Air transportation safety investigation A18Q0030

The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 21 May 2020.

Table of contents

Runway overrun on landing

Strait Air (2000) Ltd.
Beechcraft King Air A100, C-GJXF
Havre St-Pierre Airport, Quebec

View final report

The occurrence

On , a Beechcraft King Air A100 (registration C-GJXF, serial number B‑159) operated by Strait Air (2000) Ltd. was conducting charter flight NUK107 under instrument flight rules, from the Sept-Îles Airport, Quebec, to the Havre St-Pierre Airport, Quebec, with 2 crew members and 6 passengers on board. The aircraft conducted an approach to Runway 08, which was snow-covered, while visibility was reduced due to heavy snow showers, and landed approximately 3800 feet beyond the threshold, at approximately 700 feet from the end of the runway. It continued its landing roll beyond the runway until it came to rest in a snowbank, approximately 220 feet beyond the end of the runway. The accident occurred in daylight, at 1120 Eastern Standard Time. The emergency locator transmitter, transmitting on 406 MHz, did not activate following the occurrence. The aircraft sustained substantial damage. Four of the occupants received minor injuries.


Media materials

News releases

2020-05-21

TSB calls on Transport Canada to simplify approach and landing weather minima and to prevent approaches in very low visibility
Read the news release


Backgrounders


Deployment notice

2018-02-26

TSB deploys a team of investigators following an aircraft accident at the Havre-Saint-Pierre Airport, Quebec

Dorval, Quebec, 26 February 2018 - The Transportation Safety Board is deploying a team of investigators following an aircraft accident at the Havre-Saint-Pierre Airport, Quebec. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Pierre Gavillet

Pierre Gavillet joined the Air Investigations Directorate at the TSB regional office in Dorval, Quebec, as an investigator/operations specialist in October 2007. He has more than 30 years' experience in aerial operations as well as air taxi and commuter operations, and as a pilot with Canadian and foreign airlines. He has flown more than 50 models of aircraft, ranging from small training planes to large jet transport aircraft such as DC8s, B757s, A300s, A310s and A330s, in most regions of the world.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Gavillet has been involved in many investigations in Quebec and Ontario.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 2 investigation. These investigations are complex and involve several safety issues requiring in-depth analysis. Class 2 investigations, which frequently result in recommendations, are generally completed within 600 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18Q0030

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 21 mai 2020.

Table des matières

Sortie en bout de piste à l’atterrissage

Strait Air (2000) Ltd.
Beechcraft King Air A100 (C-GJXF)
Aéroport de Havre St-Pierre (Québec)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un Beechcraft King Air A100 (immatriculation C-GJXF, numéro de série B-159) exploité par Strait Air (2000) Ltd. effectuait le vol nolisé NUK107 selon les règles de vol aux instruments en provenance de l’aéroport de Sept-Îles (Québec) à destination de l’aéroport de Havre-Saint-Pierre (Québec), avec 2 membres d’équipage et 6 passagers à bord. Alors que les conditions de visibilité étaient réduites en raison de fortes averses de neige, l’aéronef a effectué une approche vers la piste 08, qui était enneigée, et s’est posé environ 3800 pieds après le seuil, soit à environ 700 pieds de l’extrémité de la piste. Il a continué sa course à l’atterrissage au-delà de la piste, pour finalement aller s’immobiliser dans un banc de neige, à environ 220 pieds au-delà de l’extrémité de la piste. L’accident s’est produit de jour, à 11 h 20, heure normale de l’Est. La radiobalise de repérage d’urgence émettant sur 406 MHz ne s’est pas déclenchée suite à l’événement. L’appareil a subi des dommages importants. Il y a eu 4 blessés légers.

Les enquêteurs du BST ont ouvert une enquête sur l'accident.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2020-05-21

Le BST demande à Transports Canada de simplifier les minimums d’atterrissage et d’approche liés aux conditions météorologiques et d’empêcher les approches lorsque la visibilité est très faible
Lire le communiqué de presse


Document d'information


Avis de déploiement

2018-02-26

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident d’avion survenu à l’aéroport d’Havre-Saint-Pierre (Québec)

Dorval (Québec), le 26 février 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un accident d'avion survenu à l'aéroport d'Havre-Saint-Pierre (Québec). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Pierre Gavillet

En octobre 2007, Pierre Gavillet s'est joint à l'équipe de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) au bureau régional du BST à Dorval (Québec) à titre d'enquêteur/spécialiste des opérations. Il a plus de 30 ans d'expérience en opérations de travail aérien, en exploitation de taxi aérien, en service de navette et finalement en tant que pilote de lignes aériennes au Canada et à l'étranger. Il a piloté plus d'une cinquantaine de modèles d'appareils allant des petits appareils d'entraînement aux avions gros porteurs comme les DC8, B757, A300, A310 et A330 dans la plupart des régions du monde.

Depuis qu'il s'est joint au BST, M. Gavillet a participé à plusieurs enquêtes au Québec et en Ontario.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 2. Ces enquêtes sont complexes et portent sur plusieurs problèmes de sécurité exigeant une analyse approfondie. Les enquêtes de catégorie 2, qui donnent souvent lieu à des recommandations, se concluent généralement en 600 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: