figure 1, point 3), the captain set the left engine to a reduced power setting and increased the power on the right engine to maximum except takeoff (METO)Footnote 5 power. The flight crew began to set up for an instrument landing system approach to CYHY via TANPO.Footnote 6

At 0747 (Figure 1, point 4), while the aircraft was in a right turn proceeding towards TANPO, smoke and oil were observed, and abnormal sounds were heard coming from the left engine. Using the engine failure checklist, the flight crew then shut down the left engine and feathered the propeller. At 0748, because the situation had escalated, a MAYDAY emergencyFootnote 7 was declared. Moments later, the flight crew completed the descent checklist and initiated the approach checklist. However, due to the escalating emergency, the flight crew was not able to complete the approach checklist, which included the landing briefing.

At 0753 (Figure 1, point 7), the aircraft levelled off at 1214 feet ASL. The FO observed zero hydraulic pressure on the landing gear DOWN gauge.Footnote 8 Thinking this zero pressure was an issue, he mentioned it to the captain, who then directed the FO to “prep the gear.” The FO extended the landing gear, which the captain did not expect because the aircraft had not started its final approach and the airport had not been visually acquired.

At 0755 (Figure 1, point 8), as the aircraft continued towards TANPO, the altitude was between 1200 and 1300 feet ASL, and the airspeed was maintained at approximately 100 knots indicated airspeed (KIAS). When the aircraft was abeam TANPO, the captain began a right turn to intercept the localizer for the final approach. The aircraft’s airspeed decreased from 100 KIAS to 80 KIAS, while its altitude decreased to 1100 feet ASL. With the reduced airspeed, the aircraft’s flight control response became sluggish and the captain directed the landing gear to be raised (Figure 1, point 9).

After the landing gear was raised, at 0759, the flight crew heard abnormal sounds and felt vibrations from the right engine. The aircraft’s airspeed was 80 KIAS, and its altitude began to decrease to below 800 feet ASL.  

In an attempt to maintain altitude, the right engine was increased to maximum takeoff power, but this had no effect. The flight crew then prepared for an emergency gear-up landing, and the aircraft’s flaps were lowered on short final to reduce speed for touchdown.

At 0801, the aircraft landed in muskeg on K’atl’Odeeche First Nation land, approximately 3.5 nautical miles southeast of CYHY. After the aircraft came to a stop, the FO exited the aircraft through the right-hand crew window, while the captain remained in the cockpit to secure the right engine and aircraft systems before evacuating via the forward door. The FO contacted the flight information centre to notify them of the crew’s status and aircraft location. The emergency locator transmitter had not activated during the forced landing, so the FO activated it manually to assist search and rescue in locating the aircraft. The flight crew was uninjured. The aircraft received substantial damage (Figure 2). There was no post-impact fire. First responders arrived at the accident site at 1114.

Figure 2. Aerial photo of the accident site looking northwest. The green arrow indicates the aircraft’s path on touchdown. (Source: K'atl'Odeeche First Nation, with TSB annotation)
Aerial photo of the accident site looking northwest. The green arrow indicates the aircraft’s path on touchdown. (Source: K'atl'Odeeche First Nation, with TSB annotation)

Personnel information

Records indicate that the captain and FO were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

The captain held an airline transport pilot licence - aeroplane and a valid Category 1 medical certificate at the time of the occurrence. He had accumulated over 9400 hours total flight time, including 300 hours on type.

The FO held a commercial pilot licence - aeroplane and a valid Category 1 medical certificate at the time of the occurrence. He had accumulated over 900 hours total flight time, including 400 hours on type.

Based on a review of the captain and the FO’s work-rest schedules, fatigue was not considered a factor in the occurrence.

Aircraft information

The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The weight and balance were within the prescribed limits. The aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder or cockpit voice recorder, nor were these required by regulation.

Due to the limited scope of this investigation, the cause of the oil discharge leading to the left engine being shut down was not determined. Similarly, the source of the abnormal sounds the flight crew reported hearing from the right engine was not identified.

Standard operating procedures and checklists

Buffalo Airways has developed normal and emergency checklists to use when operating the company’s Douglas DC3C-S1C3G aircraft.

Items related to the landing gear are included in various checks on the normal checklist, including the following:

AFTER TAKE-OFF CHECKS

GEAR & FLAPS………………………….UP & NEUTRAL

[…]

PRE-LANDING CHECKS

GEAR…………………………………………UP THEN DOWN

[…]

GEAR…………………………………………DOWN, PRESSURE UP, GREEN LIGHT, POSITIVE LOCKFootnote 9

Buffalo Airways’ standard operating procedures (SOPs) expand on the normal checklist items by describing challenge and response drills. Relevant gear-related standard calls are set out in Table 1.

Table 1. Relevant gear-related standard calls (Source: Buffalo Airways Ltd., Standard Operating Procedures Douglas DC-3, 705 Airline Operations, amendment 3 [12 January 2015], section 2.17, pp. 2-13 to 2-14)
Phase of flight Condition Pilot flying Pilot not flying
Take-Off & Climb Airborne, Positive Rate of Climb “Positive Rate, Gear Up” “Gear in Transit”, then “Gear up”
Descent and Approach 1 Dot Above Glideslope “1 Dot Above, Gear Down” “Landing Checks”, “Flaps ¼” “Check, Gear Down Selected”, “Gear Down, Pressure UP, Green Light”, “Flaps set ¼” (Complete Pre-Landing Checklist), “Pre-Landing Checks Complete”

The emergency checklist includes challenge and response drills that require immediate action, some of which are to be completed from memory. The drills to be completed from memory are indicated by a box around the items on the checklist. The engine failure emergency checklist includes the following item related to the landing gear:

ENGINE FAILURE

POWER ON LIVE ENGINE

[…]

LANDING GEAR………………………UPFootnote 10

The AFM contains single-engine landing procedures that require the landing gear to be lowered when the aircraft is on final approach and at a safe altitude.Footnote 11 The Buffalo Airways emergency checklist procedure for approach with 1 engine inoperative is consistent with the AFM requirement, and states:

APPROACH WITH ONE ENGINE INOPERATIVE

LANDING GEAR…………………(ON FINAL AT SAFE ALTITUDE) DOWN […]Footnote 12

The Buffalo Airways SOPs for an engine-out landing include the following instructions:

  • Prior to extending the landing gear, be sure all other hydraulic systems are off.
  • Extend the Landing Gear at such a point that the drag will not cause undershooting.
  • (about 25 seconds are required to extend the landing gear) […]Footnote 13

Single-engine performance

The AFM states the following with respect to single-engine performance:

  1. Minimum Airspeed: With one engine inoperative and METO power or less on the operating engine, the minimum airspeed for controllability is 73 knots IAS [KIAS]. With take-off power, minimum IAS [indicated airspeed] for controllability is 76 knots. Control of the aircraft will be easier if it is flown with 2 - 3° bank on the operating engine side. […]
  2. Single Engine Climb: The rate of climb of the DC-3, with the landing gear down and full flap, is practically zero. With the landing gear up and 1/2 flap, the rate of climb is very low, therefore, during climbing operation on a single engine the flaps and landing gear should be fully retracted. […]
  3. Cruise: Up to METO power may be used for cruise with one engine out. Air speed depends on gross weight, and should be maintained at 110 knots at 26,000 lbs., and at 105 knots at 24,000 and below.Footnote 14 

This aircraft departed with a weight of 26 000 pounds.

Crew resource management

Buffalo Airways has a Transport Canada–certified crew resource management training program,Footnote 15 which includes information on effective communication. Both flight crew members received this training. The captain completed the training on 01 May 2019, and the FO on 28 December 2018.

The preamble to the Buffalo Airways SOPs states that “[s]tandard phraseology must be used to reduce the likelihood of an incorrect interpretation of a request or command and to initiate corrective action for undesirable circumstances.”Footnote 16

In Chapter 10, the SOPs indicate that “[e]mergency operating procedures are designed to follow, as close as possible, to [sic] normal operating procedures so as to reduce any confusion brought on by an abnormal occurrence.” The SOPs go on to say that “during an emergency situation, the PF will continue flying the aircraft and call for the appropriate actions and checklist. Which [sic] will be called or read out by the PNF.”Footnote 17

With regard to standard phraseology, Chapter 10 of the SOPs states the following:

During abnormal/emergency situations it is imperative that the flight crew not only understand and complete the applicable procedures, but also ensure that effective communication is maintained. The standardization of calls and actions removes the unexpected and enhances communication.Footnote 18

Safety message

In this occurrence, the aircraft’s airspeed and altitude could not be maintained, primarily because of the increased drag when the landing gear was extended early in the approach. This highlights the need to follow SOPs and use standard phraseology, as well as the importance of checklist discipline, during an emergency.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada’s investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on 11 December 2019. It was officially released on 20 December 2019.

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. See the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19W0052

Lien connexe

Perte de puissance du moteur et atterrissage forcé
Buffalo Airways Ltd.
Douglas DC3C-S1C3G, C-GJKM
Aéroport de Hay River/Merlyn Carter (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Déroulement du vol

Le 3 mai 2019, à 7 h 41Note de bas de page 1, le Douglas DC3C-S1C3G (immatriculation C-GJKM, numéro de série 13580), exploité par Buffalo Airways Ltd. (Buffalo Airways), a quitté l’aéroport de Hay River/Merlyn Carter (CYHY) (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) pour effectuer un vol régulier de transport de marchandises en régime de vol aux instruments à destination de l’aéroport de Yellowknife (CYZF) (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), avec 2 membres d’équipage de conduite à bord. Le commandant de bord était le pilote aux commandes (PF), et le premier officier (PO) était le pilote qui n’est pas aux commandes (PNF).

La visibilité au moment du départ était de 4 milles terrestres (SM) dans de la neige faible. Quelques minutes plus tard, la visibilité a diminué à 1,5 SM dans de la neige faible, avec un plafond à 3500 pieds au-dessus du solNote de bas de page 2.

Après le départ, pendant que l’avion franchissait 1200 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL)Note de bas de page 3 en montée pour atteindre une altitude de croisière de 5000 pieds ASL, l’équipage de conduite a achevé la liste de vérification après décollage et réglé le réchauffeur de carburateur à 20 °C.

Pendant que le PO réglait le réchauffeur de carburateur, l’équipage a constaté une diminution de la pression d’huile dans le moteur gauche (Pratt & Whitney R-1830-92). Quelques instants plus tard, l’équipage de conduite a aussi constaté des indications de températures d’huile et de culasse de cylindre en hausse pour le moteur gauche. Le commandant de bord a ordonné au PO de joindre le centre de contrôle régional pour déclarer une urgence (PAN PANNote de bas de page 4) et demander l’autorisation de retourner à CYHY; le PO a exécuté l’ordre. Le manuel de vol de l’avion ne contient aucune procédure relative aux indications moteur anormales.

L’avion était muni d’un dispositif de suivi des vols par satellite qui transmettait les renseignements suivants toutes les 2 minutes :

  • Vitesse sol moyenne
  • Trajectoire moyenne
  • Altitude moyenne selon le système de positionnement mondial (GPS)

La figure 1 montre la trajectoire de l’avion d’après les données récupérées du dispositif de suivi par satellite. 

Figure 1. Renseignements de suivi par satellite récupérés du vol à l’étude. La ligne magenta représente la trajectoire de l’avion. (Source : BST, d’après les données reçues de Latitude Technologies Corporation)
Renseignements de suivi par satellite récupérés du vol à l’étude. La ligne magenta représente la trajectoire de l’avion. (Source : BST, d’après les données reçues de Latitude Technologies Corporation)

Au moment où l’avion a atteint une altitude de 1969 pieds ASL (figure 1, point 3), le commandant de bord a réduit la puissance du moteur gauche et a augmenté la puissance du moteur droit à la puissance maximale sauf décollage (puissance METO)Note de bas de page 5. L’équipage de conduite a entrepris de préparer une approche par système d’atterrissage aux instruments à CYHY en passant par le point de cheminement TANPONote de bas de page 6.

À 7 h 47 (figure 1, point 4), alors que l’avion effectuait un virage vers la droite en route vers TANPO, l’équipage de conduite a observé de la fumée et de l’huile qui s’échappaient du moteur gauche et a entendu des bruits inhabituels en provenance du moteur gauche. Conformément à la liste de vérification de panne moteur, l’équipage de conduite a éteint le moteur gauche et a mis l’hélice en drapeau.

À 7 h 48, comme la situation s’aggravait, l’équipage de conduite a déclaré une urgence MAYDAYNote de bas de page 7. Quelques instants plus tard, l’équipage de conduite a achevé la liste de vérification de descente avant de commencer la liste de vérification d’approche. Or, étant donné la crise qui s’aggravait, l’équipage de conduite n’a pu achever la liste de vérification d’approche, qui comprenait l’exposé d’atterrissage.

À 7 h 53 (figure 1, point 7), l’équipage de conduite a mis l’avion en palier à 1214 pieds ASL. Le PO a constaté que l’indicateur de pression hydraulique du train d’atterrissage sorti indiquait zéroNote de bas de page 8. Estimant que l’absence totale de pression posait un problème, le PO l’a signalée au commandant de bord, qui lui a ordonné de [traduction] « préparer le train d’atterrissage ». Le PO a sorti le train d’atterrissage, ce que n’attendait pas le commandant de bord, puisque l’avion n’avait pas amorcé son approche finale, et le contact visuel avec l’aéroport n’avait pas encore été établi.

À 7 h 55 (figure 1, point 8), l’avion se dirigeait toujours vers TANPO à une altitude de 1200 à 1300 pieds ASL et à une vitesse anémométrique stable de 100 KIAS (vitesse indiquée en nœuds). Au moment où l’avion passait par le travers du point de cheminement TANPO, le commandant de bord a amorcé un virage vers la droite pour croiser le radiophare d’alignement de piste en vue de l’approche finale. La vitesse anémométrique de l’avion a diminué de 100 KIAS à 80 KIAS, et son altitude a diminué à 1100 pieds ASL. La perte de vitesse anémométrique a réduit la vitesse de réaction des commandes de vol de l’avion; le commandant de bord a ordonné l’escamotage du train d’atterrissage (figure 1, point 9).

Une fois le train rentré, à 7 h 59, l’équipage de conduite a entendu des sons inhabituels et a ressenti des vibrations en provenance du moteur droit. La vitesse anémométrique de l’avion était alors de 80 KIAS, et son altitude a commencé à baisser sous les 800 pieds ASL. 

Pour tenter de maintenir l’altitude, l’équipage de conduite a augmenté la puissance du moteur droit à la puissance maximale au décollage, sans effet toutefois. L’équipage de conduite s’est alors préparé en vue d’un atterrissage d’urgence sur le ventre, et a sorti les volets en courte finale pour réduire la vitesse au poser.

À 8 h 01, l’avion a atterri dans une fondrière sur les terres de la Première Nation K’atl’Odeeche, à environ 3,5 milles marins au sud-est de CYHY. Une fois l’avion immobilisé, le PO a évacué l’avion par la fenêtre de droite du poste de pilotage, pendant que le commandant de bord est resté dans le poste de pilotage pour éteindre le moteur droit et les systèmes de bord avant d’évacuer l’avion par la porte avant. Le PO a joint le centre d’information de vol pour l’aviser de l’état de l’équipage de conduite et de l’emplacement de l’avion. La radiobalise de repérage d’urgence ne s’est pas déclenchée durant l’atterrissage forcé, donc le PO l’a activée manuellement pour aider les ressources de recherche et sauvetage (SAR) à repérer l’épave. L’équipage de conduite n’a pas subi de blessures. L’avion a été lourdement endommagé (figure 2). Il n’y a pas eu d’incendie après l’impact. Les premiers intervenants sont arrivés sur les lieux de l’accident à 11 h 14.

Figure 2. Photo aérienne du lieu de l’accident (vue vers le nord-ouest). La flèche verte indique la trajectoire de l’avion après son poser. (Source : Première Nation K’atl’Odeeche, avec annotations du BST)
Photo aérienne du lieu de l’accident (vue vers le nord-ouest). La flèche verte indique la trajectoire de l’avion après son poser. (Source : Première Nation K’atl’Odeeche, avec annotations du BST)

Renseignements sur le personnel

Les dossiers indiquent que le commandant de bord et le PO possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

Le commandant de bord détenait une licence de pilote de ligne - avion et il était titulaire d’un certificat médical valide de catégorie 1 au moment de l’événement. Il avait à son actif plus de 9400 heures de vol au total, dont 300 heures sur type.
Le PO détenait une licence de pilote professionnel – avion et il était titulaire d’un certificat médical de catégorie 1 valide au moment de l’événement. Il avait à son actif plus de 900 heures de vol au total, dont 400 heures sur type.

L’examen des horaires de travail et de repos du commandant de bord et du PO a permis d’écarter la fatigue comme facteur contributif à cet événement.

Renseignements sur l’aéronef

L’aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément aux règlements en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. La masse et le centrage se situaient dans les limites prescrites. L’avion n’était pas doté d’un enregistreur de données de vol ou d’un enregistreur de conversations de poste de pilotage et n’était pas tenu d’en avoir, selon la réglementation.

Étant donné la portée limitée de la présente enquête, la cause de la fuite d’huile qui a mené à l’arrêt du moteur gauche n’a pu être déterminée. Pareillement, l’enquête n’a pas permis de déterminer la source des bruits inhabituels émanant du moteur droit que l’équipage de conduite a entendus.

Procédures d’utilisation normalisées et listes de vérification

Buffalo Airways a mis au point des listes de vérification de procédures normales et d’urgence à utiliser durant l’exploitation des aéronefs Douglas DC3C-S1C3G de la compagnie.

Diverses vérifications de la liste de procédures normales comprennent des éléments relatifs au train d’atterrissage, entre autres [traduction] :

VÉRIFICATIONS APRÈS DÉCOLLAGE

TRAIN ET VOLETS……………………RENTRÉS ET POSITION NEUTRE

[…]

VÉRIFICATIONS AVANT ATTERRISSAGE

TRAIN D’ATTERRISSAGE………….RENTRER, PUIS SORTIR

[…]

TRAIN D’ATTERRISSAGE..…..……SORTI, PRESSION HAUTE, VOYANT VERT, VERROUILLAGE CONFIRMÉNote de bas de page 9

Les procédures d’utilisation normalisées (SOP) de Buffalo Airways contiennent plus de détails sur les éléments usuels des listes de vérification en décrivant des exercices d’annonces et de réponses. Le tableau 1 présente les annonces normalisées pertinentes relatives au train d’atterrissage.

Tableau 1. Annonces normalisées pertinentes relatives au train d’atterrissage (Source : Buffalo Airways Ltd., Standard Operating Procedures Douglas DC-3, 705 Airline Operations, modification 3 [12 janvier 2015], section 2.17, p. 2-13 à 2-14)
Phase de vol Condition Pilote aux commandes Pilote qui n’est pas aux commandes
Décollage et montée Envol, vitesse ascensionnelle nette « Positive Rate, Gear Up » (Vitesse ascensionnelle nette, train rentré) « Gear in Transit » (Train rentrant), puis « Gear up » (Train rentré)
Descente et approche 1 point au-dessus de la trajectoire de descente « 1 Dot Above, Gear Down » (1 point au-dessus, train sorti), « Landing Checks » (Vérifications avant atterrissage), « Flaps ¼ » (Volets ¼) « Check, Gear Down Selected » (Compris, train sorti sélectionné), « Gear Down, Pressure UP, Green Light » (Train sorti, pression haute, voyant vert), « Flaps set ¼ » (Volets réglés ¼), (achever la liste de vérification avant atterrissage), « Pre-Landing Checks Complete » (Vérifications avant atterrissage faites)

La liste de vérification d’urgence comprend des exercices d’annonces et de réponses qui exigent une action immédiate, parfois exécutée de mémoire. Les exercices à réaliser de mémoire sont encadrés sur la liste de vérification. La liste de vérification de panne moteur comprend les éléments suivants relatifs au train d’atterrissage [traduction] :

PANNE MOTEUR

PUISSANCE AU MOTEUR EN MARCHE

[…]

TRAIN D’ATTERRISSAGE………………………RENTRÉNote de bas de page 10

D’après les procédures d’atterrissage avec un seul moteur du manuel de vol de l’avion, le train d’atterrissage doit être sorti au moment où l’avion est en approche finale et à une altitude sécuritaireNote de bas de page 11. La liste de vérification de procédures d’urgence de Buffalo Airways pour une approche avec un moteur inopérant correspond à ce que stipule le manuel de vol de l’avion, et indique [traduction] :

APPROCHE AVEC UN MOTEUR INOPÉRANT

TRAIN D’ATTERRISSAGE…………………(EN FINALE, ALTITUDE SÉCURITAIRE) SORTI […]Note de bas de page 12

Les SOP de Buffalo Airways pour un atterrissage avec un moteur inopérant comprennent les instructions suivantes [traduction] :

  • Avant de sortir le train d’atterrissage, s’assurer que tous les autres circuits hydrauliques sont éteints.
  • Sortir le train d’atterrissage à un stade où la traînée n’entraînera pas un atterrissage trop court.
  • (il faut environ 25 secondes pour sortir le train d’atterrissage) […]Note de bas de page 13

Performance avec un seul moteur

Le manuel de vol de l’avion stipule ce qui suit à propos de la performance avec un seul moteur [traduction] :

  1. Vitesse anémométrique minimale : Avec un moteur inopérant et la puissance METO ou moins au moteur opérant, la vitesse anémométrique minimale nécessaire pour maintenir la manœuvrabilité est de 73 KIAS. À la puissance de décollage, la vitesse indiquée minimale pour maintenir la manœuvrabilité est de 76 nœuds. L’avion sera plus facile à manœuvrer si l’on maintient une inclinaison de 2° à 3° du côté du moteur opérant. […]
  2. Montée avec un seul moteur : Le taux de montée du DC-3, avec le train d’atterrissage sorti et pleins volets, est pratiquement nul. Avec le train d’atterrissage rentré et les volets à demi sortis, le taux de montée est très faible; par conséquent, durant la montée avec un seul moteur, les volets et le train d’atterrissage doivent être entièrement rentrés. […]
  3. Croisière : On peut aller jusqu’à la puissance METO pour le vol en croisière avec un moteur inopérant. La vitesse anémométrique dépend de la masse brute et doit être maintenue à 110 nœuds à 26 000 lb, et à 105 nœuds à 24 000 lb ou moinsNote de bas de page 14

La masse au décollage de l’avion à l’étude était de 26 000 livres.

Gestion des ressources de l’équipage

Buffalo Airways a mis en place un programme de formation sur la gestion des ressources de l’équipageNote de bas de page 15 approuvé par Transports Canada. Ce programme comprend de l’information sur la communication efficace. Les 2 membres d’équipage de conduite avaient suivi cette formation. Le commandant de bord l’a achevée le 1er mai 2019, et le PO, le 28 décembre 2018.

D’après le préambule aux SOP de Buffalo Airways, [traduction] « [l]es expressions conventionnelles doivent être utilisées pour réduire la probabilité d’une mauvaise interprétation d’une demande ou d’un ordre et pour lancer la mesure corrective dans des circonstances indésirablesNote de bas de page 16 ».

Au chapitre 10 des SOP, on peut lire que [traduction] « [l]es procédures d’urgence sont conçues pour suivre, autant que possible, les procédures d’utilisation normalisées de manière à éviter toute confusion que pourrait occasionner un événement anormal ». On précise également que [traduction] « durant une situation d’urgence, le PF continue de piloter l’avion et d’annoncer les actions et listes de vérification appropriées. Elles seront annoncées ou lues par le PNFNote de bas de page 17 ».

En ce qui a trait aux expressions conventionnelles, le chapitre 10 des SOP énonce les faits suivants [traduction] :

Durant les situations anormales/d’urgence, il est impératif que l’équipage de conduite non seulement comprenne et effectue les procédures applicables, mais aussi qu’il veille à maintenir une communication efficace. La normalisation des annonces et des actions élimine les imprévus et améliore la communicationNote de bas de page 18.

Message de sécurité

Dans l’événement à l’étude, la vitesse anémométrique et l’altitude de l’avion n’ont pu être maintenues, principalement à cause de l’augmentation de la traînée, occasionnée par la sortie hâtive du train d’atterrissage durant l’approche. Cet événement souligne la nécessité de suivre les SOP et d’employer les expressions conventionnelles, de même que l’importance de la discipline relative aux listes de vérification durant une situation d’urgence.

Le présent rapport conclut l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 11 décembre 2019. Le rapport a été officiellement publié le 20 décembre 2019.



Ce rapport est le résultat d'une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Voir la Politique de classification des événements.

Date de modification :