Air transportation safety investigation report A19Q0096

Associated links

Collision with terrain
Rans S-6ES Coyote II (advanced ultralight), C-IIJJ
Rougemont, Quebec

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

Background

The advanced ultralight Rans S-6ES Coyote II (registration C‑IIJJ, serial number 06041577) was making a pleasure flight in the Rougement, Quebec, area with 2 people on board. The aircraft had been purchased on 09 January 2019, and its new owner planned to take the training required to obtain a pilot permit – ultralight aeroplane. The occurrence pilot, a friend of the owner, had flown the occurrence aircraft a few times since its acquisition. Moreover, some minor maintenance work had been performed on the aircraft following its acquisition.

History of the flight

On the morning of 01 July 2019, the pilot and the owner drove to the St-Hyacinthe Aerodrome (CSU3), Quebec, where the occurrence aircraft was located. At approximately 0950,Footnote 1 the pilot and sole occupant took off from CSU3 and conducted a visual flight rules (VFR) flight without incident to his private runway, which was approximately 5 nautical miles (NM) east of the St‑Jean Airport (CYJN), Quebec. Meanwhile, the owner drove to meet the pilot at his private runway, in order to make a pleasure flight.

At approximately 1125, the pilot took off for a local VFR pleasure flight in the vicinity of Rougemont, with the owner as passenger. At approximately 1133, the aircraft reportedly passed over an orchard in Rougemont at low altitude (i.e. less than 200 feet above ground level) in a counter-clockwise turn. At approximately 1135, the aircraft changed direction and turned northeast. It lost altitude and crashed into the orchard trees (Figure 1). The 2 occupants were fatally injured. No signal was detected from the emergency locator transmitter (ELT).

An individual who was in the vincinity of the accident site quickly contacted emergency services by dialling 911. The first responders arrived at 1149.

Figure 1. Estimated flight path of the occurrence aircraft (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
Estimated flight path of the occurrence aircraft (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

Weather information

According to the aerodrome routine meteorological report (METAR) issued at 1100 for the St-Hubert Airport (CYHU), Quebec, 15 NM northwest of the accident site, weather was favourable for this VFR flight and was not considered to have contributed to the accident.

Pilot information

The pilot had a valid pilot permit – ultralight aeroplane, issued 09 May 2016, and a valid Category 3 medical certificate. The pilot met Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) section 401.55 requirements regarding endorsements for the transportation of the passengers-carrying rating.

The pilot often conducted pleasure flights in the region. Since 2016, he had accumulated over 600 flight hours on ultralight aircrafts. In the months leading to the occurrence, he had flown the occurrence aircraft a few times. However, the investigation was unable to determine how many flight hours the pilot had accumulated on this aircraft type.

The investigation did not find that the pilot’s performance was degraded by fatigue or physiological factors.

Aircraft information

The Rans S-6ES Coyote II is a 2-seat, high-wing advanced ultralight aircraft made from metallic tubes covered in fabric. The aircraft was built in the United States in 2008. It was imported into Canada in early 2009 and inspected by a Rans representative, because it had never flown. The manufacturer then issued a certificate of compliance on 04 May 2009. When the aircraft was purchased on 09 January 2019, its technical logbook indicated that the aircraft had accumulated 336 flight hours since its construction.

Figure 2. Occurrence aircraft (Source: former owner of the aircraft)
Occurrence aircraft (Source: former owner of the aircraft)

According to the registration application submitted to Transport Canada, the aircraft had a maximum takeoff weight of 1100 pounds, an empty weight of 600 pounds and a stall speed of 42 mph.

The investigation was unable to determine the amount of fuel on board at takeoff. However, according to TSB calculations, the pilot had approximately 66 pounds available for fuel before reaching the maximum takeoff weight, which represents a little more than half of the tanks’ capacity (108 pounds).

The aircraft had a Rotax 912UL engine (serial number 4405286) manufactured by Bombardier Recreational Products (BRP). This engine is a liquid- and air-cooled 4-stroke 4-cyclinder engine, which generates 80 hp at a maximum engine speed of 5800 rpm.

An ultralight aircraft may be maintained by the owner, who must follow the maintenance program indicated by the manufacturer. The owner must also keep aircraft maintenance records.Footnote 2 According to the aircraft’s technical logbook, the last inspection was conducted on 01 September 2018, and the spark plugs were changed in January 2019, before the acquisition of the aircraft by the occurrence owner. According to the information gathered, minor maintenance of the carburetors was reportedly done by the new owner in the spring of 2019, but this work was not recorded in the logbook. Flights were reportedly conducted after January 2019, but they were also not recorded in the aircraft’s logbook.

The aircraft had no known deficiencies before the occurrence flight.

Accident site and examination of wreckage

The aircraft struck 2 rows of trees in the orchard and came to rest facing northwest in the 3rd row, when the wings hit the trees. The aircraft’s exact flight path could not be determined, because the aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder, and was not required to have one according to existing regulations.

The fuel tanks in the wings were damaged, causing a small fuel spill. When the TSB investigators arrived, the tanks still contained automobile-type fuel, which was appropriate for this engine type. The fuel in the feed lines, filters and carburetors was clear and uncontaminated. The 3 propeller blades were damaged: one was bent under the nose of the aircraft; another blade was broken and bent forward, while the 3rd was damaged but still in place and straight.

The Rotax 912UL engine sustained only minor damages: a cylinder head was damaged by impact with a tree trunk on the front left side. The engine was sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario, for analysis. The analysis did not reveal any internal faults with the engine pre- or post-accident. The damages to the propellers were not characteristic of a high-rpm impact. However, the investigation was unable to determine whether the engine was producing power at the time of the impact.

Damages to the wings and structure were caused by the impact and the actions of the first responders.

Global positioning system

The occurrence aircraft was equipped with a portable global positioning system (GPS). It was found intact and sent to the TSB Laboratory for data extraction. Given that the flight tracking feature was not selected, it was impossible to analyze any meaningful dataFootnote 3 for the occurrence flight.

Emergency locator transmitter

Although it was not required by regulations,Footnote 4 since it was an ultralight, the occurrence aircraft was equipped with a 121.5 MHz/243 MHz ELT. However, no maintenance activity was recorded in the technical logbook.

Apart from the coaxial cable to the antenna, which was not connected, the ELT was found intact. An examination found that it was no longer compliant with broadcasting standards and that the G-switches were defective. The batteries had not passed their expiry date, but they no longer held a charge.

Low altitude flight

The aircraft reportedly flew over an orchard and a field at a very low altitude (less than 200 feet above ground level), passing just above the trees. The CARs states that it is forbidden to fly “at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure”.Footnote 5 This distance of 500 feet applies both in the horizontal and vertical planes. Therefore, flying at less than 200 feet above the ground is allowed, provided that a horizontal distance of more than 500 feet is maintained from any person, vessel or structure.

However, it is known that intentionally flying at a low altitude increases the risk of an accident. CARs and other publications specifically mention this risk. Furthermore, the TSB has recently investigated several occurrencesFootnote 6 for which this manoeuvre was identified as a contributing factor.

Pursuant to CARs, “No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.”Footnote 7

The engine manufacturer provides the following warning in its user manual:

WARNING

Never fly the aircraft equipped with this engine at locations, air speeds, altitudes or in other situations which do not allow a successful no-power landing after sudden engine stoppage.Footnote 8

Under certain circumstances, a pilot may decide, for various reasons, to circle over a point of interest on the ground. If the pilot’s attention is fully drawn to observing the object on the ground, the pilot may neglect to control the speed, pitch and increase in load factor. Also, the pilot’s field of vision is reduced at low altitude. Consequently, the pilot has less time to take action to avoid obstacles and terrain. It is also recognized that flying at low altitude reduces the margin of safety in the event of engine failure, a loss of control or any other unexpected circumstances, while increasing the risk of an impact with the ground or an obstacle.

Safety messages

Flying an aircraft at low altitude leaves the pilot with little margin for error and increases the risk of not having enough time to manage an emergency. It is therefore important for pilots to comply with regulations and to heed any warning in the user manual regarding minimal altitude.

Although there were no repercussions on the end result of this occurrence, an ELT that is unable to transmit a signal exposes flight crews and passengers to the risk of delayed search and rescue operations. Therefore, when an ELT is installed in an aircraft, it is important to maintain and check the ELT to ensure that it works as intended.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada’s investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on 08 January 2020. It was officially released on 17 January 2020.

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. See the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A19Q0096

Lien connexe

Collision avec le relief
Rans S-6ES Coyote II (avion ultra-léger de type évolué), C-IIJJ
Rougemont (Québec)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Contexte

L’avion ultra‑léger de type évolué Rans S-6ES Coyote II (immatriculation C‑IIJJ, numéro de série 06041577) effectuait un vol de plaisance dans le secteur de Rougemont (Québec), avec 2 personnes à bord. L’avion avait été acheté le 9 janvier 2019, et son nouveau propriétaire prévoyait suivre la formation pour obtenir un permis de pilote – avion ultra-léger. Le pilote dans l’événement à l’étude, un ami du propriétaire, avait effectué quelques vols sur cet avion depuis l’acquisition. De plus, des travaux de maintenance mineurs avaient été effectués sur l’avion après l’acquisition.

Déroulement du vol

Le matin du 1er juillet 2019, le pilote et le propriétaire se sont rendus en automobile à l’aérodrome de St-Hyacinthe (CSU3) (Québec), où se trouvait l’avion à l’étude. Vers 9 h 50Note de bas de page 1, le pilote, seul à bord, a décollé de l’aérodrome de CSU3 à destination de sa piste privée, située à environ 5 milles marins (NM) à l’est de l’aéroport de St-Jean (CYJN) (Québec). Il a effectué un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), qui s’est déroulé sans incident. Pendant ce temps, le propriétaire a pris la route pour rejoindre le pilote à sa piste privée dans le but d’effectuer un vol de plaisance.

Vers 11 h 25, le pilote a décollé de sa piste privée pour un vol VFR local dans le secteur de Rougemont, avec le propriétaire comme passager. Vers 11 h 33, l’avion aurait survolé un verger à Rougemont à basse altitude (c.-à-d. moins de 200 pieds au-dessus du sol) en tournant dans le sens antihoraire. Vers 11 h 35, l’avion a changé de sens et a tourné en direction nord-est. Il a perdu de l'altitude et s'est écrasé dans les arbres du verger (figure 1). Les 2 occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles. Aucun signal provenant de la radiobalise de repérage d’urgence (ELT) n’a été capté.

Une personne qui se trouvait à proximité du lieu de l’accident a rapidement appelé les services d’urgence en composant le 9-1-1. Les premiers intervenants sont arrivés sur les lieux à 11 h 49.

Figure 1. Trajectoire estimée de l’avion à l’étude (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
Trajectoire estimée de l’avion à l’étude (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)

Renseignements météorologiques

Selon le message d’observation météorologique régulière d’aérodrome (METAR) émis à 11 h pour l’aéroport de St‑Hubert (CYHU) (Québec), situé à 15 NM au nord‑ouest du lieu de l’accident, les conditions météorologiques étaient propices pour effectuer ce vol VFR et n’ont pas été retenues comme facteur contributif à cet accident.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote détenait un permis de pilote − avion ultra-léger valide, délivré le 9 mai 2016, et un certificat médical de catégorie 3 valide. Le pilote respectait les exigences de l’article 401.55 du Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) concernant l’annotation de la qualification permettant le transport de passagers.

Le pilote effectuait souvent des vols de plaisance dans la région. Depuis 2016, il avait accumulé plus de 600 heures de vol sur des avions ultra-légers. Au cours des mois précédant l’événement à l’étude, il avait effectué quelques vols aux commandes de l’avion à l’étude. Cependant, l’enquête n’a pas pu déterminer combien d’heures de vol le pilote avait accumulées sur ce type d’aéronef.

Selon l’enquête, rien ne laisse croire que la fatigue ou d’autres facteurs physiologiques aient pu nuire au rendement du pilote.

Renseignements sur l’aéronef

L’aéronef Rans S-6ES Coyote II est un avion ultra-léger biplace de type évolué à voilure haute, fabriqué en tubes métalliques et en toile. L’aéronef a été construit aux États-Unis en 2008. Il a été importé au Canada au début de 2009 et inspecté par un représentant de Rans, car il n’avait pas encore volé. Le constructeur a ensuite émis un certificat de conformité le 4 mai 2009. Lors de son achat le 9 janvier 2019, le carnet technique de l’aéronef indiquait que l’aéronef avait accumulé 336 heures de vol depuis sa fabrication.
Figure 2. Avion à l’étude (Source : ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef)
Avion à l’étude (Source : ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef)

D’après la demande d’immatriculation présentée à Transports Canada, l’avion avait une masse maximale au décollage de 1100 livres, une masse à vide de 600 livres et une vitesse de décrochage de 42 mi/h.

L’enquête n’a pas pu déterminer la quantité de carburant à bord lors du décollage. Toutefois, selon les calculs du BST, le pilote disposait d’environ 66 livres pour le carburant avant d’atteindre la masse maximale au décollage, soit un peu plus que la moitié de la capacité totale (108 livres) des réservoirs.

L’aéronef était doté d’un moteur Rotax 912 UL (numéro de série 4405286) fabriqué par Bombardier Recreational Products (BRP). Il s’agit d’un moteur à 4 temps et à 4 cylindres à refroidissement par liquide et par air, qui développe une puissance de 80 hp à un régime maximal de 5800 tr/min.

L’entretien d’un avion ultra-léger peut être effectué par son propriétaire, qui doit suivre le programme de maintenance indiqué par le constructeur. Le propriétaire doit aussi tenir des dossiers portant sur la maintenance de l’avionNote de bas de page 2. Selon le carnet technique de l’aéronef, la dernière inspection avait été effectuée le 1er septembre 2018, et les bougies avaient été changées en janvier 2019, avant l’acquisition de l’avion par le propriétaire dans l’événement à l’étude. Selon l’information recueillie, des travaux de maintenance mineurs sur les carburateurs auraient été effectués au printemps 2019 par le nouveau propriétaire, mais n’ont pas été inscrits dans le carnet. Des vols auraient aussi été effectués après janvier 2019, sans être inscrits eux non plus dans le carnet de l’appareil.

L’aéronef ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol à l’étude.

Site de l’accident et examen de l’épave

L’aéronef a percuté 2 rangées d’arbres du verger et s’est immobilisé en direction nord-ouest dans la 3e rangée, lorsque les ailes ont heurté les arbres. La trajectoire exacte de l’aéronef n’a pas pu être déterminée, car l’aéronef n’était pas équipé d’un enregistreur de données de vol, et il n'était pas tenu d'en avoir en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

Les réservoirs de carburant situés dans les ailes ont été endommagés, ce qui a causé un petit déversement de carburant. À l’arrivée des enquêteurs du BST, les réservoirs contenaient encore du carburant de type automobile, conforme à ce type de moteur. Les conduits d’alimentation ainsi que les filtres et les carburateurs contenaient du carburant clair, exempt de contaminants. Les 3 pales de l’hélice étaient endommagées : une était repliée sous le nez de l’appareil, une autre était rompue et repliée vers l’avant, et la troisième était endommagée, mais encore en place et droite.

Le moteur Rotax 912 UL ne présentait que peu de dommages : une tête de cylindre a été endommagée par l’impact avec un tronc d’arbre sur le côté avant-gauche. Le moteur a été envoyé au Laboratoire d’ingénierie du BST, à Ottawa (Ontario), aux fins d’analyse. Aucun bris interne du moteur préaccident ou postaccident n’a été observé lors de l’analyse. Les dommages à l’hélice ne démontraient pas les signes caractéristiques d’un impact avec rotation à haut régime. L’enquête n’a toutefois pas permis de déterminer si le moteur produisait de la puissance lors de l’impact.

Les dommages aux ailes et à la structure étaient la conséquence de l’impact et du travail des premiers intervenants.

Système de positionnement mondial

L’avion à l’étude était équipé d’un système de positionnement mondial (GPS) portatif. Celui-ci a été retrouvé intact et envoyé au Laboratoire d’ingénierie pour en extraire les données. Puisque la fonction de suivi de vol n’avait pas été sélectionnée, aucune donnée concrèteNote de bas de page 3 concernant le vol en question n’a pu être analysée.

Radiobalise de repérage d’urgence

Même si la réglementationNote de bas de page 4 ne l’exigeait pas, puisqu’il s’agissait d’un ultra-léger, l’avion à l’étude était équipé d’une ELT de 121,5 MHz/243 MHz. Toutefois, aucune activité de maintenance n’avait été documentée dans le carnet de route de l’aéronef.

Mis à part le câble coaxial relié à l’antenne qui était détaché, la radiobalise a été retrouvée intacte. Un examen a permis de constater qu’elle n’était plus conforme aux normes de transmission et que les interrupteurs inertiels (G-switch) étaient défectueux. Les batteries n’avaient pas dépassé leur date d’expiration, mais elles n’avaient plus de charge.

Vol à basse altitude

L’aéronef aurait survolé un verger et un champ à très basse altitude (moins de 200 pieds au-dessus du sol), passant juste au-dessus des arbres. Le RAC stipule qu’il est interdit de voler, « à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structureNote de bas de page 5 ». Cette distance de 500 pieds s’applique sur le plan vertical et sur le plan horizontal. Il est donc permis de voler à moins de 200 pieds au-dessus du sol, à la condition d’être à plus de 500 pieds sur le plan horizontal de toute personne, tout navire ou toute structure.

Toutefois, on sait que voler intentionnellement à basse altitude augmente les risques d’accident. Le RAC et d’autres publications mentionnent précisément ces risques. Par ailleurs, le BST a récemment enquêté sur plusieurs événementsNote de bas de page 6 pour lesquels cette manœuvre avait été identifiée comme faisant partie des facteurs contributifs.

En vertu du RAC, « il est interdit d’utiliser un aéronef d’une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou est susceptible de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens d’autruiNote de bas de page 7 ».

Le constructeur du moteur inclut la mise en garde ci-dessous dans son manuel d’utilisation [traduction] :

ATTENTION

[…] Ne jamais piloter un aéronef équipé de ce moteur à des endroits, vitesses, altitudes ou dans toutes autres situations qui ne permettent pas de réussir un atterrissage sans puissance à la suite d’un arrêt soudain du moteurNote de bas de page 8.

Dans certaines circonstances, un pilote peut décider, pour diverses raisons, d'effectuer des survols autour d'un point d'intérêt au sol. Si son attention est entièrement retenue par l'observation de cet objectif au sol, le pilote peut négliger le contrôle de la vitesse, le contrôle de l'inclinaison et l'augmentation du facteur de charge. De plus, le champ visuel du pilote est réduit à basse altitude. Par conséquent, le pilote a moins de temps pour manœuvrer et éviter les obstacles ainsi que le relief. Il est aussi reconnu que le vol à basse altitude réduit la marge de sécurité en cas de panne de moteur, de perte de maîtrise ou de tout autre imprévu, tout en augmentant le risque d'impact avec le sol ou avec un obstacle.

Messages de sécurité

Manœuvrer un aéronef à basse altitude laisse peu de marge d’erreur au pilote et augmente le risque de ne pas disposer de suffisamment de temps pour gérer une urgence. Par conséquent, il est important que les pilotes respectent la réglementation et toute mise en garde dans le manuel d’utilisation en ce qui a trait à l’altitude minimale.

Bien que cela n’ait pas eu de conséquences sur l’aboutissement de l’événement présent, une ELT n’étant pas en état d’émettre un signal expose les équipages de conduite et les passagers à des risques de retard des opérations de recherche et sauvetage. Par conséquent, lorsqu’une ELT est installée à bord d’un aéronef, il est important qu’elle soit entretenue et vérifiée afin de s’assurer qu’elle fonctionne comme prévu.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 8 janvier 2020. Il a été officiellement publié le 17 janvier 2020.



Ce rapport est le résultat d'une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Voir la Politique de classification des événements.

Date de modification :